My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Evergreen Laurel Hotel

53 Persiaran Gurney, , Gurney Drive, Penang, Malaysia (Show on map)

Book now!

Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - View From the Hotel Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Bathroom Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Bathroom Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Lobby Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Lobby Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Playground Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Fitness Room
Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming Pool Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming Pool Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming Pool Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Pub/Lounge Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Restaurant Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Restaurant Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Spa Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Spa Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Laurel Cafe Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Hotel Exterior Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Hotel Exterior Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Ballroom
Hotel Area: Gurney Drive Number of Rooms: 368
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

based on
3450 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (3450)
Sort by:
Tan L. Families with young children Singapore, December 8, 2012
Great location

Many food outlet with 2 km
8.7
The staff are polite and helpful in general, the bearkfast is simple without much variety. Yes I will still recommend this hotel cos of good loaction.
Nazifah Z. Families with young children Singapore, December 8, 2012
Lovely Room with a Beautiful View

Good Location!
8.3
Love the hotel, my 2nd time here. Checking in was a breeze, clean room and of course, the beautiful sea facing view. Location is great, easy to find good local food. Would definitely recommend the hotel. Thumbs up!
Tan S. Families with young children Singapore, December 8, 2012
Room Big & Great Location

Near Gurney Hawker Centre
6.7
The hotel room is spacious & there is bathtub in the toilet. The service is generally acceptable. But, the refill of the shower gel were not enough even when the bottles were empty. The receptionist asked whether we wanted which newspaper in the morning. But, we were not given at all. Also, the aircon is not cold enough. My husband & my elder son complained that both nights were quite warm in the middle of the night.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: 10 to 15 mins' walk to Gurney Plaza & Gurney Hawker Centre.
Mee Y. Groups Singapore, December 8, 2012
Good choice for medium budget travellers

A bit old, but clean and relatively near to Gurney Plaza and food
7
Hotel was a bit on the old side but it was generally of good standard. I went with my parents (total 3 adults) and the room wasn't too crammed with an extra bed. Housekeeping was a bit slow though and we had to call to remind them to bring it over. (bed was still not there 5 hrs after we checked in...)Free wifi was only available in the lobby and cafe area. Gurney Plaza is about 15 min walk away and along the road, there are many eateries selling local food at good prices.
Yat L. Solo travelers Singapore, December 8, 2012
Convenient Location and Reasonable Price

Unobstructed Sea View at High Floor Rooms
8
I was told it is an old hotel, but I am overall happy with how well kept is my room. The location is within walking distance to many eating places and Gurney Mall. If you booked this hotel earlier, you may get better discount too.
Kahjone M. Groups Malaysia, December 8, 2012
easy access to many attractions

convinient clean and friendly
6.3
Arinda M. Families with young children Indonesia, December 7, 2012
good price,clean room, unfriendly staff

good food,great location, spacious room
7
it was ok, but i will reconsider for staying at this hotel again, the staff were not friendly, no smile at all, few area of this hotel were rundown and need to be fixed (u can see few mold at the wall), but they have the best chinnese restaurant in town and the buffet for breakfast was beyond delicious (i would go back to this hotel only for THE FOOD!) we went there for hospital tour, since penang was one of the best city for medical need.
Arinda M. Families with young children Indonesia, December 7, 2012
new room w/ great location bad check in n service

clean room and great restaurants
7.3
when we're arrived we goes straight to the hotel and check in (around 16.00pm), and surprisingly the room was not ready yet. we booked 2 room on nonsmoking floor. they asked us waited for an hour!we're traveling with my 3year old daughter and waiting for an hour (after the check in peak hour)was A BIG PROBLEM for us!so we asked them to find any available rooms. i think they're not really found when they saw our check in paper with agoda ,so they let us waiting and waiting. after few times asking and ended with my angry father asked them to hurry (its already 1 hour waiting!) they gave us a room, the concierge that bring us to the room opened the door and VIOLA... the room is occupied with some family with two children running around. the guest as surprised as we are!and the concierge running down to the reception and gave us another room. (which i realized later that our room already available along time before we check in).i really think there must be something fishy about the relations with AGODA and EVERGREEN hotel! ... the overall serviced of the hotel (beside the doorman) was lousy!few times we found our room havent cleaned yet (altough we've gone for about 6hours and put the "please makeup our room" before 9.30am) and later i knew that day they only got one person to cleaning all of our 12 floor (28rooms)..sigh* BUT! the taste of the breakfast was GREAT!and the laurel cafe was served tastiest food. many website recommended the other restaurant at the hotel, whichis evergarden.. it was true!the food was great and really delicious! also they gave a discount for in house guest, you just mention your room number. the area of the hotel was great..u can go anywhere near and not gettin any traffic :) . would i stay again? i dont think so
Hotel Feature Tip: write "early check in" for your own good... asked the number of the driver in every taxi, the hotel charged 2-7RM from the fare if u called the taxi by the hotel. do try laurel cafe and evergarden restaurant.
Wong C. Families with young children Malaysia, December 6, 2012
Great Location

Seaview, food court nearby,
5.3
Hotel location is nice, near to eating and shopping place. Checkin very fast and early. Good sea view from the room. But room service very slow, we went out morning until everning came back but the room was not ready yet.
Shopping Tip: Gurney Plaza was a great shopping center.
Ee M. Families with young children Malaysia, December 5, 2012
Great location but old hotel

Near Gurney Drive
6.3
Hotel location is nice but it is a old hotel; the room service is not good, didn't clean up the room properly.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Evergreen Laurel Hotel PenangEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - View From the HotelEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - BathroomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - BathroomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - LobbyEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - LobbyEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - PlaygroundEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Fitness RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Pub/LoungeEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - RestaurantEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - RestaurantEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - SpaEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - SpaEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Laurel Cafe Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Hotel ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Hotel ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - BallroomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Hotel ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Hotel ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - SurroundingsEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Suite Bathroom

Customer Reviews - Evergreen Laurel Hotel, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3B07