arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.7
Based on 5245 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 5245 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 7.0

6 Kevin T.
Malaysia
July 06, 2015
Expensive by its standards
Gym, jacuzzi, location
Generally the hotel has everything you'd expect, nice pool facilities and sauna, steam room. However the rooms itself was tired, bed only has 2 pillow for king when others provide 4.

6.7 Kee T.
Malaysia
July 05, 2015
good short stay
good location, nearby food and shopping outlets
good short stay

9.3 christine S.
Malaysia
July 03, 2015
Value to stay
Clean and good warm service
warm service and Clean environment

7.7 Namyun K.
South Korea
July 03, 2015
Good for family trip
View, Massage package, Room
It was ok about massage package for my parents. Sightseeing was ok. Breakfast was terrible. Average hotel.

8 TG K.
Australia
July 03, 2015
Good value and very comfortable
Cleanliness, location and value
This is my choice of hotel in Penang every time and this recent visit still invalidates my decision to stay there again. Love the clean and comfortable but firm beds. The complimentary fruit bowl and soft drinks replenished daily are a generous touch and shows guests that they are more than just bodies with a credit card. I am glad that the hotel has kept up the standard since it was refurbished a few years ago.

8.7 Sing M.
Singapore
July 03, 2015
Feedback
Clean, comfort and easy access to places
Good

7.3 KOH P.
Singapore
July 03, 2015
A bit overprice for this hotel.
Location is ok for young people, but too far for young or old people to walk to shopping centre.
Average

8.3 Linda C.
Singapore
July 01, 2015
Though this hotel is not new it is well maintained
1. The bed 2. Laurel Cafe 3. Room rate.
The stay was pleasant except the air conditioning in the room cannot be adjusted though the thermostat is installed in the room. Rooms are huge and mini bar is free, excellent especially in this hot weather. Location is great as it is near eateries.

5.3 Pauline C.
Singapore
June 29, 2015
Penang Stay @ Evergreen Laurel
Huge bed, fruit basket
First I was met with rude front desk staff who was the Manager but didn't behave like one. She was rude and expected me to know why I should give her my credit card and sign the check-in forms without properly explaining to me. I immediately wrote in my feedback form but no one during my stay responded to my feedback! The only saving grace was the sea-facing room and the huge king size bed. I didn't eat in the hotel so I couldn't comment on the food quality. However I feel the hotel is too far from Gurney hawkers and malls. The walk to these places was long and sweaty as weather was really hot in Penang.

6.7 Graham S.
United Kingdom
June 28, 2015
Looking a little tired these days.
Clean room, free soft drinks in minibar, complimentary morning newspaper
I have stayed here many times as I visit Penang regularly and like to get value for money. But I have recently changed to another hotel in a similar price bracket that I now prefer. But I returned to the Evergreen Laurel because my first preference was fully booked. The room is certainly clean and there is reasonable speed WiFi and everything works. But the carpet was worn, the furniture dated and the lifts are so slow. I don't eat there because I think the Western food in the cafe is poor quality but my local friend thought the Malay Buka Puasa buffet was OK. The bar/lounge is a reasonably pleasant spot as the Filipino band is not too bad - the guitarist plays a mean rendition of Carlos Santana's Black Magic Woman. Car parking s free for guests and plentiful - which is good as the hotel is basically in the middle of nowhere on Gurney Drive so you need transport to go to any shopping centre or nightlife - unless you fancy a 15 minute walk to Gurney Paragon. Its OK, but not really 5-star any more.