Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.7
Based on 1348 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1348 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

Mudrikath M.
Maldives
April 27, 2015
Good
Location and view

Mudrikath M.
Maldives
April 27, 2015
Good
Good location and view

James W.
United Kingdom
April 24, 2015
Wonderful
staff, ambience, location
A wonderful change from the usual characterless corporate hotels that dominate these days. I just dont understand the less positive reviews on here about 'creaky floors' and old lifts. This place is like stepping back in time. Service, rooms, location, ambience - all are just perfect. We have also stayed in a very highly rated chain hotel in Colombo, and the Galle Face wins hands down. We will definitely return. It feels like a real luxury to be here, and it is no more expensive that the plastic chain hotels. Highly recommended.

adam H.
United Kingdom
April 17, 2015
Great stay
Beautiful hotel with great views and good staff
Couldn't have asked for anything more

Richard C.
United States
April 14, 2015
One of my favorite hotels. A slice of history.
Ambiance, pool, rooms
Truely an amazing and regal hotel. Old and colonial but the upkeep is excellent. The Hotel breaths a sence of pride and history. The salt water pool overlooking the Indian oceanbis special. I really love this hotel. The last time I stayed here was 17 years ago. I will always stay there if I come to Sri Lanka.

Julie H.
United Kingdom
April 13, 2015
A peaceful,characterful hotel in a lovely location
The architecture, Swimming pool, location,
Lovely relaxing stay. Very nice spa. Biggest pool we've ever had outdoors and deep too. Food a bit limited and expensive. Mostly excellent service just a bit slow around the pool dining area. Wonderful rooms with beautiful colonial style wood and marble but still very comfortable and luxurious.

Garry B.
Australia
April 11, 2015
Classic hotel from the British Raj
Character, staff and facilities.
This is a very special hotel and when the refurbishment of the other wings is complete it could rate amongst the best places to stay to relive times long gone without missing out on today's important comforts. Really enjoyed Galle Face and will be back soon!

isabelle S.
Belgium
April 06, 2015
1/3 only available for works Agoda didn't mention!
Location Pool view
We were quite surprised on arrival to discover that only 1/3 of the hotel was available because of works n progress. I understand that the oldest and more classic hotel of Colombo needs a complete make over here and then. But it was not what we paid for. Those informations were in the Gale Face website but not on the Agoda one! Nor did we receive an email to announce it. We felt desapointed and not very happy about our Agoda booking. A bit of a con!! We complained about it at the reception desk and they offered us a room with sea view and not thet noisy one behind the lift shaft that Agoda reserved for us. That to say, the staff, the pool, the buffet breakfast were excellent. We were pleased by the hotel. Not with Agoda. Another little disappointment was that we mention in an email that it was my husband birthday but they didn't made it special...

Jonathan G.
United States
April 05, 2015
Colonial hotel not yet spoiled by renovations
History, architecture, location

Caitlin C.
Canada
April 02, 2015
A perfect end to the trip
Staff, Service, Pool
After two weeks in Sri Lanka, the Galle Face Hotel was a perfect end to the trip. It was our big splurge at the end and it paid off well. The staff were wonderful and always on their toes to help! I really loved their museum room with the profiles on the previous notable guests who had stayed there, very interesting! Would definitely return!