arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.8
Based on 234 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 234 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 7.3

stephen C.
United Kingdom
February 27, 2015
a Very comfortable getaway
Its location, its layout and spaciousness, and the friendliness of staff
A very well maintained hotel which is situated right on the coast so a cooling breeze is ever present. Extremely relaxing place to sit and read in comfortable and friendly surroundings. Staff couldn't do enough for you and always greeted you with a smile. Food and drinks were very reasonable. I would revisit for sure, and more often if there was a direct flight from HK.

Marian W.
Philippines
February 24, 2015
my experience of my stay in Fort Ilocandia.
staff are very helpful. place is clean and nice ambience.
Hotel toilet room do not flushes well and shower basin water retain water and does not drain well. Request to have the room exchange but stuff refused instead just have it repair but still is not 100% workable.

Rencel R.
Philippines
February 23, 2015
Great Hotel
Rooms, Locations, Food

Anthony R.
Philippines
February 19, 2015
eventful..not enough time to do it all..
acommodations, place, and staff

NICETAS A.
Philippines
February 12, 2015
FORT ILOCANDIA
IT HAS ACTIVITIES LIKE THE CASINO, BILLIARD,ETC..BUT IT COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER IF WE CAN SWIM AT THE BEACH
Great! We had a good time. The hotel as a whole is the best in Laoag! The room where we stayed is big..The beach is another attraction but too deep to enjoy swimming. We enjoyed playing in the casino we will surely return and will recommend this to our friends

Geraldine R.
Philippines
February 08, 2015
Charming hotel with excellent service
Comfortable, good service, good food
Our stay was memorable.

Edmund A.
United States
February 08, 2015
3-star hotel with 1-star service
Clean, free internet, free breakfast
My wife and I caught the shuttle to go to Robinson's mall in San Nicholas. We confirmed with the shuttle driver the pickup time before getting off the shuttle. We made it a point to be outside 5 minutes prior to the pickup time. The shuttle ended up leaving earlier than the scheduled time. After waiting for 15 minutes past the scheduled pickup time a security guard was nice enough to call the hotel for us. We waited for about 20 minutes and no one came to pick us up. We were getting worried for our safety because the mall was closing and the lights were to be shut off. We ended up catching a tricycle cab back to the hotel. We are foreigners. Fort Ilocandia staff showed no regard for our safety. When we returned we demanded to speak to the manager to file a formal complaint. We expected more from a hotel to claim to be a 5-star resort.

Shaun H.
Australia
February 02, 2015
Past it's best
Gardens, Activities, History
We spent 1 night at Fort Ilocandia during a road trip through the northern Philippines The hotel is massive, with a huge area of landscaped grounds (which are particularly nice to walk around in the morning), nice gardens, has a large pool and golf-driving range. There are plenty of activities available, unfortunately we didn’t have much time to experience them all. Check in & check out was quick and simple, staff were all very friendly. I was looking forward to staying here however was a little disappointed – while it has it’s positives and is quite historical and charming, it is definitely past its glory days. I found Fort Ilocandia to be quite expensive for the overall quality of the accommodation – the room while large, wasn’t very comfortable (very hard bed and pillows) and not at all sound-proof, the food quality wasn’t great.. I’m not a fan of the idea of private/hotel zoos and found the Fort Illocandia’s zoo particularly depressing (*Important to note that we didn't see any particular mistreatment of the animals - simply very small cages with no greenery - eg Eagles are in a tall narrow cage, not much room to move around, overall in need of an update). The hotel’s features are it activities (Beach, dune buggies, driving range, archery, casino etc), however like the rest of the hotel, are all in need of a facelift. Nice place to check out, however I’ll be more inclined to shop around for somewhere better priced if we're in the area again

Sevna P.
Philippines
January 26, 2015
Still grand
location, amenities and ambiance
It is still a grand hotel which provides you with a lot of amenities and activities to enjoy. It has a great location for swimming, enjoying nature and adventure stuff.

benvic A.
Philippines
January 23, 2015
relaxing and nice hotel
cleanliness of the room, helpful staff and lots of recreational activities
it's our third time and we can say it's still the best hotel in town! we wished we had enough time to try their latest recreational activities. staff so very helpful.