or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Florence House Hotel and Restaurant

2 Malvern Road, Portsmouth, United Kingdom PO5 2NA (Show on map)

Book now!

Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Guest Room Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Guest Room Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Guest Room Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Guest Room Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Guest Room Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Guest Room Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Guest Room Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Interior Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Interior Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Guest Room Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Guest Room Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Guest Room Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Bathroom Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Bathroom Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Bathroom Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Superior Suite
Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Bathroom Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Coffee Shop/Cafe Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Interior Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Interior Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Interior Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Interior Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Interior Florence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Restaurant
Area: Other Number of Rooms: 7
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.8

based on
22 reviews

Value for Money
8.5
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
9.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.4
Room Comfort/Standard
9.5
Food/Dining
8.1
All reviews (22)
Sort by:
Sharon C. Solo travelers United Kingdom, December 31, 2012
Individuality at its best

The staff are the biggest asset of this hotel, always smiling and willing to assist.
10
I enjoyed a short stay at The Florence House Hotel between Christmas & New Year. When I arrived I was greeted with a smile and my booking was confirmed, before I was escorted to my room. I rarely sleep through the night, but somehow I can here! I awoke in the morning feeling extremely well rested and enjoyed the powerful shower before going down for breakfast. My second night was even better! I slept right through breakfast but received call from reception half an hour after they'd finished to ask if I would like breakfast, or even just some tea or coffee? Now, that was service beyond anything I've experienced elsewhere! The only improvements I could wish for are a brighter light so I could see to apply make-up, and a wardrobe long enough to hang a dress in. Probably that would be just a one off requirement though! I love this place, the great staff, the individually decorated bedrooms, the service and location make it ideal for a short break and I would love to return again soon. Please don't tell too many people about it!! I like to think of it as my guilty secret escape.
Tina O. Solo travelers United Kingdom, September 21, 2012
Beautiful hotel, great location, friendly staff

Comfortable rooms, great food in peaceful area of Southsea, close to all amenities
10
Decorated to a high standard; Art Deco/Shabby Chic, thoroughly clean throughout. Staff couldn't do enough and were extremely friendly and helpful. Got a great night's sleep due to the quiet location and will definitely be returning.
Hotel Feature Tip: Contact the Florence House Hotel direct and there is a chance you will receive a better price.
Susan H. Couples United Kingdom, September 2, 2012
Nicely designed hotel

Good location , great breakfast
9
Within walking distance of Southsea front and close to Portsmouth. Room was small but adequate with TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Reception unmanned after 11.30 and was dark when we returned at midnight after a wedding. Breakfast was good - the continental included cereal and a lovely fruit salad plus toast and croissant. Overall, slightly overpriced but a better than a chain hotel.
Ann D. Solo travelers Australia, August 22, 2012
Boutique Hotel

Room, location and breakfast.
9.7
The room was stylish and comfortable and a lovely fresh fruit salad was part of the included breakfast menu. The hotel is only a short walk from the beach, castle and Pyramid water leisure centre. The downside was that the booking confirmation showed the address as Portsmouth rather than the more specific address of Southsea and as a result the GPS did not recognise the address and I had to find a shop where I could buy a map to find it.
Chris C. Couples United Kingdom, August 17, 2012
Relaxed, excellant service, qwirky style

Friendly service, comfortable and interesting furniture, simple yet professional
10
we stayed for one night, and breakfast the next morning. we were given a parking permit for the on street parking just outside the front door which was very convenient. staff we really friendly and welcoming. the room we had was fairly small but very comfortable and relaxing. furniture/decor and bathroom facilities were brilliant and very fresh. breakfast was very tastey and served with a smile! we really enjoyed our short stay and would highly recommend this little hotel as a cracking place spend afew nights.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: A trip to the D-Day museum will not dissapoint. Its really well put together and puts our freedom into perspective!
Yip C. Solo travelers Hong Kong, June 25, 2012
Charming hotel next to Portsmouth south seaside

Cute B&B
8.3
A very cute Bed and Breakfast hotel tucked in a quiet residential area. Because the hotel is converted from a classic English house, it has only a few rooms and often fully booked. I booked the last spa room of the day. When I arrived, there was a wedding so their rooms were all occupied. I was arranged to their sister hotel around the corner, which the room is bigger. The spa bath was very nice, and interior was lovely decorated. Everything in the room is great and it could be compared with 5 stars hotel room besides the ceiling is tilted from one side since the spa room was on top floor. In fact, this is alright, not too odd for the whole space. I got up the next day but missed the breakfast time, i.e. by 9:00am. So I cannot give any comments on the breakfast, which I really would love to try. The location of the hotel is 3 minutes walk from the seaside. If you are interested in D-Day Museum, it's 5 minutes only.
Shopping Tip: A good side outlet next to Portsmouth Historical Dockyard.
Laurence T. Couples United Kingdom, May 15, 2012
More of a b&b than hotel, but very clean and nice

Cleanliness, staff, location
7.3
nice and clean, friendly staff, toilet was in a funny position under the angle of the roof, difficult for men to use.
Howard G. Couples Canada, April 13, 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile

Beautiful rooms, lovely breakfast and very friendly staff
9.7
We were visiting from Canada and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, would definitely stay there agai,
Susan A. Families with older children United Kingdom, April 6, 2012
Excellent small hotel

Beautiful interior design of rooms, very friendly staff, homely relaxed feel
8.7
Would definitely choose this hotel again. Only thing would like to change would be a later closing time for breakfast - its hard getting teenagers up when they're on holidays! 10 o clock would be so much better
Keith B. Couples United Kingdom, June 26, 2011
Not what we expected

Clean and comfortable. Polite staff
6.7
the room we stayed in was not even at the florence house but a sister hotel across the road. we phoned reception to check if they had given us the right room because it certainly was not an executive double and nothing like the pictures on the web site.we were told it was. it was clean and comfortable and the staff were polite and friendly and had i not got a good deal on the room i would have demanded my money back for being totally misled.
Hotel Feature Tip: Check before you book which hotel room and where you are staying. Having to cross the road for breakfast was not what I expected from a supposed Executive Double which it certainly was not.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Florence House Hotel and Restaurant PortsmouthFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Guest RoomFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Guest RoomFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Guest RoomFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Guest RoomFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Guest RoomFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Guest RoomFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Guest RoomFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - InteriorFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - InteriorFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Guest RoomFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Guest RoomFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Guest RoomFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - BathroomFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - BathroomFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - BathroomFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Superior SuiteFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - BathroomFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Coffee Shop/CafeFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - InteriorFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - InteriorFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - InteriorFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - InteriorFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - InteriorFlorence House Hotel and Restaurant Portsmouth - Restaurant


AS-AGWEB-3B01