Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Foto Hotel

218/9 Kata – Saiyuan Road, A. Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand 83100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.4

based on 1128 reviews

423 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.3
Location
7.7
Staff Performance
8.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.9
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1128)
Sort by:
Jeffrey D. Couples Australia, November 4, 2013
An unhappy hotel

The WOW factor on entering the room, the view over Kata Noi, and the pool area were top features.
5.7
There is no doubt that the room design has the X-factor. But ... We stayed there 9 nights, 8 of them restless because the pillows were too huge, the beds too short, and the room has an industrial sized aircon that blows over the bed. The bed linen is just a bottom sheet and a doona fit for Hobart. So while the aircon made up its mind whether to send a hot blast or an Arctic blast, we alternated between sweating and freezing. The hotel gave us a free dinner voucher on arrival, which was very nice. We booked a table for 7pm for this dinner. The free dinner menu is a set menu, with about 4 choices for mains. But the waiter explained that they were missing ingredients for 3 of them, leaving just noodles available. So we asked for the normal menu. On that, every second item had a "finished" sticker on it. The waiter was unapologetic, that's just how it was. I've got new product next month, he said. So we left, never to return. The food and/or water hygeine around Kata is poor, I found. The Kata area is filled with tourists who appear miserable. There's no smiles, no joy. I'm sure this has an impact on Thai workers in shops and restaurants, because they are very standoffish and sometimes just rude, like almost throwing food at you in contempt. Unfortunately, some Foto Hotel staff follow this pattern. Some are lovely. At the Foto Hotel there is little laughter, for example, around the pool. The hotel is situated 5 or 600 metres up a steep hill up from Kata Beach. The hill works against the hotel, and they need to do better to negate it. All in all, it was a different experience, but our stay was probably 4 or 5 days too long for this hotel.
Report this review
Ying Y. Groups Singapore, October 27, 2013
Relaxing boutique hotel perched on hilltop

Very well designed with a very thoughtful end-at-1pm breakfast service, spectacular view from pool and huge guest room.
7.3
We thoroughly enjoyed our all-girls getaway at foto hotel that is tucked away on the hilltop. Perfect guest rooms, spectacular pool, awesome breakfast, free yakult and jellies in mini bar, thoughtful shower facilities for those who need to catch a late flight, friendly staff.... and many more plus points about this hotel. While many might find the location on the hilltop a trouble, we felt that being "stuck" in the hotel allowed us the enjoy the property. Only minus point about this hotel is the small F&B option - at the end of our 2nd day, we felt that we had exhausted the entire hotel food menu. This said, we will definitely come back!
Report this review
Santima D. Couples Thailand, October 23, 2013
nice hotel but look too nice in photo

design, clean, big bear
5.3
overall is OK but i did expect more for this hotel the photo look a lot more nicer than real place the location is like the hotel located in the wood with construction far from beach nothing delicious to eat. ok to take 10 pictures and show to your friends the rest not worth for money
Report this review
Wiriyoung T. Couples Thailand, October 16, 2013
Great Stay

Lovely hotel helpful staff nice view from balcony
9
great stay with free wifi and mini bar
Report this review
Katachana P. Families with young children Thailand, October 15, 2013
Very comfortable, perfect for relaxation.

Clean,Comfortable,Relax
8
Booked through agoda.Driving to the hotel to confirm your accommodation.
Report this review
Sharon N. Couples Singapore, October 13, 2013
Secret Hideaway / Energizing Retreat

Room Design / Free Mini Bar / Jacuzzi on the Balcony
8.7
Report this review
Shahrin I. Solo travelers Malaysia, October 12, 2013
nice with a few glitches

swimming pool. outdoor bathtub. big bed.
5
in-room service menu is literally on the tv. so you have to toggle up the remote control to order. menu in the restaurant has more options. or better, eat out. 5-7mins walk to beach side. room is nice and clean. bring your ipod. they have a nice ipod dock speaker. bed is huge but it's hard as rock. comes with fluffy pillows to compensate your aching back in the morning and maybe they purposely put a hard rock mattress to indirectly upsell their massage and spa. their massage and spa is expensive and not that great. just take a few mins walk to the one across the road called santi spa (belong to another hotel). it's cheaper and nice. well, the cheapest would be to walk down the beach side (10mins walk). from your room to the lobby, i need to call the reception to send a buggy car to be picked up. every time. could be a hassle to some people. personally, i don't mind to take a long maze of stairs up and down. it's good for my calves! room comes with breakfast. it's nice that they extend the breakfast service till 1pm. your breakfast comes in set and will be served cold. yep. that's right cold. sausages. bacon. potatoes. all cold. the only thing that is warm is eggs. my advise is to tell the waiter that you want a hot breakfast. everything hot. (that's what i did on my second day). then you'll have a normal breakfast. enjoy. oh yeah, they serve nice coffee. wifi does not work at all. it keep disconnecting every two breaths. just go buy local prepaid sim card with unlimited data. hotel swimming pool is great and the sunset view is to die for. overall, this hotel full of bell and whistles. looks nice but there is so much room for improvements. definitely great value for money but i wouldn't go back again.
Report this review
David G. Couples United States of America, October 11, 2013
Nice view & rooms but average hotel

Nice View, Nice Pool, Nice Room
6
The Hotel rooms are nice and the views are great. However, that is about all I can say about this place. The best comparison I would give, is that it is like a revolving restaurant in a space needle or something similar. Most revolving restaurants in high places have great views but poor food. This place has a great views but not much else. No atmosphere, Mediocre food, and it was all a bit pretentious. You're not really in the best location if you wish to walk anywhere either, although you can walk down the hill and get some services, but it is a steep hill so be prepared to sweat a bit on your climb back up. I would recommend staying someplace else and going to the view point or view restaurant up the street. You will most likely get better service and you will get just as good of view.
Report this review
Benjamin M. Couples Singapore, October 10, 2013
Great concept and location, Poor execution

Views of Andaman sea, Clean and spacious room, Well decorated and thought out hotel layout
8
The Foto Hotel is well located on a hillside perch in Kata beach, guaranteeing fantastic panoramas of the Andaman sea and the headlands of southern Phuket. The hotel is newly furnished and very nicely decorated. However, there are many niggling problems connected with the high tech systems that the hotel has implemented. During our short trip, we experienced two blackouts, an electronic door lock that could not open, and multiple problems with the integrated entertainment system on the TV. We were supposed to be able to order room service from the TV but that didn't work. The WiFi signal dropped from time to time and we couldn't reconnect until a few hours later. There were very few channels on the cable and of the even fewer English channels, some didn't work. There was no DVD player in the room and the only movies available were those showing on the sole cable channel or the very limited choice of movies from the entertainment system which cost 300 baht a pop. We were there during the rainy season so the poor in-room entertainment options was keenly felt. I really do like this hotel and I hope that with better maintenance of their equipment, it can fix these faults and become a much better hotel.
Report this review
Astria L. Couples Singapore, October 5, 2013
Nice Hotel But Terrible Service

The Bed, The Room Size, The Design
6
Worst service ever. First time we stayed at a hotel in Kata (stayed mostly in Karon & Patong). We chose Foto Hotel because it was new and had relatively good reviews. We wanted a few nights of quiet relaxed moments after bustling Patong, but sadly, it turned out otherwise. Firstly, the sea view was not fantastic. You could see the sea be it whether you booked the deluxe sea view room or the deluxe ozone room. Both the rooms were exactly the same, same size and same design, except that the tub for the sea view room was outside on the balcony while the tub for the ozone room was in the bathroom itself. A tub out in the open is fine if there was privacy, but people could walk past you on the green patch of grass that was outside everyone's balcony. That aside, the rooms were nicely designed and were clean, modern and spacious. The bed was a definitely added bonus as it was really comfy. Would be great if they had a DVD player in the room. They charge 300 baht for movies on demand. And lastly, the reason why I and many others would not come back again is because of the terrible service. The receptionist could be on the phone for 10 mins while we were right in front of her waiting to check in. And as she showed no sign of when she was going to get off the phone, (no gesture or telling us to wait or something), we just waited stupidly for her till she was done. The staffs were always talking among themselves, and everyone always had to wait for them to wrap up their conversations before they attended to us. That said, they weren't outright rude, but they just didn't bother to nod or smile. And it definitely wasn't a good experience being stuck in a lobby waiting for the rain to stop with hostile staff. Breakfast was ok (choose 1 out of 3 sets). The room itself was value for money. But we won't be back again unless there was a really good offer as there're too many hotels in Phuket which offer better service and rooms at similar prices.
Report this review
Previous page 181 - 190 of 423 reviews Next page
Foto Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolFoto Hotel Phuket - ViewFoto Hotel Phuket - Memories HallFoto Hotel Phuket - Memories HallFoto Hotel Phuket - Silhouette PoolFoto Hotel Phuket - Silhouette Pool Foto Hotel Phuket - Silhouette PoolFoto Hotel Phuket - Tiffin MamaFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - Meeting RoomFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - Meeting RoomFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - Bokeh SpaFoto Hotel Phuket - Bokeh SpaFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - EntranceFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - ExteriorFoto Hotel Phuket - EntranceFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - LobbyFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - ExteriorFoto Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomFoto Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomFoto Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - ViewFoto Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolFoto Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomFoto Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomFoto Hotel Phuket - ExteriorFoto Hotel Phuket - ViewFoto Hotel Phuket - ViewFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - ViewFoto Hotel Phuket - Recreational FacilitiesFoto Hotel Phuket - ReceptionFoto Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomFoto Hotel Phuket - InteriorFoto Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomFoto Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolFoto Hotel Phuket - EntranceFoto Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolFoto Hotel Phuket - Pub/LoungeFoto Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomFoto Hotel Phuket - InteriorFoto Hotel Phuket - ViewFoto Hotel Phuket - EntranceFoto Hotel Phuket - ReceptionFoto Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomFoto Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolFoto Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomFoto Hotel Phuket - InteriorFoto Hotel Phuket - Executive LoungeFoto Hotel Phuket - FacilitiesFoto Hotel Phuket - FacilitiesFoto Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolFoto Hotel Phuket - ViewFoto Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolFoto Hotel Phuket - FacilitiesFoto Hotel Phuket - RestaurantFoto Hotel Phuket - Floor Plans


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B01