or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Evergreen Laurel Hotel

53 Persiaran Gurney, , Gurney Drive, Penang, Malaysia (Show on map)

Book now!

Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - View From the Hotel Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Bathroom Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Bathroom Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Lobby Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Lobby Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Playground Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Fitness Room
Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming Pool Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming Pool Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming Pool Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Pub/Lounge Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Restaurant Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Restaurant Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Spa Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Spa Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Laurel Cafe Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Exterior Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Exterior Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Ballroom
Area: Gurney Drive Number of Rooms: 368
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

based on
3687 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (3687)
Sort by:
Margaret F. Families with older children Malaysia, December 31, 2012
Nothing beats the location

Sea front with a blissful feeling of serenity
9
befitting a five star hotel in terms of amenities and facilities.
Allen L. Couples Australia, December 31, 2012
Wrong side of Gurney Drive

Pool
5.7
Good size rooms and enjoyed the facilities. But the hotel location is not as convenient as one on the other end of Gurney Drive, where the food and shopping mall is.
Loke S. Families with older children Malaysia, December 31, 2012
Good Location

Location, cleanliness, comfort
8.3
The stay was relaxing and comfortable. Room is big enough to cater for 3 persons. Daily cleaning of the rooms is on time, tidy and clean. toiletries were replaced immediately when not enough. Strategic location for backpackers as it was easy to look for good and authentic local delicacies.
Ian J. Couples Malaysia, December 30, 2012
Pleasant experience

Large clean room, ample parking space
9.3
took a deluxe sea facing room which was very nice and clean, looks exactly as the pictures on the website. good service with the choice of chinese/english newspapers and complementary apples provided in the room. staff were helpful in providing assistance when we were asking for directions to tourist destination spots, and also when we asked for a spare handphone charger, although they did not manage to procure one for us.
Hotel Feature Tip: Try to checkout an hour early to avoid the long queue at the cashier counter.
Kok K. Couples Singapore, December 30, 2012
Great location

Clean and spacious
8
Decent hotel to stay in. The area is safe and near to Starbucks if you don't like the local food or have something more western. There are many food stalls along the street and a 15 minutes walk to the gurney plaza.
Leng S. Families with young children Australia, December 30, 2012
Terrible service. Even local relatives agree

honestly, the initial treatment put us off badly.
5
Checked in and the whole room stank heavy of cigarette smoke. (non cigarette floor - 12). Found ashes, told the luggage man, who happened to come up at the same time - who was sympathetic. Called the receptionist who told me that our family couldn't change (!!). We were like what? we just came in... Did not approach in any demeaning way, but was treated really badly. Relatives who tried to contact us tried 5 times before they finally put them through after hanging up. They are locals even and spoke the local dialect!
Chay S. Families with older children Malaysia, December 29, 2012
Relaxation to the max

staff are friendly enough, buffet spread for breakfast was good
10
From first look, you would not deem the hotel 5*, but upon entering you find the staff friendly and helpful, always smiling. The atmosphere gave me a relaxed mood almost immediately. The rooms were spacious and the bed is huge. We requested for an extra bed and found that we actually didn't need it because the king size they offered was already big enough for 3 big sized adults. The room was clean, everything was in working condition and the bath tub at the perfect height for someone with walking disability to get into. I have to raise my hat to the recreation area, mainly the ladies room on the 2nd floor. The sauna and steam room were awesome but what was best was the hot and cold jacuzzi. My daughter and I had such fun there, we enjoyed it even more than the swimming pool outside. Checking in was a bit slow but bearable but checking out was a breeze. All in all, I would recommend Evergreen Laurel to my friends.
Poay S. Couples Malaysia, December 29, 2012
Great location but lack of light at night

Good location and service
7.3
The hotel is in great location, have great service, great natural light in the day but lack of lightning during the night. Gurney Drive is just in front however the cab that was called by the hotel charged us a lot of money for a 5 minute ride.
Chung K. Couples Australia, December 29, 2012
Hotel with great sea view

Good location offering convenience
7.7
The hotel appeared to have been recently renovated. Rooms are of good size with good sea view facing east. There are plenty of food stalls and restaurants nearby, and also a convenience store just minutes away. Though rooms are with outdated decor, they are comfortable and clean. On the day we checked in, rooms were not available to us and our other friends until 4:30 pm due to late check-outs, as stated by the staff.
Mei L. Groups Malaysia, December 29, 2012
Great hotel with convenient location!

Spacious room, nice facilities and a stone throw away from the paradise of hawkers' foods!
9.3
Had a pleasant stay with my family during end December 2012. It's a great hotel though the rate is not cheap but worth every penny. The staff are friendly, the room is clean and provide with every facility that you can think of. And the hotel is near to the Gurney Drive's famous hawkers centre and shopping malls! Will definitely come back again!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Evergreen Laurel Hotel PenangEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - View From the HotelEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - BathroomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - BathroomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - LobbyEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - LobbyEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - PlaygroundEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Fitness RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Pub/LoungeEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - RestaurantEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - RestaurantEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - SpaEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - SpaEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Laurel Cafe Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - BallroomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - SurroundingsEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Suite Bathroom

Customer Reviews - Evergreen Laurel Hotel, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3B01