Back to hotel info

Very good 7.8
Based on 236 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 236 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 7.3

Shaun H.
Australia
February 02, 2015
Past it's best
Gardens, Activities, History
We spent 1 night at Fort Ilocandia during a road trip through the northern Philippines The hotel is massive, with a huge area of landscaped grounds (which are particularly nice to walk around in the morning), nice gardens, has a large pool and golf-driving range. There are plenty of activities available, unfortunately we didn’t have much time to experience them all. Check in & check out was quick and simple, staff were all very friendly. I was looking forward to staying here however was a little disappointed – while it has it’s positives and is quite historical and charming, it is definitely past its glory days. I found Fort Ilocandia to be quite expensive for the overall quality of the accommodation – the room while large, wasn’t very comfortable (very hard bed and pillows) and not at all sound-proof, the food quality wasn’t great.. I’m not a fan of the idea of private/hotel zoos and found the Fort Illocandia’s zoo particularly depressing (*Important to note that we didn't see any particular mistreatment of the animals - simply very small cages with no greenery - eg Eagles are in a tall narrow cage, not much room to move around, overall in need of an update). The hotel’s features are it activities (Beach, dune buggies, driving range, archery, casino etc), however like the rest of the hotel, are all in need of a facelift. Nice place to check out, however I’ll be more inclined to shop around for somewhere better priced if we're in the area again

Sevna P.
Philippines
January 26, 2015
Still grand
location, amenities and ambiance
It is still a grand hotel which provides you with a lot of amenities and activities to enjoy. It has a great location for swimming, enjoying nature and adventure stuff.

benvic A.
Philippines
January 23, 2015
relaxing and nice hotel
cleanliness of the room, helpful staff and lots of recreational activities
it's our third time and we can say it's still the best hotel in town! we wished we had enough time to try their latest recreational activities. staff so very helpful.

Ann F.
Philippines
January 21, 2015
Great location and lots to do
Location, Big Rooms, Wide Spaces
We stayed there for 2 nights - the resort was relaxing and it's something nice to come home to after a tiring day touring the sights of ilocos. They could improve on the food, though, as they don't have a lot of options. An extra bottle of mineral water is really expensive, best to bring some before checking in so you can save at least Php 35 per bottle. Staff are nice, and place is clean - a bit old, but I think it's well-maintained.

Elisea G.
Philippines
January 15, 2015
Same comments below.
Service was very prompt and staff were very accommodating. Very beautifully designed and maintained. Location is ideal.
We enjoyed our stay there. The rooms were comfortable. Only problem is the pillows were very thin. We had to ask for additional pillows which cost P50 each. Additional pillows are usually free in other 5 star hotels. I have been there 3x and I am impressed that the place is very well maintained, especially the gardens. The food in the coffee shop can stand some improvement though.

Joan E.
Philippines
January 14, 2015
Not overnight stay
amenities
this place is not recommended for overnight stay. It requires more than 1 day to enjoy the hotel amenities. Hotel location is at the middle of nowhere. Rooms and walk ways are dark at night. Rooms are a bit of walk to/from front desk and restaurant. Beach is a bit of walk as well. Price is as per 5 star hotel. Buffet breakfast at the restaurant is superb.

Joan E.
Philippines
January 14, 2015
Not recommended for short stay
Amenities
this place is not recommended for overnight traveller like me. It requires more than 1 day to enjoy the facilities. Rooms and walk ways are dark at night. A bit of walk from/to the room to the restaurant and walk ways. Beach front is also a bit of walk. Wifi is also a bit slow. Location is at the middle of nowhere. Typical old colonial structure with very noticeable typical Chinese management style. Nonetheless, buffet breakfast is superb.

Angeles M.
Philippines
January 11, 2015
Not worth the price
Landscaping, polite staff, clean
Fort Ilocandia Hotel is overpriced and overrated. Location is not convenient. The rooms are old especially the bathroom. It needs to be upgraded. The light outside is not sufficient for the guest to tour around during the night. The staff are courteous and respectful and that's the only nice thing in Ilocandia.

Ramon C.
Philippines
January 03, 2015
Overall review.
Room is nice, service is good and the ambiance is fantastic.
We like this hotel, except the Chinese restaurant where smoking is allowed...eeeww..

lee R.
Philippines
December 29, 2014
Rooms need refurbishing
Facilities, amenities, paintings & photos
We enjoyed the atv ride, beach view, food & ambience. The rooms should be renovated esp the bathroom as it doesnt match its rate for a five star hotel.