Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Fitzroy Island Resort

Fitzroy Island, Fitzroy Island, Cairns, Australia 4870

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.1

based on 88 reviews

64 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.6
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (88)
Sort by:
Jeannine B. Couples Switzerland, April 9, 2016
A Lovely Stay
6
Had a lovely stay here over our 1st year Anniversary. Unfortunately was only 1 night and sadly the coral was bleached due the warmer water temperatures recently, however still had an excellent time and saw many beautiful fish. I would definitely recommend a visit to the turtle sanctuary, the AUD 8.- is completely worth it when you understand all they are trying to do to help this beautiful creature. The only low point for me was the extremely rude barman who served us at the pool and then again later at Foxy's bar. He had told us earlier that a certain cocktail was unavailable, we of course forgot the name as one does and tried to order it later only to be snapped at and told that as he had said 6 hours ago, this was not available as the ingredients were not in stock and that he would have come to the bar the first time we asked if there had been stock there. I might add that if stock was running low on a certain item, they could have had this ferry'd over with the many ferries that arrived during that day. In any case, regardless of that, I dont mind if there isnt something available but there is no need to be rude, especially not because guests dont remember which drink has no more ingredients. Anyhow, still had a lovely stay, clean rooms, nice beaches etc. On site store selection could be improved, but as we were there only 1 night it did not pose an issue. One of the highlights I have to mention, was the ferry ride over, one of the crew gave an absolutely hilarious safety demo.. have not laughed so much in a long time. Very nice chap. I would definitely stay again!
Report this review
C F. Families with older children Australia, April 1, 2016
3 magnificent nights!
6
I would not hesitate to recommend staying here. I didn't want to ever leave!
Report this review
Samantha D. Solo travelers United Kingdom, February 27, 2016
Lovely resort
6
I enjoyed my stay here as the island itself is so beautiful and it is as simple as that. The room had everything I needed and was clean. Food was good but more options would be better.
Report this review
Nicholas A. Couples Belgium, January 11, 2016
One of the best places during our trip
6
What a great stay at Fitzroy island! The resort is great, with a nice pool and snorkeling/kayak/sup rental possibilities. This is really a place to enjoy your holidays. I wish we could go back immediately!
Report this review
Wei M. Families with older children Singapore, December 29, 2015
A resort without digital lifestyle

Quiet and serene resort.
6.7
If you do not wish to be disturbed by any digital communication, this is the place to have a vacation.
Report this review
Deanne C. Groups Australia, December 18, 2015
Great way to experience the Great Barrier Reef

Location, activities available
7
Hospitality was a little underwhelming and there was a lack of food options and groceries in the general store. Would recommend it over green island though and apartment was modern and clean.
Report this review
Alison H. Families with young children Australia, October 2, 2015
Just beautiful!

The room was exactly as the photos depicted on the website. The views were fantastic and the staff were thoughtful and made our stay very enjoyable.
8.7
We had a great time and would recommend it to families. We have four children aged 2-11yrs and there was something for everyone. Our room was the furthest away from the resort facilities so I would have preferred being closer and a playground would have been good to just chill in familiar surroundings for our two Ye old. I herwise it was fantastic.
Report this review
Marlon K. Families with older children Australia, July 22, 2015
Incredible location, average resort

Proximity to the reef, bushwalks, friendly staff
7.3
Overall we had a great time, despite the wind and rain. The island itself is a gem, and offers a range of free activities such as snorkelling, beaches and bushwalks. The staff, although mostly foreign travellers, were all friendly and accommodating and should be commended. The resort itself is modern and has a great range of amenities. However, we found ourselves wanting to get away from the busy-ness, especially around the reception area and wharf where the day trippers come and go each day. On an island so big, it seems odd that so much of its activity gets focused in such a small area. This made it very hard to feel like we were really 'getting away from it all'. Unfortunately the mould problems stated in many reviews are true. We happen to be allergic to mould so requested to be moved when we checked into rooms with a very strong mouldy smell. We were told the resort was fully booked and could be moved the next day, but this meant we got sick from the mould on Day 1. We were moved into much better rooms - the ocean view suite is fantastic. However, the 2 bedrooms ocean suite is actually a 1 bedroom suite room plus another single room which is dark and faces away from the ocean. This was extremely disappointing. Also, we were only serviced once during our 3 night stay in the new rooms and after the service it looked like they'd only done half the job. Nothing was fresh, the floors hadn't been cleaned and there were dirty dishes left in the sink. The food options are a mixed bag - the restaurant is really fantastic if you venture a la carte and the buffet is reasonable. The food at Foxy's was not really up to scratch though, especially for the price. And the general store has a few basic options. I would strongly recommend self-catering for breakfast, at least half your lunches and dinners, avoiding anything fried at Foxy's and splurging on the restaurant for a la carte dinner.
Report this review
Craig M. Couples Australia, June 28, 2015
Closest Reef Loaction

Ability to see reef, clean
7.7
Mostly good. Wifi is not up to scratch. Very spotty signal for Australian phones too. Food is expensive. Consider getting room with kitchen ad bringing food - might be cheaper.
Report this review
Mark T. Couples Australia, June 26, 2015
Lovely

Location, Value, Facilities
7
Very enjoyable. Unfortunately the rooms on the ground floor do hear movement from guests in the floor directly above.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 64 reviews Next page
Fitzroy Island Resort CairnsFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - KayakingFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Sunset at Fitzroy Island ResortFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Beach CabinFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Swimming PoolFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Ocean SuiteFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Fitzroy Island ResortFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Resort StudioFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - BathroomFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - SwimmingFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Beach ViewsFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Resort StudioFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Ocean SuiteFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Resort StudioFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - BathroomFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Fitzroy at nightFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Green Sea TurtleFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Main PoolFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Fitzroy Island Fast CatFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Nudey BeachFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Welcome BayFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Nudey BeacgFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Resort StudioFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - 2 BedroomFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Ocean SuiteFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Ocean SuiteFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Main JettyFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Zephyr RestaurantFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Zephyr RestaurantFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Main PoolFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Main PoolFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Main PoolFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - RainforestFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Main PoolFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Zephyr RestaurantFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Ocean SuiteFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Accommodation BlockFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Mail PoolFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Ocean SuiteFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Romantic MomentFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Fine DiningFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Welcome BayFitzroy Island Resort Cairns - Main Pool


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A08