Back to hotel info

Very good 7.7
Based on 5301 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 5301 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 7.0

Meledath G. from United States
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
convenient location
location near to shops selling local food.
Room smelly though the bed was large. Coffee for breakfast was great with fast wifi connection free of charge.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Wan K. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2014
Very pleasant stay
Near Shopping Mall, Coffee Shop, Clean, Face to Sea
Very pleasant stay. Just small comment the check in takes up some time and we can only check in after 2pm.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Yih S. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2013
The hotel is located in a strategic location
Location is the best, nice view, convenient location
Reviewed March 18, 2014

John E. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed 5 nights in February 2014
Superb with the best staff service I have ever had
The staff, the staff and the staff
The Evergreen Laurel Hotel exceeded all of my expectations, especially in terms of staff service. The guy that cleaned my room noticed that I drank a lot of tea and provided more for me and when my mother wast taken ill and had to be taken to the hospital the staff organised an ambulance to come around the back to save her embarrassment, they took my father and I to a great hospital, they stayed with us until around 2am in the morning in the hospital, drove us back to the hotel at no charge, found Earl Grey tea for my mother at no charge, called her every couple of hours to see if she was OK and took care of her while we went out. I have never come across such amazing service, they cannot do enough for you and even came out to wave us of and constantly attended to our need. The hotel is within very easy reach of Gurney Plaza by foot, it is very clean, the check in and check out service is fast and efficient and I would heartily recommend this hotel to anybody traveling to Penang, we got a great deal on Agoda and I would without a doubt stay there again. The crispy aromatic duck in the Chinese is off the scale of good and there is a mind blowingly great Indian (Kaptians) right next door.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

chen Y. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2014
Local delicious food!
good location, reasonable price, close to attraction
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Melvyn R. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Return Trip to vist Family
Value for Money, Large Quiet Room, Good Buffet Breakfast
Return stay to visit family relatives. Not a typical stay as we don't tend to use the hotel facilities - just use it to sleep really. Plus points are the quality of room, quietness, location (with car park), staff, breakfast and overall value for money. Negative points - some signs of neglect - broken lightshade, kettle didn't work (but was replaced), check-in was long and hadn't read requirement for non-smoking room, double bed etc- breakfast can be overwhelmed with large tour groups (on previous visit). OK for a weekend break but not if you are planning on a longer holiday and/or to spend a lot of time in the hotel.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Guat T. from Singapore
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Nice
Pool. restaurant and room
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Hock L. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Excellant and relaxing
Clean room, big lobby and easy access to food and shopping within walking distance
Stayed 3 nights, bed was comfortable, room was clean, toilet and bathroom was always tidy after we came back form outing. The only problem was the toilet flush couldn't stop flushing on the 2nd day, the lever was stuck. But it was a quick fix. Aircond is mild but ok for me. Breakfast was a mix of asian and western. People are friendly there.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Dale B. from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Fanfastic
Location, restaurants, transportation
The stay was excellent and we look forward to coming back. Shopping was unbelievable and transportation easily accessible.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

KOK B. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013
Good location, value for money
Close to local restaurants, reasonably priced, and strategic location to sightseeing.
Reviewed March 13, 2014