Back to hotel info

Very good 7.7
Based on 5301 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 5301 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 7.0

Alice K. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Old-fashioned hotel but room is comfortable
Room comfort, central location
Overall hotel deco is old-fashioned however room is comfortable. Light is too dim. Close to Gurney Plaza but it is a bit too far to walk. Too near to take a cab. No free shuttle to Gurney Plaza.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

THARAGASWARY S. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
good stay
Food, cleanliness, ambiance
Check in was easily managed, as it was Thaipusam (Hindu religious festival) the hotel was quite full. Have stayed there before but the rooms looked a little smaller & dated as compared to my previous stay, however room was well maintained and clean so it was not an issue. Food was good, beds comfortable, staff were attentive and friendly - all in we all had a very enjoyable stay. One sore point though is that the swimming pool was so cold that the children were perpetually shivering, don't know if it was due to the weather or location, but maybe having a heated pool would be something for the hotel to look into.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

mohd H. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Peaceful place to stay
Cleanliness, good atmosphere. well experience staff.
Fast and easy check in & check out, guest remain undisturbed and enjoy staying there.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

WONG W. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2014
Nice Hote, Clean Room, Near Shopping Area
Big Room, Near to Shopping Area, Restaurants Nearby
This was my 3rd times staying in this hotel. The hotel is still maintaining in good & clean condition with big size room. I like the hotel location which is walking distance to shopping mall & local restaurants around the hotel area. I will stay in this hotel again for next visit to Penang.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

cheuk C. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Good hotel with this price
location , price, sea view from our room
Staff are helpful. Upon check-in, i was given a double bed room but i would prefer a single bed room. Staff immediately help me to locate an available room for me.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Cecilia L. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Comfortable, conveniently located and quiet
Clean, strategically located and great check-in service
We were a Malaysian couple traveling with friends from the USA and we all found our stay to be very comfortable and pleasant. The hotel is wonderfully located near enough to all the attractions of historic Georgetown but it's away from its congestion. It is quiet and being by the ocean is a big plus. The ample free-parking for hotel guests was one of my requirements when I chose the hotel and it did not disappoint. Our rooms were very clean and little touches like free water, orange juice and apples that were replenished daily was great. We found extra pillows in the cupboard which had clean pillowcases on and further wrapped in plastic, which ensured they had not been sitting there collecting dust. The Agoda booking system did not allow us to request non-smoking rooms or bed types, but Ms Rain from the reception was great in helping us get the rooms we wanted when we checked in. Overall, our experience was great and we had a lovely stay at this hotel.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

CHIN H. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
comfortable, value for money
nice bed, nice location and large room with satelite TV
The room was nice but the air cond doesnt work well, bed still comfortable, nice city view and peaceful environment, good for couple and family trips.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

khor W. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2014
not as good as you expected
clean. thats all..nth else
Suppose to be king size bed room. I was told no more and give 2 single bed. No upgrade also. They are keen for business. Will stay other hotel in future. Morning breakfast was sucks and less of choices. 5 star hotel with such little food to eat. Regret to book with breakfast deal. Might as well go out eat better.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Gary C. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Value for money
Centrally located, ocean view and good food store nearby
This is very convenience hotel because of the centrally located, easy access to most of the interesting place. walking distance has very good food centre call Gurney Food Court, charges are reasonable and taste are yummy! I prefer to stay in high floor of this hotel because it has very good ocean view.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Adeline K. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Average Stay
Cleanliness, Friendly and helpful concierge
Could do better with pillows. i had to stack 2-3 pillows to sleep as the pillow keep sinking in. Also the pillow cases were dirty i had to contact housekeeping to have it changed.
Reviewed February 20, 2014