Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.7

based on
1289 reviews

972 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (1289)
Sort by:
Timothy T. Couples South Africa, July 21, 2014
Very well looked after, thoughtful and caring.

Rooms, breakfast, ambiance
9
Very pleasant! Nice touches e.g. Quietly placed a birthday cake in the room as a surprise.
Report this review
Choi C. Groups United Kingdom, July 20, 2014
hotel stay in Colombo

background history, hermitage, close to the coast line
5.7
not bad, may not come again should no better F & B provided
Report this review
Richard J. Solo travelers United Kingdom, July 20, 2014
Central location steeped in history.

Location History View
6
Good, and only slightly affected by extensive renovations.
Report this review
Scott W. Solo travelers Australia, July 15, 2014
Quality hotel in superb location

Historic hotel wth traditional service.
8.3
I have stayed at the Galle Face a few times and the excellent service never changes. The older part of the hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment and the staff are doing a magnificent job maintaining normal day to day operation
Report this review
Wei K. Couples Malaysia, July 13, 2014
Aging Hotel, Clean Room, Good Location

Location, Cleanliness, Space
8
Clean rooms, spacious and great location. There is a food "market" right outside the hotel by the beach which serves cheap, authentic local food. The only issue faced was the bedsheet, pillow cover and blanket which seems to have been overwashed, causing them to be 'fury'.
Report this review
Anne S. Couples Australia, July 11, 2014
Did not feel welcomed at all

staff on the door and rooms were OK but other staff eg; behind the counter were not very friendly (first time we experiencend this in Sri Lanka) and certioanly not very accomodating.
4.7
Average or below. We had wonderful experiences in many Hotels throughout Sri Lanka but the Galle Face was not one of them. We were looking forward to spending our last night in Sri Lanka at the Galle Face and it certianly did not come close to meeting our expectations. Would not recommend this Hotel and would certainly not stay there again. Least friendly experience of our whole time in Sri Lanka.
Report this review
Thomas L. Business travelers United States of America, July 9, 2014
Class Act

The Comfort of a classic established hotel, the proffessional staff, the outside lounge
9.7
I booked the hotel based on being near a business function, I would gladly return for a holiday stay
Report this review
Vel S. Couples United States of America, July 2, 2014
excellent

all
10
service, courtesy
Report this review
Keith D. Solo travelers United Kingdom, July 2, 2014
Under renovation, but a comfortable short stay

Great location looking out to sea. Easy to access
7.3
I have stayed at this hotel many times. In the last stay the main outside section and outdoor dining area was closed and sealed off for renovation, though you can still sit at an outdoor bar by the pool to admire the sea view. I did not stay long enough for breakfast so cannot comment on the location for the breakfasts. My stay was very easy and comfortable, and I did not hear any sounds of renovation. With all the competition in Colombo and with the work going on, this hotel may be slightly over priced. But it works!
Report this review
Judith J. Solo travelers Australia, June 30, 2014
Great

location, old world ambience
9.7
It was charming.
Report this review
Previous page 91 - 100 of 972 reviews Next page
Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LibraryGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B07