or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Evergreen Laurel Hotel

53 Persiaran Gurney, , Gurney Drive, Penang, Malaysia (Show on map)

Book now!

Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - View From the Hotel Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest Room Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Bathroom Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Bathroom Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Lobby Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Lobby Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Playground Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Fitness Room
Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming Pool Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming Pool Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming Pool Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Pub/Lounge Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Restaurant Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Restaurant Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Spa Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Spa Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Laurel Cafe Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Exterior Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Exterior Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Ballroom
Area: Gurney Drive Number of Rooms: 368
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

based on
4033 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (4033)
Sort by:
Danny P. Solo travelers Malaysia, April 12, 2014
Worst ever five star hotel I have ever stayed

Centrally located, near to the beach, near to gurney drive
4.3
This is the worst ever five star hotel I have evert stayed. The hotel parking has no one guarding and literally anyone can just intrude the hotel, which is very unsafe and unsecured. I check in at about 8pm that day and I was served , however in the middle of the check in process, there was a very rude guy wearing pinkish red long sleeve shirt drag away my receptionist to serve his own customers, part of it is because he can't speak mandarin. This is considered very rude and unprofessional way to treat a customer, and I suppose he is the supervisor there. I can say he is not qualified and should put back to training on what service line truly is. Speaking of the hotel furnitures and amenities, the carpets are stained and the bed mattress is sinking, the clock is like you can get in the dollar shop and it's not working, the tv is blur and the design of the room is very old. The next morning when I was about to leave my room for breakfast, my doorstep was dumped with newspaper. Normally the papers will be hanged on the door knob but this hotel just dumped it on the floor expecting you to feel that you are so respected. You won't be greeted at the cafe as well, you will just walk in, pick a table, take your food, finish it and leave. This is the worst ever five star hotel I have fever stayed.
George F. Families with young children Australia, April 12, 2014
Very Pleasant

Comfort, location and seaside views
10
Pleasant and enjoyable.
Chye H. Business travelers Singapore, April 11, 2014
Quiet and walking distance to nearby shopping mall

Lots of food selection along the way
7.7
Good.
Justine F. Couples United Kingdom, April 10, 2014
How it should be done!

Comfortable room, friendly staff, excellent breakfast
9.7
We have stayed in many Hotels of different prices in SE Asia in recent years, but The Evergreen takes top place - at a very reasonable price. Helpful friendly staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Large comfortable room, with soft feather pillows. Spotless bathroom with bath + easy-to-use powerful shower + good quality towels. We are familiar with Asian buffet breakfasts but have never seen such a selection. A very generous breakfast with all tastes/requirements catered for. We stayed just one night to be close to the Adventist Hospital, which was further away than expected but well worth the walk. 25-30 minutes. There are many eating options close to Hotel on Gurney Drive, including the recently opened vast Paragon Mall. Approx 10 minute walk. We were very impressed with the Hotel and will definitely stay again. Only disappointment was high price of 'Happy Hour' glass of wine.
Fenny W. Couples Indonesia, April 10, 2014
Nice stay, great view and many restaurants nearby

Location, clean, good service
8
We went to penang for medical purpose, and had a nice stay here. Close to mall, and restaurants. Can jog in the morning in front of the beach
Ryan K. Families with older children Singapore, April 10, 2014
old but comfortable hotel

friendly staff, spacious room and comfortable stay
8.7
although the room looks kind of old, but it was quite comfortable. breakfast variety was ample. mostly importantly, the hotel staff are friendly and helpful.
James F. Couples United Kingdom, April 8, 2014
decent hotel but far from centre

staff are friendly. rooms good value for money. clean, spacious and well maintained
7.3
Arrived and hotel only had a smoking room. Lingering smell of smoke butn staff moved us the following day. I think you get a lot of hotel for you money here though. Problem is that it is around an hour's walk to the centre of georgetown and the staff had no knowledge of buses to the centre but the hotel can arrange a cab for 20 ringgits. Which is about 5 ringgits more than a cab will charge on the street. Cabs are a bit of a rip off as NONE of them will turn the meter on. Also the hotel could do with getting decent beers in but who spends the night in the hotel bar? Not bad place and decent restaurants next door but takes a while to get to centre of georgegown.
Lachlan P. Solo travelers Australia, April 8, 2014
Comfy As

Buffet breakfast, upgrade on arrival, great room
10
Tg K. Couples Australia, April 8, 2014
Pleasant and up to expectations

Cleanliness, location, price
9
Very satisfied and pleased with the management and staff attention to detail regarding giving guests a clean environment, room and particularly the bathroom. A fresh smelling room and mould-free shower curtain and bathroom gave a very good impression and makes me want to stay here again.
Kok S. Business travelers Singapore, April 7, 2014
Relax Penang hotel stay

In Penang, the most attraction we like was the hawker food, we enjoyed the local food and enjoyed with having beer at some of the pub at the Penang road end. The place was crowded especially during we
7.7

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Evergreen Laurel Hotel PenangEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - View From the HotelEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Guest RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - BathroomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - BathroomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - LobbyEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - LobbyEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - PlaygroundEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Fitness RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Swimming PoolEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Pub/LoungeEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - RestaurantEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - RestaurantEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - SpaEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - SpaEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Laurel Cafe Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - BallroomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Meeting RoomEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - ExteriorEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - SurroundingsEvergreen Laurel Hotel Penang - Suite Bathroom

Customer Reviews - Evergreen Laurel Hotel, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3A02