Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.8
Based on 28 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 28 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.2
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for Money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 8.1
Sort by

Maxine A.
United Kingdom
July 19, 2013
Friendly helpful staff
Helpful staff, comfortable,clean
We found the reception and breakfast staff lovely, we were given great information about where to eat, where to go for a walk and general information, the breakfast staff were very professional and efficient. Our room was comfortable and clean.

Abida K.
United Kingdom
July 10, 2013
It was a comfortable and clean.
location, cleanliness and comfort
The hotel served its purpose very well, this was a wedding event and I booked guests into this hotel so that they would be both confortable ( have a good nights sleep, access to clean showers and a good brekfast before embarking on the long wedding event ahead. This hotel provided everything that I was looking for, Also great and freindly staff!

Lindsay S.
Australia
May 30, 2013
Good hotel and quiet location
this is a quiet location with a large clean room and friendly staff
This is a good quality hotel with friendly staff and clean and large modern fully equipped rooms. Breakfast is good. If you are staying across the road the wifi does not work well. Its a big walk to the center of town but possible.We walked both ways but probably would have been better getting a taxi back. Parking is not a problem. Depending on what you are paying would recommend this hotel.

Katrin V.
Estonia
March 05, 2013
Very romantic, period featured hotel
Rooms like in your own holiday cottage
Very cosy, lovely and small place. I liked the decor and the style of the room, it felt like very tasteful (your own) holiday cottage. Quite poor breakfast, however they offer also warm breakfast for additonal cost.

Mark S.
United Kingdom
February 11, 2013
Very polite & efficient
Clean, tidy, polite staff
Room was a little cold & was not best served by single radiator

Laura S.
United Kingdom
January 16, 2013
Lovely hotel and lovely service
The bath in our room was amazing, breakfast in bed is an option which is great!
Lovely staff, great service, would love to have stayed longer! Breakfast was amazing especially in bed! Lovely bath products and huge bath. Heating is great, bed was great.

SHARON C.
United Kingdom
January 03, 2013
Individuality at its best
The staff are the biggest asset of this hotel, always smiling and willing to assist.
I enjoyed a short stay at The Florence House Hotel between Christmas & New Year. When I arrived I was greeted with a smile and my booking was confirmed, before I was escorted to my room. I rarely sleep through the night, but somehow I can here! I awoke in the morning feeling extremely well rested and enjoyed the powerful shower before going down for breakfast. My second night was even better! I slept right through breakfast but received call from reception half an hour after they'd finished to ask if I would like breakfast, or even just some tea or coffee? Now, that was service beyond anything I've experienced elsewhere! The only improvements I could wish for are a brighter light so I could see to apply make-up, and a wardrobe long enough to hang a dress in. Probably that would be just a one off requirement though! I love this place, the great staff, the individually decorated bedrooms, the service and location make it ideal for a short break and I would love to return again soon. Please don't tell too many people about it!! I like to think of it as my guilty secret escape.

Susan H.
United Kingdom
September 28, 2012
Nicely designed hotel
Good location , great breakfast
Within walking distance of Southsea front and close to Portsmouth. Room was small but adequate with TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Reception unmanned after 11.30 and was dark when we returned at midnight after a wedding. Breakfast was good - the continental included cereal and a lovely fruit salad plus toast and croissant. Overall, slightly overpriced but a better than a chain hotel.

Tina O.
United Kingdom
September 24, 2012
Beautiful hotel, great location, friendly staff
Comfortable rooms, great food in peaceful area of Southsea, close to all amenities
Decorated to a high standard; Art Deco/Shabby Chic, thoroughly clean throughout. Staff couldn't do enough and were extremely friendly and helpful. Got a great night's sleep due to the quiet location and will definitely be returning.

Ann D.
Australia
August 26, 2012
Boutique Hotel
Room, location and breakfast.
The room was stylish and comfortable and a lovely fresh fruit salad was part of the included breakfast menu. The hotel is only a short walk from the beach, castle and Pyramid water leisure centre. The downside was that the booking confirmation showed the address as Portsmouth rather than the more specific address of Southsea and as a result the GPS did not recognise the address and I had to find a shop where I could buy a map to find it.