My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Excelsior Hotel

45 West 81st Street, Central Park - Upper West Side, New York (NY), United States 10024 (Show on map)

Book now!

Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Guest Room Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Suite Room Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Guest Room Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Guest Room Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Suite Room Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Double Room Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Guest Room Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Superior Queen Bed Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Guest Room Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Superior Queen Bed Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Queen Room Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Two Double Beds Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Bathroom Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Bathroom Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Hotel Exterior Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Hotel Exterior
Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - View Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - View Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Hotel Exterior Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Hotel Exterior Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Fitness Room Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Fitness Room Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Restaurant Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Calle Ocho Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Calle Ocho Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Coffee Shop Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Hotel Interior Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Calle Ocho
Hotel Area: Central Park - Upper West Side Number of Rooms: 201

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

8.1

based on
39 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
9.2
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.5
Food/Dining
6.7
All reviews (39)
Sort by:
Elizabeth G. Families with older children United States of America, December 23, 2013
Our fav location

Being on the Upper West Side, the view out the windows of the NYC skyline and the comfy beds.
9
It was all fine - our view of Manhattan was fab and it was opposite the Natural History Museum and near Central Park, and on the Upper West Side, which is our preferred place to stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only criticism I have is that guests have to pay by the half-hour for wi-fi. For a hotel in this price bracket, I would have expected it to be included in the overall price.
Essi L. Couples Finland, December 10, 2013
Comfortable stay and lovely hotel.

Location next to Central Park, near subway station and clean, cozy rooms.
8
Robert C. Solo travelers Hong Kong, November 17, 2013
Location, ambience, price

Location, ambience, price
8.3
Excellent mid-range hotel in uptown Manhattan at reasonable price. Nice design, comfortable room, helpful staff. Just 2 minutes from Central Park.
Molly M. Families with young children United States of America, August 16, 2013
Great place for our family

(1) The "sitting area" provided a full suite - a fabulous convenience for families where some kids have early bedtimes/naps. (2) The room (2 double beds + sitting area) was large for NYC. (3) Location
9
We had a great stay and would definitely recommend it to friends and those with young children.
Mark S. Couples United States of America, July 2, 2013
Excellent location for visiting our family

location, nice room, cleanliness
7.7
Wife & I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Its location was great for us cause our family lived just a few blocks away. The hotel room was well serviced by the gracious maids. We missed not having room service/coffee shop/restaurant 24/7 services. Location sufficed as many cafe/restaurants closeness met our needs. Shopping, tourista venues, etc. was at our liking. This will be a one time thing for us at this hotel due to its room rates are way over our budgeting. Will not recommend this hotel for fellow travelers due to this exorbitant cost for rooms.
Davide G. Solo travelers Italy, April 29, 2013
Weekend in NYC

Comfortable, Good Quality\Price, Awesome position to visit Manhattan
8.3
We stayed on the Hotel only for sleeping, but the room was clean and very comfortable. Great position in the city and very good distance to transport services.
Kenneth L. Solo travelers United States of America, January 20, 2013
Lovely hotel and warm and not expensive

Hotel was charming, busy bar and restaurant
10
The Hotel Excelsior was well located on the upper west side, by Central Park. The Hotel was charming with an active lobby with bar and an elegant restaurant. The room was lovely, due to making me wait, they upgraded me free to a suite. I would revisit again.
Hotel Feature Tip: The Hotel bar and restaurant, Calle Ochos, seemed worth a visit.
Gil N. Couples Israel, January 6, 2013
great location nice rooms

great location nice rooms
7.3
Amenities are lacking: refrigirator in the room cofee machine in room ordering taxi from front desk
Karen T. Couples United Kingdom, January 4, 2013
Great location

Location,pleasant staff
8.7
we had a wonderful time,staff efficient & helpful. great area,fantastical value,the only negative point would be lack of heating in bathroom.
Joseph C. Families with young children United States of America, December 20, 2012
Great location, good room, lacking in amenities

Location only one-half a block from Central Park, and great for children right inside the park is a very nice playground. Great location for families as it is quieter, and the shops and restaurants along Columbia and Amsterdam avenues were great. Also, right next door is the Natural History Museum, and two blocks away is the Children's Museum
8
Overall, the stay was great. The hotel had a lot of character and was comfortable. Great location. However, the room didn't have a refrigerator, requiring us to rent one for $30 a night. The room also didn't have free Wi-Fi; and the room didn't even have a hot water boiler for tea, coffee or infant formula, forcing us to go to the hotel bar for it every evening.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Excelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Hotel ExteriorExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Suite RoomExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Suite RoomExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Double RoomExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Superior Queen BedExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Superior Queen BedExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Queen RoomExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Two Double BedsExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - BathroomExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - BathroomExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Hotel ExteriorExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Hotel ExteriorExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - ViewExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - ViewExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Hotel ExteriorExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Hotel ExteriorExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Fitness RoomExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Fitness RoomExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - RestaurantExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Calle OchoExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Calle OchoExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Coffee ShopExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Hotel InteriorExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Calle OchoExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Calle OchoExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Calle OchoExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Calle OchoExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - LobbyExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - LobbyExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Hotel InteriorExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Hotel InteriorExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - LobbyExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Meeting RoomExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Meeting RoomExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Meeting RoomExcelsior Hotel New York (NY) - Fitness Room


AS-AGWEB-3C04