Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Fort Inn Guest House

no.31,pedler street,fort,galle, Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

8.0

based on
249 reviews

151 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.7
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (249)
Sort by:
Joel G. Couples United States of America, January 7, 2016
Good location

Location, balcony, air conditioning
4.7
Everything except the ac was either broken, stained, rusty, cracked or missing. There was no tv, no room safe, no shower curtain, no morning newspaper, no refrigerator, etc, all of which were advertised. The staff was friendly and helpful (when asked, they did bring in a rusty refrigerator), but could be more professional. The staff liked to drink on the balcony at night. The breakfast was minimal, greasy eggs and a bit of fruit. The location was in the heart of the fort, and the staff smiled, but the rooms need a major overhaul.
Report this review
Thomas F. Families with older children United States of America, January 2, 2016
Fort Inn Galle

Location; price; friendly family who run this tiny hostel
7.3
Good
Report this review
Daphnee C. Couples Indonesia, December 3, 2015
Good budget option

Location, pleasant room, nice staff
9.7
Report this review
Gary E. Solo travelers New Zealand, October 5, 2015
Great Location

location
6.3
The Fort Inn is in the heart of the Fort area so is in a great location but the building is quite old. Can be, as expected, a bit noisy, as its a busy area. Stay was Ok but feel the Fort Inn is a bit expensive for what it offers.
Report this review
Richard A. Couples United States of America, September 29, 2015
The Best Location

The location could not be better
8
We had a pleasant though rainy stay at the Fort Inn. The guest house is in the heart of the fort and easy walking to all the sights. The room and en suite were small and well worn but this is to be expected in an original building in old town. The AC worked well though the Wifi was very slow. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We did not opt for the breakfast there and ate out. Restaurants in the fort were very expensive compared to elsewhere in Sri Lanka and the staff directed us to a the Indian Hut a short walk away that was very reasonable.
Report this review
Kathryn S. Couples United States of America, August 12, 2015
Nice family, amazing location

Staff, location, character
9
A very nice family runs this quaint, cozy inn. Ask where to get ten curries, so delicious. Wonderful location to stay in Galle.
Report this review
Mary-Alice D. Couples Australia, July 23, 2015
Good location

Friendly staff, good location, affordable
8.3
The location was really good, inside the fort and close to the fort walls. The room was clean and air conditioned, but with 2 people it was quite cramped (not much floor space when both our suitcases were open). The bed had a mosquito net but there were some holes and I got bitten a few times at night. The bathroom was basic, with no soap provided. The breakfast (fruit and eggs on toast) was good. We also had dinner there one night (rice and curry) which was quite good. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Overall, I thought it was good value for such a convenient location, and would stay there again. Also, for info, there is no drivers' accommodation at this guest house, so if you have a driver, you may need to factor their external accommodation into the price (for us it was an extra 3500 rupees per night for our driver's food and accommodation).
Report this review
Sebastian S. Solo travelers Germany, June 15, 2015
Everything was great except of the cockroaches

Room, staff, location
7.3
When I arrived I was told that my room was currently not available and I was brought into one of there other hotels, which was very nearby. My room was so beautiful, the view amazing, I was so happy. When I wanted to use the toilet one more time before going to bed, I opened the door and saw 8 - 10 big cockroaches all over the floor. Some of them ran straight into the room, which was very unpleasant and prevented me from getting any sleep. During the day and early evening everything was fine when I used the bathroom then. It's so sad as I would've been so happy with everything, but cockroaches should really be a no-go for a hotel like this. If they get rid of that problem I would always stay there again.
Report this review
Rasika D. Solo travelers Sri Lanka, June 6, 2015
"MY SECOND HOME IN THE WORLD"

Location, people, clean room
10
i missed this place. i loved it. unfortunatly i have leave otherwise i staying ever in this lovely family hotel. i can't understand about the people leaved nagative riviwes about this such a nice guest house, may be they made a mistake or they should stay at 07 stars hotel, better not choose the guest houses. The owner's wife really friendly lady she chat with me long time. she's english also very good. i can't wait to come back my second home really easygoing place. HIGHLY RECCOMENDED.
Report this review
Rasika D. Solo travelers Sri Lanka, June 6, 2015
"MY SECOND HOME IN THE WORLD"

Location, people, clean room
10
I really enjoyed stayed this lovely family run guest house, really friendly people i ever met in sri lanka. thee ower's wife is super friendly she chat with me long time.and she speak good english tooo. really eas going place, i don't understand why peoples are leaved nagative reviwes for this such a nice guest house, i wish that people should stay 07 STAR HOTELS, not choose the guest houses. if you want feel guest house feeling and really friendly people this is the place for you. and also if you like real srilankan food this is the place you can have very reasonable price, please don't hesitate to asked the owner's wife, she'll answer any time. I can't wait to go back this place and staying longer. HIGHLY RECCOMENDED!!!
Report this review
1 - 10 of 151 reviews Next page
Fort Inn Guest House GalleFort Inn Guest House Galle - Standard RoomFort Inn Guest House Galle - Standard RoomFort Inn Guest House Galle - Standard RoomFort Inn Guest House Galle - Standard RoomFort Inn Guest House Galle - Standard RoomFort Inn Guest House Galle - Standard RoomFort Inn Guest House Galle - Standard RoomFort Inn Guest House Galle - Standard RoomFort Inn Guest House Galle - Standard RoomFort Inn Guest House Galle - Standard RoomFort Inn Guest House Galle - Standard RoomFort Inn Guest House Galle - Standard- Pink RoomFort Inn Guest House Galle - Standard RoomFort Inn Guest House Galle - Deluxe RoomFort Inn Guest House Galle - Standard Room Sitting AreaFort Inn Guest House Galle - Deluxe Room Living AreaFort Inn Guest House Galle - BathroomFort Inn Guest House Galle - Deluxe Room BathroomFort Inn Guest House Galle - BathroomFort Inn Guest House Galle - RestaurantFort Inn Guest House Galle - TV RoomFort Inn Guest House Galle - Sitting areaFort Inn Guest House Galle - Balcony/TerraceFort Inn Guest House Galle - Reception areaFort Inn Guest House Galle - View from room balconyFort Inn Guest House Galle - LobbyFort Inn Guest House Galle - Top room balconyFort Inn Guest House Galle - Sign boardFort Inn Guest House Galle - Top balconyFort Inn Guest House Galle - Top roomFort Inn Guest House Galle - Tea & coffee making in room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C01