arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.8
Based on 232 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 232 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3
  • Location 7.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Staff Performance 8.0
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 7.3

8 Rencel R.
Philippines
February 23, 2015
Great Hotel
Rooms, Locations, Food

10 Anthony R.
Philippines
February 19, 2015
eventful..not enough time to do it all..
acommodations, place, and staff

4.3 NICETAS A.
Philippines
February 12, 2015
FORT ILOCANDIA
IT HAS ACTIVITIES LIKE THE CASINO, BILLIARD,ETC..BUT IT COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER IF WE CAN SWIM AT THE BEACH
Great! We had a good time. The hotel as a whole is the best in Laoag! The room where we stayed is big..The beach is another attraction but too deep to enjoy swimming. We enjoyed playing in the casino we will surely return and will recommend this to our friends

8 Geraldine R.
Philippines
February 08, 2015
Charming hotel with excellent service
Comfortable, good service, good food
Our stay was memorable.

6 Edmund A.
United States
February 08, 2015
3-star hotel with 1-star service
Clean, free internet, free breakfast
My wife and I caught the shuttle to go to Robinson's mall in San Nicholas. We confirmed with the shuttle driver the pickup time before getting off the shuttle. We made it a point to be outside 5 minutes prior to the pickup time. The shuttle ended up leaving earlier than the scheduled time. After waiting for 15 minutes past the scheduled pickup time a security guard was nice enough to call the hotel for us. We waited for about 20 minutes and no one came to pick us up. We were getting worried for our safety because the mall was closing and the lights were to be shut off. We ended up catching a tricycle cab back to the hotel. We are foreigners. Fort Ilocandia staff showed no regard for our safety. When we returned we demanded to speak to the manager to file a formal complaint. We expected more from a hotel to claim to be a 5-star resort.

6 Shaun H.
Australia
February 02, 2015
Past it's best
Gardens, Activities, History
We spent 1 night at Fort Ilocandia during a road trip through the northern Philippines The hotel is massive, with a huge area of landscaped grounds (which are particularly nice to walk around in the morning), nice gardens, has a large pool and golf-driving range. There are plenty of activities available, unfortunately we didn’t have much time to experience them all. Check in & check out was quick and simple, staff were all very friendly. I was looking forward to staying here however was a little disappointed – while it has it’s positives and is quite historical and charming, it is definitely past its glory days. I found Fort Ilocandia to be quite expensive for the overall quality of the accommodation – the room while large, wasn’t very comfortable (very hard bed and pillows) and not at all sound-proof, the food quality wasn’t great.. I’m not a fan of the idea of private/hotel zoos and found the Fort Illocandia’s zoo particularly depressing (*Important to note that we didn't see any particular mistreatment of the animals - simply very small cages with no greenery - eg Eagles are in a tall narrow cage, not much room to move around, overall in need of an update). The hotel’s features are it activities (Beach, dune buggies, driving range, archery, casino etc), however like the rest of the hotel, are all in need of a facelift. Nice place to check out, however I’ll be more inclined to shop around for somewhere better priced if we're in the area again

7 Sevna P.
Philippines
January 26, 2015
Still grand
location, amenities and ambiance
It is still a grand hotel which provides you with a lot of amenities and activities to enjoy. It has a great location for swimming, enjoying nature and adventure stuff.

10 benvic A.
Philippines
January 23, 2015
relaxing and nice hotel
cleanliness of the room, helpful staff and lots of recreational activities
it's our third time and we can say it's still the best hotel in town! we wished we had enough time to try their latest recreational activities. staff so very helpful.

7.3 Ann F.
Philippines
January 21, 2015
Great location and lots to do
Location, Big Rooms, Wide Spaces
We stayed there for 2 nights - the resort was relaxing and it's something nice to come home to after a tiring day touring the sights of ilocos. They could improve on the food, though, as they don't have a lot of options. An extra bottle of mineral water is really expensive, best to bring some before checking in so you can save at least Php 35 per bottle. Staff are nice, and place is clean - a bit old, but I think it's well-maintained.

7.7 Elisea G.
Philippines
January 15, 2015
Same comments below.
Service was very prompt and staff were very accommodating. Very beautifully designed and maintained. Location is ideal.
We enjoyed our stay there. The rooms were comfortable. Only problem is the pillows were very thin. We had to ask for additional pillows which cost P50 each. Additional pillows are usually free in other 5 star hotels. I have been there 3x and I am impressed that the place is very well maintained, especially the gardens. The food in the coffee shop can stand some improvement though.