Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Fortuna Boat Hotel

Szent Istvan park, 13. Újlipótváros - Angyalföld - Margitsziget, Budapest, Hungary 1137

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.7

based on
29 reviews

12 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.0
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
6.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.7
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
7.9
All reviews (29)
Sort by:
Stephen B. Groups United Kingdom, September 29, 2015
Nice experience but too far from the centre

It's on a freaking boat.
8
Room was cleaner than expected breakfast was great. Location is the only downfall. But there is a Trầm near by.
Report this review
Katrine N. Families with older children Denmark, July 16, 2014
Fantastic view at Donau and Budapest

Placed at the Donau with fantastic view from the grill terrace, a really nice retreat after a long day easy to access by public transport
7
Report this review
Kaloian K. Couples Bulgaria, June 17, 2014
Nice place! Great experience

Yes, this is a boat, but good enough with real river view.
8.7
We stayed 3 days in superior room No 202. This is the best room on the boat - large enough with best view. Good cleanliness. Polite staff. Good breakfast. Good WiFi. Hotel has good location - approx. 1,5km to Parliament (10-15 min walk) I'm really happy of your stay and honestly recommend this hotel.
Report this review
Katarzyna B. Couples Poland, May 21, 2014
Great hotel if you need it just to sleep there!

Price, Hotel Condition/Cleanliness, Value for Money
7
Nice and quiet hotel, maybe not the best location, but definitely value for money! Small but very nice and clean rooms, friendly staff, regular breakfast buffet. We spent only three nights there, and it's perfect for a stay that long. Obviously, you can't open the window, which makes it difficult in 30 degrees, even there is a/c in every room (doesn't really help much). Shame, it was our anniversary, so we booked a room with double bed, we got to single beds and after asking to switch rooms, they told us "sorry, we are totally booked, but tomorrow we can put your beds together".. well, i can do it myself. Apparently not a great booking system, cause we did book this room couple months ago, and we didn't get what we asked for... but it's not a big deal really, and except that, we are really glad we chose that hotel.
Report this review
Milan M. Solo travelers Hungary, June 18, 2013
Helpfull staff, great breakfast!

The staff were very helpful with the late check-in and very early breakfast (and also to arrange a few other thing)
9.3
Report this review
Nicholas C. Couples United States of America, August 23, 2012
Pleasant Unusaly stay on a boatbl

Nice setting
8.7
Short walk to center of Budapest. Tram to center nearby buy tickets at newspaper stand. Buy Hop on hop off tickers at hotel.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Cheaper to buy hop on hop off tickets on boat
Report this review
Yao X. Couples China, June 17, 2012
breakfast is perfect,but room is damp

breakfast is perfect
6.7
not very good location, the room was cold and damp. The Baggage-room is Convenient. But the breakfest is so perfeck, that we are very satisfied.
Report this review
Frank B. Couples Australia, May 25, 2012
Picturesque location but a tired old hotel

Location on the Danube, good breakfasts.
6.7
we had two adjacent cabins on this boat hotel, each with the same features and problems. ventilation was a problem; the windows could not be opened and the airconditioner did not cool, merely pumped in the warm air from the outside. the mini fridges did not work either, food we placed in them was spoilt. otherwise this quaint boat hotel would have been ok. the bathrooms, although small, were clean, and there was ample hot water. staff were courteous but not helpful in fixing problems, though they must have been aware of them.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The houses of Parliament (Országháza) is within walking distance (10 min.). There is a metro station there. The Chain Bridge is just a little further from there walk across it to get to the Buda side, there are walking path up to the castle precinct and Fishermen's Bastion Approx.5 minutes walk from the hotel the #2 tram line starts, it takes you to Liberty Bridge (Szabadság Híd) and a huge covered market (Vásárcsarnok 1, on the Pest side) where you can buy almost anything. If you go across to the Buda side it is worth walking up to the Citadella (with a huge statue of Liberty on top) for he best panoramic views of Budapest.
Report this review
Nigel G. Solo travelers United Kingdom, May 24, 2012
A convenient friendly hotel on the Danube

sitting on the deck watching the world go by.
8.3
a rather small room with good shower and ample size toilet area.this is on a boat so the room size is smaller than a hotels. the air condition unit was adequate but as no opening windows the room was always on the warm side. the breakfast lounge is very nice serving a good selection of dishes both hot and cold with a good selection of fresh fruit, bread and cakes. the hotel offered a friendly welcome both in the hostel area (below stairs) and upstairs in the hotel area i have stayed in both. handy for the main tram line 4and 6 and the bars and restaraunts. only a five minute walk from the tram stop and ten minutes from the nyugati railway station.
Report this review
Darren B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 12, 2012
Great little hotel, unbeatable at the price.

Sleeping on the Danube, efficient and friendly staff, pleasant restaurant, quiet location near major train station, cosy cabin.
9
What a fantastic feeling, at the end of a long day's sightseeing, to come back to your cosy little cabin on the water. I loved staying here because I'm hopelessly romantic about boats and because the staff were so helpful and kind, despite my turning up at reception after a long delayed flight from Luton looking as though I'd been dragged to Budapest through some fields. The few criticisms I have are that the bedding could be more generous - I found it hard to stay under my duvet - and the shower in the bathroom was fixed to the wall at a forward angle so it sprayed at me rather than over me. But I can't complain. I got a hot shower, fresh towels, a clean, cosy cabin with a river view and a good breakfast every morning for $30 a night. One of my more memorable stays, and for all the right reasons.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Walk, walk, walk.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 12 reviews
Fortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - The boatFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - ExteriorFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - ViewFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - ViewFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - ExteriorFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - SurroundingsFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - Balcony/TerraceFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - Breakfast roomFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - RestaurantFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - RestaurantFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - TerraceFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - Meeting RoomFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - ViewFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - ViewFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - ViewFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - ViewFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - RestaurantFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - RestaurantFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - TerraceFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - RestaurantFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - RestaurantFortuna Boat Hotel Budapest - Breakfast room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B01