Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Friendly Backpackers Hostel

9 Nguyen Huu Huan Street, Hoan Kiem District, Old Quarter, Hanoi, Vietnam

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.2

based on 105 reviews

59 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.6
Room Comfort/Standard
6.8
Food/Dining
6.5
All reviews (105)
Sort by:
Benny L. Groups Taiwan, February 12, 2016
Not very good
3.7
Poor
Sarah W. Solo travelers Australia, February 9, 2016
Nice place, just not amazing during Tet

Pearl, the location and WiFi
8
Pearl was super nice. Dorms were up several flights of narrow stairs, so if you have knee problems, reconsider. But gives you a good view of the street. They had other staff on during Tet (because everyone deserves a break!) who barely spoke English, and the hot water broke and they couldn't fix it during Tet (but they definitely have hot water, because it started working again the day I left!). The location is really good. Just on the outskirts of Old Town, so really easy to find locally priced delicious food, but close enough to it so you can see it very easily. Also, lots of tour buses will pick you up from outside the hostel, even the big buses going south. One thing I would mention is that if you are on a small budget, shop around for tours. While I loved the one they sold me for Halong Bay, it was $US115, and you can get way cheaper tours than that. WiFi in the Dorms is good enough for YouTube and I had an hour and a half video Skype talk with no drop outs. Beds are quite soft and I loved them, but if you prefer hard beds, it's not for you. Overall I enjoyed my stay, and would recommend it.
Lora S. Solo travelers United States of America, December 28, 2014
Not clean

Location, staff was nice
6.7
Tan H. Groups Singapore, December 9, 2014
Bedbugs

Good location
4
The only good things that can be said about the hotel is that their location is really good, right next to the famous old quarter shopping district. Also the staff were pretty helpful, helping us book our train tickets. Unfortunately one of the beds we booked had bedbugs and my friend now carries the bite scars all over his body. The noise from the traffic was pretty bad at night as well.
Dung N. Groups Vietnam, October 26, 2014
Cheap backpacker hostel

Near old quarter, friendly staff
6
Friendly staff and good location. The price is cheap but you can find better place around with good room. Breakfast is just egg and bread.
Dung N. Groups Vietnam, October 25, 2014
Normal hostel

Friendly staff, good location, old hostel
6
The staff are friendly and helpful when you need help. It's have good location where near old quarter. The only negative of this hostel is having bug bed in 2 rooms we stay
Mathias E. Solo travelers Denmark, May 2, 2014
Gets the job done.

Clean air in the dorm. Ventilated. Friendly staff.
7
Stayed for 4 nights. Nothing to complain about. Gets the job done.
Beth M. Groups United Kingdom, March 19, 2014
A Very Dissappointing Trip

Big beds, good location, cheap price
4
Firstly, when we arrived at the hostel we were moved to a different one a short walk away, yet still inconvienient. Hoan Kiem hostel provided a poor service for our stay. Mainly due to the shower leaking and getting all of our belongings wet and smelling of damp! Additionally, we were advised to book our Halong Bay trip by their staff which turned out to be awful. Definitely opt for the day trip rather than the simply dredfull overnight stay. Finally, as we also booked our buses under the staffs recommendation, when we arrived in Hue it was an absolute nightmare to catch our other bus to Hoi An, appearing to be a fault on the bus companys part.
Arianne P. Solo travelers United States of America, February 16, 2014
Clean & cheap

Blankets, locker, breakfast
7
Lampert R. Solo travelers Germany, January 6, 2014
good experience

nice dorm room . fast internet , helpful staff
9.7
This is a very nice small hostel to stay. The rooms were clean, with 6 beds and an own bathroom. Staff was really helpful and friendly. Rooms are quite cheap. Breakfast is included - and you was really fine. Hostel is located near to the town center. Would recommand the Hostel to everyone who's searching for a cheap and comfortable room.
1 - 10 of 59 reviews Next page
Friendly Backpackers Hostel HanoiFriendly Backpackers Hostel Hanoi - Guest RoomFriendly Backpackers Hostel Hanoi - Guest RoomFriendly Backpackers Hostel Hanoi - Guest RoomFriendly Backpackers Hostel Hanoi - Guest RoomFriendly Backpackers Hostel Hanoi - Guest RoomFriendly Backpackers Hostel Hanoi - Guest RoomFriendly Backpackers Hostel Hanoi - Guest RoomFriendly Backpackers Hostel Hanoi - Guest RoomFriendly Backpackers Hostel Hanoi - Guest RoomFriendly Backpackers Hostel Hanoi - BathroomFriendly Backpackers Hostel Hanoi - InteriorFriendly Backpackers Hostel Hanoi - InteriorFriendly Backpackers Hostel Hanoi - Entrance


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B08