Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Evergreen Laurel Hotel

53 Persiaran Gurney,, Gurney Drive, Penang, Malaysia 10250

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.7

based on 5182 reviews

4488 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (5182)
Sort by:
Gan K. Couples Malaysia, December 29, 2015
Late check in..

Room, location,hygiene
8.3
Reach at 1130 am.. Been told I need to wait until after 2pm only can check in.. Alright then,went away for lunch and sort of, reach back hotel at 1430, queue for a long time but been told that room is not ready yet as previous guest late check out.. Staff Asked for 15 Minutes.. Waited at the lobby for 30 minutes, went to queue again at the counter at 1510 and been told the room is not ready yet again.. Staff requested for 45 minutes more.. What the??? Previous guest late check out doesn't concerned with me.. You wanted me to follow your time of check in, then you should ready the room for me to check in too.. And this situation is not only happen to me.. Lots of other family are the same too, wandering around, sitting boring waiting for their room to be ready.. Is that what you rated as 5 star?
Report this review
Theresa S. Couples Malaysia, December 29, 2015
Overrated

its location
3.7
We booked for 3 to a room and presented ourselves at the reception at 2pm on 28Dec15. Alas we were only checked in at 240pm as the room was not ready. When we got to the room - it only had 2 beds and no towels. When we first informed the reception over the phone, we were informed that if we wanted an extra bed it could be arranged! The receptionist did not understand that we had booked a room for 3 persons. We went to the reception personally inform the receptionist and were advised that the extra bed will be sent up. This was before 3 pm. We subsequently went out and returned at 5.30pm. The extra bed and towels were not yet sent to the room. It was only after a second request at 6.30pm (new staff at the reception) that the extra bed and towel was sent to the room. The hotel is overrated at 5 if it cannot handle being fully booked and ensuring that clients get value for money.
Report this review
Kwee H. Solo travelers Singapore, December 29, 2015
Nive short hols in Penang

Sea view, near shopping malls, spacious room.with big twin beds.
7.7
Pleasant, generous to supply fruits and soft drinks, lovely sea view to enjoy. However, the live band and prices of cocktails in the lounge could be better.
Report this review
Tan E. Families with young children Malaysia, December 29, 2015
Good Stay

Good food, good location and comfortable
10
Just no complain
Report this review
Ngai P. Couples Malaysia, December 29, 2015
Not bad, within expectation

Quiet, good location, reception is ok
8
For the money I paid, the experience was worth it, I.e. service, convenience like parking and it's location at gurney. They also gave some complimentary fruits and drinks. Will I rebook the hotel in the future? Yes, if the price is acceptable.
Report this review
Passaya P. Couples Thailand, December 29, 2015
No comment

Comfortable , clean , convenient
8.3
Report this review
Johnson K. Groups Malaysia, December 28, 2015
EXCELLENSE

GREAT BUFFET BUY 1 FREE 1 , SPACIOUS, CLEAN
10
IT WAS GREAT, PLEASANT! GREAT , DELICIOUS BUFFET! MONEY VALUE, WORTH THE STAY.
Report this review
Ting F. Couples Malaysia, December 28, 2015
Enjoyable stay in Penang

location, comfortable bed, nice sea view
7.3
We had a room facing the sea and it was absolute breathtaking. The room is clean and the lighting is warm and cozy. The best of all is their comfortable bed and we have two good night sleep (and evening nap too). The only thing I don't like in the room is the floor carpet. It's old and needs to be replaced. The gym is okay but the pool is too small for a 5-star hotel.
Report this review
Mong S. Families with young children Malaysia, December 28, 2015
1 Night Stay close to Gurney Drive
5
Room was excellent! Huge, Spacious & the bath tub was large too. Did not get chance to try the facilities, so cannot comment. But the hotel has a prime location & very easy to get to the local shopping malls. The bed was large & comfy. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
Report this review
Khoe L. Families with older children Indonesia, December 27, 2015
recomended hotel

Good service, the room is very clean n comfortable
9.3
All my families are very happy to stay in this hotel, very recomended
Report this review
Previous page 141 - 150 of 4488 reviews Next page
Evergreen Laurel Hotel PenangEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - View From the HotelEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - EntranceEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - SurroundingsEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Suite Bathroom Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - RestaurantEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - RestaurantEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Fitness RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - LobbyEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - BallroomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Restaurant


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A02