Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Evergreen Laurel Hotel

53 Persiaran Gurney,, Gurney Drive, Penang, Malaysia 10250

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.7

based on 5210 reviews

4522 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (5210)
Sort by:
Calvin C. Solo travelers Indonesia, May 20, 2016
good
5.3
great
Report this review
Robin H. Families with young children Singapore, May 19, 2016
Great Stay
5.3
The Stay here is good, Customer Service is excellent and all staff wear a smile on their face. They are approachable and the hotel condition is great too. Buffet food on the lobby have room to improve thou, variety and quality wise.
Report this review
Chu A. Couples Malaysia, May 14, 2016
The packets supplied for shower cap n sewing kit a
3.7
Disappointed that after paying about $291/-- no bfast included
Report this review
Ong W. Couples Malaysia, May 12, 2016
Very well aged
6.3
This hotel is one where your grandparents would like to stay in. The same type of hotel you'd see in the movie The Grand Budapest Hotel. Classy, green carpets, huge chandeliers and if there were ever a world d shortage of wood and marble, this would be place to find some. Concierge wore a hat and a moustache. Unlike most old styled hotels though, this one has aged well. No broken anything, no weird smell, no squeaky doors* or broken remote controls. Still deserved the 5* it had gotten. Facilities are as expected, huge pool, sauna steamroom hot tub cold tub massage and even a god dammed tennis court. 10minutes walk away to G hotel and you'll see the stark difference with blinking lights and house music. Got a good rate(almost rm 70 cheaper) from agoda. *my toilet door was bent wrongly and won't close tight. Probably from the old age
Report this review
Surinder S. Couples United Kingdom, May 9, 2016
No longer 5-star
3
Was here some years ago, and had a nice stay, so decided to return -> BAD decision. First thing that we noted was the quality of food in the breakfast buffet was rather poor. Although we had intended to try their other dining options, this changed our minds. Overall, the staff were poor, with one exception (on reception - Aslim, who was outstanding). The staff do not appear to appreciate that they are in the service industry, and waiters were only capable of cleaning tables, with NO smiles (other exceptions included 2 malay girls there, who were not v useful, but at least they smiled!). Crunch came when we asked for 2 extra towels for some guests in our room who needed to shower before we went out for dinner. You would have thought we were asking for gold dust! After several irate phone calls, and speaking to duty manager (who promised we would have them immediately - then nothing for 30 mins), I went down to reception and embarrassed them, and magically 2 towels appeared within 1 minute. There should not have been any need for any of this, as I was even prepared to pay for the service. In summary, is past it's glory days. The infra-structure is there, but management need to get a grip and change things around. Hopefully, harsh reviews like these (from experienced travellers) may force the issue. Let's see
Report this review
Paul Y. Couples Australia, May 9, 2016
Comfortable Stay
5.3
We enjoyed the high floor Superior room with good city views. Enjoyed the facilities like swimming pool and ease of access for my friends' and relatives' vehicles to pick us up.
Report this review
Tan J. Couples Malaysia, May 8, 2016
Value for money
6
Value for money.
Report this review
Keng P. Business travelers Malaysia, May 6, 2016
This is my first and last to stay at this hotel.
3.3
Very old hotel without renovation, over priced. Did not provide towel and requested several times.
Report this review
Leong S. Groups Malaysia, May 5, 2016
Good
4
Good location
Report this review
Alan C. Business travelers Malaysia, May 4, 2016
Ok
5.3
Good
Report this review
Previous page 11 - 20 of 4522 reviews Next page
Evergreen Laurel Hotel PenangEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - View From the HotelEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - EntranceEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - SurroundingsEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Suite Bathroom Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - RestaurantEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - RestaurantEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Fitness RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - LobbyEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - BallroomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Restaurant


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B03