Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.7

based on 1318 reviews

996 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (1318)
Sort by:
John M. Solo travelers Australia, October 21, 2014
Galle Face confusion

Location, a sense of history and well manitained rooms
8
Wonderful historic place but a little pricey and some significant confusion as to whethere I was entitled to breakfast or not. These sort of things should not happen in a hotel such as the Gall Face. Though I will probably stay there when next in Colombo.
Report this review
Xiaojuan J. Families with older children China, October 11, 2014
Great hotel

The location of this hotel is on the Galle face green, the building is elegant with a long histor. The room is big and comfortable, the pool is just besides the sea, it feels like swimming in the sea.
9.7
Report this review
Alan R. Couples United Kingdom, October 11, 2014
Avoid for now at least

Location, the sea-front bar, nothing else righnow
4.7
When you book through Agoda right now there's a vague sort of warning suggesting not all is perfect, without specifying anything. You can easily find out that serious restoration work is going on (until Q2 2015, we were told by one staff member) but we decided to give it a chance. Bad decision. The majestic old entrance hall and half of the hotel is now closed and the new entrance is badly signposted on a main road. Our driver missed it and had to go round the block again. Our room was stark, but not trendily so. It looked as though some mismatched furniture had been tossed in there, including a park bench of a sofa up against a wall. The tv was watchable neither from this "sofa" nor the bed, given the room arrangement. We were next to a service room that the staff went in and out of at all hours, talking loudly. And there was mould on the wall and ceiling. This was removed after my wife brought it to the manager's attention. But even at the Galle Face, I expected more for 175 dollars a night. This was a great disappointment. Maybe we'll try again when it's fully restored. Maybe.
Report this review
Xiaojuan J. Families with older children China, October 10, 2014
Great

The building is so elegant with wonderful see view. The hotel is a part of Colombo history.
9.7
Report this review
Roderick B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, October 6, 2014
colonial paradise

location, comfort friendly
8
My stay at the hotel was comfortable. I chose this hotel mainly for its location. However please note extensive works on the old section is been carried out. My only complaint was using the spa treatment. , which a total uncomfortable experience. Although I did complain to the manager, they were very apologetic and tried there best to deal with the issue. Most of the staff were very helpful and friendly.
Report this review
Nihal P. Couples Australia, September 28, 2014
The Grand Old Lady of Colombo

Friendly and helpful staff, good food, good ambience
7.3
Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel needs refurbishment to regain its past glory.
Report this review
Jiao B. Couples China, September 25, 2014
hope get bigger room next time

food nice .view nice.history nice.
9.3
ittle small room .little expensive.
Report this review
Khirul F. Families with older children United Kingdom, September 23, 2014
Fantastic holiday stay

location, accommodation, views
10
Absolutely fantastic. Only complaint I have to make is there was no drivers quarters unlike the hotel I stayed in Kandy.
Report this review
Sharon L. Groups Singapore, September 21, 2014
very good

nice environment and good breakfast
9.7
Did not comply to our request for connecting room
Report this review
Marc G. Solo travelers Sweden, September 18, 2014
GFH - stay

Location, Service, History
8.7
Perfectly located within a stone throw to all areas on Colombo. Very friendly and attentive staff. Looking forward to return on my next visit. Note that the hotel is undergoing an exciting refurbishment.
Report this review
Previous page 91 - 100 of 996 reviews Next page
Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Terrace at The Traveller’s BarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Traveller’s Bar TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The ChequerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Traveller’s BarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Verandah (First Level)Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - View from Pool Bar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Pool with Sea ViewsGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing Main EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Conference Center LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom 3Galle Face Hotel Colombo - The LibraryGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Conservatory Linking Grand Ballroom & Junior BallroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom with New Lighting SystemGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Ballroom with New Lighting SystemGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior BallroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Library Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference FacilitiesGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The 1864Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant’s MuralGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Pool Bar at NightGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Croquet Lawn with South Galle Face Hotel Colombo - ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom 2Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - reading porchGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Library BooksGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Corridor Connecting the North and South WingGalle Face Hotel Colombo - AntiquitiesGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing - Premier RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Overlooking the OceanGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Landmark RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - superior roomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Main Lobby in the North WingGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Palm Lounge Galle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Palm LoungeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Lobby with MuralGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing - Second Floor LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Main Lobby


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C04