or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Evergreen Laurel Hotel

53 Persiaran Gurney,, Gurney Drive, Penang, Malaysia 10250 (Show on map)

Book now!

Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - View From the Hotel Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Meeting Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Exterior Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Exterior Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Surroundings Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Suite Bathroom Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Exterior Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Exterior Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Restaurant Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Restaurant Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming Pool
Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Fitness Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Entrance Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Exterior Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Exterior Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - View Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Lobby Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Exterior Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Ballroom
Area: Gurney Drive Number of Rooms: 368
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

based on
4135 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (4135)
Sort by:
Fork K. Couples Malaysia, February 19, 2013
Small Room

Allow for late check out
5.3
1. No shower stall. 2. Room are small. 3. Chairs are creaky. 4. TV channel not sufficient. 5. The room are quite smelly. 6. Bathroom tiles are stained & old.
Donway T. Families with young children Australia, February 19, 2013
simple and sufficient

close to everything i want do or explore in penang, sits infront of the beach and food all around.
7.7
The hotel has some years but the rooms are clean and tidy. For the price, it was good balance of value for comfort. Nothing luxurious. The nice thing was my dad and i was at the bar during chinese new year and we spent the whole night drinking and chatting, till it was closing time but the staff let us sit there without bothering us. Thanks for that... my dad and i had a good time.
Chung C. Couples Malaysia, February 18, 2013
Great and strategic location for tourists

Convenient for nice food n shopping comlpex with walking distance and with beautiful view surrounding.
8.3
Nice hotel with good location and nice view. Convenient for good food and shopping with walking distance. Good for people who like morning or evening walk is just outside the hotel. You can find nice scenery around the hotel. Seat down on the bench in front of the hotel and relax with a breeze and comfort rest. We will stay in this hotel again for our next trip and will recommend to our friends.
Restaurant Tip: Nice food at the night market near the hotel and restaurant next to hotel.
Vimala C. Families with young children Singapore, February 18, 2013
Great sea view but rooms can be spruced up

Excellent Sea View
7
We stayed here for a night when I had to attend to family matters near Gurney Drive. In terms of location the hotel was fantastic for me as the place was just a 5 minutes walk away from where I needed to be. I had a sea facing room which was very pleasant to look at at anytime of the day and that was very calming and probably the best thing about the room. I took a deluxe twin bed room which I bought at half price via Agoda. It came with free wifi and breakfast for two. Besides the lovely view, I was not particularly impressed with the room though. I thought the room wasn't very big but my main grouse is the fact that the room was run down. Wallpaper was peeling of the edges of the wall and around plug points/sockets, the bulbs on the lamp shades couldnt fit properly and kept going off and had to be constantly adjusted to work, the ironing board stand was broken, the shower did not have good water pressure, the tiny kettle they provided was brown with stains on the inside and the marble table around the sink was also stained. Additionally, they charged MYR8 just to have the complimentary instant drink sachets replenished. There was a large flat screen TV but the channel options left much to be desired as most of the channels were local channels with only 2 English cable channels and none particularly dedicated to children. The room was however very quiet (even with the Chinese New Year firecrackers blasting away at midnight) and with the gorgeous view of the sea was very pleasant to be in particularly at sunrise. The bed and pillows were comfortable and sleep quality was great. The room was clean and house-keeping was good. I was located at the 10th floor and had no problems using their wifi throughout the hotel. The service provided was good and staff were efficient and friendly. Overall, the hotel is decent and worth staying if you are paying half price for it!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Theres Coffee Bean, Starbucks, Subway and local food stalls within a 5 minutes walk. Airport taxis are easy to get here and are priced according to the airport's rate. There are also the famous Wat Chaiya Mangkalaram and Dhammikarama Buddhist temples within walking distance and likewise the famous Gurney Drive food stalls too. The place is very convenient to get to Batu Ferringhi and the night markets there. There are also malls very nearby if you prefer shopping there. It's also about a 20 mins drive to the Kek Lok Si temple where you get to do bargain shopping.
Teoh K. Business travelers Malaysia, February 18, 2013
Excellent

Nothing to Complain
9.7
Evergreen Laurel Hotel is a lovely hotel right at the heart of the city The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful Concierge service was good too It is best value hotel in Gurney Drive area. Good housekeeping with 2 free water bottle in the room. There are plenty of food choice around the hotel. Wifi is also available for free.
Khaw L. Groups Malaysia, February 18, 2013
Good location

Nice view. Near shopping complex.
8
Enjoyed walk along the beach front. Near to gurney plaza shopping complex.
Restaurant Tip: Good food at Chinese restaurant.
Ng P. Couples Malaysia, February 17, 2013
Great location

Near gurney drive
6
I booking this hotel 4 hours before check in upon check in they ask for my printout but I book thru my iPad at 9pm I didn't have printout so he refused my check in I'm so angry the booking is successful and payment had been made this is they management problem cause after 5pm they are unable to print out my booking I'm so upset and request to see the manager only then they allow my checking in already midnight 1:30am so tired But overall the room with big king size bed very comfortable and walking distance to gurney drive shopping centre furthermore beside the hotel how restaurant and food stall
Teoh K. Business travelers Malaysia, February 17, 2013
a good maintained hotel

hygiene, reasonable rate
6.7
I have stayed there twice and i am quite satisfied there
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: It is very convenient that you can walk along the beach at gurney drive and it is one of the main tourist attraction.
Chong K. Families with young children Malaysia, February 17, 2013
very nice hotel

close to beach,covered car park,close to shopping mall.
9.7
Great location hotel with international standard.Nice swimming and gym.
Thi T. Couples Vietnam, February 16, 2013
Nice hotel

good location
7.7
The stay was a pleasant one. hotel location is right in the center, 500km walking distance to shopping mall. However during holidays & peak season, traffic is very jam
Shopping Tip: 500km walking distance to shopping mall nearby

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Evergreen Laurel Hotel PenangEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - View From the HotelEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - SurroundingsEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Suite Bathroom Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - RestaurantEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - RestaurantEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Fitness RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - EntranceEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ViewEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - LobbyEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - BallroomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - RestaurantEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Exterior

Customer Reviews - Evergreen Laurel Hotel, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3A04