Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1179 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 7.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.9
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for Money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 7.7
Sort by

May L. from United Kingdom
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Beautiful boutique hotel but quite out of the way
Outdoor jacuzzi, beautiful pool, lovely room
Beautiful boutique hotel with interesting photography touches. They also gave a free starter at the restaurant and short massage. Really loved the views from the pool and would definitely come back! The only draw back is that the hotel is up a steep hill and unless you like trekking, don't plan on being able to walk to and from town to the hotel. If you're planning to just relax in the hotel though, then it's fantastic!
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Rachel G. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
Wonderful hotel with attentive staff.
Rooftop pool/playground. Most comfortable bed we've slept in! Friendly staff who are always smiling.
Perfect! Room had a real wow factor. Views were incredible! Spa treatments were very relaxing. Food was great. Up quite a steep hill but that makes the views even better and free shuttle is available to and from beach.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

james W. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 12 nights in November 2013
great hotel, lovely roof top pool, nice breakfast,
pool, design, bed
great stay for just over two weeks. lovely hotel from top to bottom with friendly attentive staff, good food and selection of drinks and very comfortable chilled pool area. offers stunning views. Negatives would be the amount of stairs as the lift only goes between the reception and pool area. and the hill which you have to walk up to access the hotel, but the walking is worth the stay at the hotel.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Audrey T. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
Comfortable hotel with very beautiful scenery
Quiet, Spacious, Good View
The Hotel is located mid-hill which can overlook the sea if you are having an Ocean view room. Walking from the main road is really a challenge as it is an uphill walk of more than 20mins and the surrounding is very dark at night. Hotel has a very nice Theme whereby every corner of the hotel is a photo-taking point whereby you can take very nice pictures. I like the serenity of the surrounding and the spacious room. Other than that, this hotel is too far away from the beach and any "civilization" and you won't bother to get out anywhere after you have returned to the hotel.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Neill E. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in November 2013
Comfortable hotel, great size room, friendly staff
The design and feel was very modern. The room was a really good size, the bed was massive and there were loads of features. The pool is lovely.
We had a great stay, really enjoyed it. The minor issues were that the wifi dropped off a lot and the hotel is on top of a steep hill, great for the view but not so good for the walk home, however the transport is dirt cheap. On the other hand the location also means that it is quiet and not on top of everything.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

santima D. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2013
nice hotel but look too nice in photo
design, clean, big bear
overall is OK but i did expect more for this hotel the photo look a lot more nicer than real place the location is like the hotel located in the wood with construction far from beach nothing delicious to eat. ok to take 10 pictures and show to your friends the rest not worth for money
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Thitiporn O. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2013
Wonderful experience
Design great, Details oriented, Delighted service
If you love quiet place and love taking photo, you can find it at Foto hotel. Avoid haging around at Lobby area at noon time and evening time, quite busy. Great food with good view. Pool deck always reserved, have to come early. Great room feather, great facilities, detail oriented Great experience Take time for check out, rececption counter seem crowded
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Madel R. from Philippines
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
must try hotel/resort experience
pool, lounge, ambiance
PROs - modern boutique hotel - best room ever (massive bed, complimentary daily snacks, toilet/bathroom was nice) - yoga friendly garden in front of room - tummy filling breakfast/early lunch choices - rooftop pool and lounge area are the best features of the hotel CONs -location! hotel is located at hillside, too exhausting to walk up from town and too expensive to take taxi downtown - service was not consistent - room was quite far to the lobby
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Jeffrey D. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 10 nights in October 2013
An unhappy hotel
The WOW factor on entering the room, the view over Kata Noi, and the pool area were top features.
There is no doubt that the room design has the X-factor. But ... We stayed there 9 nights, 8 of them restless because the pillows were too huge, the beds too short, and the room has an industrial sized aircon that blows over the bed. The bed linen is just a bottom sheet and a doona fit for Hobart. So while the aircon made up its mind whether to send a hot blast or an Arctic blast, we alternated between sweating and freezing. The hotel gave us a free dinner voucher on arrival, which was very nice. We booked a table for 7pm for this dinner. The free dinner menu is a set menu, with about 4 choices for mains. But the waiter explained that they were missing ingredients for 3 of them, leaving just noodles available. So we asked for the normal menu. On that, every second item had a "finished" sticker on it. The waiter was unapologetic, that's just how it was. I've got new product next month, he said. So we left, never to return. The food and/or water hygeine around Kata is poor, I found. The Kata area is filled with tourists who appear miserable. There's no smiles, no joy. I'm sure this has an impact on Thai workers in shops and restaurants, because they are very standoffish and sometimes just rude, like almost throwing food at you in contempt. Unfortunately, some Foto Hotel staff follow this pattern. Some are lovely. At the Foto Hotel there is little laughter, for example, around the pool. The hotel is situated 5 or 600 metres up a steep hill up from Kata Beach. The hill works against the hotel, and they need to do better to negate it. All in all, it was a different experience, but our stay was probably 4 or 5 days too long for this hotel.
Reviewed November 07, 2013

Ying Y. from Singapore
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Relaxing boutique hotel perched on hilltop
Very well designed with a very thoughtful end-at-1pm breakfast service, spectacular view from pool and huge guest room.
We thoroughly enjoyed our all-girls getaway at foto hotel that is tucked away on the hilltop. Perfect guest rooms, spectacular pool, awesome breakfast, free yakult and jellies in mini bar, thoughtful shower facilities for those who need to catch a late flight, friendly staff.... and many more plus points about this hotel. While many might find the location on the hilltop a trouble, we felt that being "stuck" in the hotel allowed us the enjoy the property. Only minus point about this hotel is the small F&B option - at the end of our 2nd day, we felt that we had exhausted the entire hotel food menu. This said, we will definitely come back!
Reviewed October 30, 2013