Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - South Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Library
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

from 1250 reviews

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1250)
Sort by:
Gaurav J. Business travelers India, April 26, 2014
private beach

private beach
5.3
Room was ok. Beach was good. No other facilities.
Report this review
Carolyn R. Families with older children United Kingdom, April 25, 2014
Over priced with unresponsive staff

The pool, the sap and the location
6
We had to move room twice as they lost the booking , showed us a room overlooking a garbage skip then one the size of a postage stamp. Half the hotel is closed for refurbishment so the terrace is dusty .We were given the wrong bill at lunch so check ! We had to constantly chase up our drinks order. Check in was slightly chaotic. Overall disappointing with poor service.
Report this review
Zollkefflee D. Couples Singapore, April 21, 2014
pleasant

The room facing the sea, the breakfast spread, and the limousine service
9.7
pleasant and I will come back after the renovation.
Report this review
Ezequiel T. Couples New Zealand, April 20, 2014
Old Colonial Hotel, Charm and great location

Location, Rooms, Restaurants
8.7
Very nice room with all comforts (except for a very old TV), good air con, great bathroom, good pool on the ocean, fantastic restaurants, inexpensive for a 5 star meal. Truly a great experience, a oasis of charm in a poor city with little to write about.
Report this review
Nare P. Solo travelers South Korea, April 14, 2014
A nice Castle hotel but under renovaation

Breakfast, spacious bedroom and bathroom, friendly staff
6.7
1. Appreciated to the staff who helped me to catch the early morning train time with the follow up call and taxi arrangement. 2. Breakfast is very enjoyable 3. Bedroom and bathroom is as spacious as suite 4. Good price, but didn't inform me it was under renovation. Half of building is under construction
Report this review
Mary H. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 13, 2014
The Galle Face is wonderful

location of sea, salt pool and great breakfast
10
Report this review
David F. Families with young children United Kingdom, April 12, 2014
Very dissapointing

location
5
Very dissapointing, currently being refurbished, we should have been told. All the gardens were closed, only one small patio and restaurant were open, but the price was the same.
Report this review
Richard P. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 6, 2014
Historic hotel but currently under renovation

Architecture, design, location
9
The only disappointment was the renovations, but it's not just the Galle Face, half the city seems to be under reconstruction at the moment. The work effectively put two thirds of this historic hotel off limits and the reduced numbers of rooms available also meant I couldn't get a full sea view. But the noise hardly carried to the part of the hotel that remained open and the architecture, calm atmosphere, tastefully furnished room, sea-facing swimming pool and excellent breakfast were a joy. It was easy enough to get to other places in the city by simply walking out and flagging down one of the many three-wheelers that circulate constantly.
Report this review
Vicki F. Couples Australia, March 29, 2014
2 days in Colombo

Have room, excellent staff, good good
8.7
We had booked 2 days at the hotel to relax before returning home and that's what we exactly did. We spent the days around the pool, had dinner one night in the restaurant 1864 we had wonderful western and Sri Lankan food excellent service. Next night we headed down to the Cinnamon a Grand to the buffet as with only 1 restaurant open during renovation at the Galle face., this was only a 5 min walk. Hotel let us use the spa facilities after check out at noon to shower before our midnight flight home. Took a hotel organised taxi to airport for 3,500 rupees.. This hotel is a old worldly type hotel and very charmi with lots of character. Another interesting thing to do is walk along the beach front promenade to look at all the little booths at night selling their seafood.. We were not game enough to eat from them but they looked enticing.
Report this review
Alexander M. Couples United Kingdom, March 28, 2014
Hotel under major renovation - very disappointed

Sunset drink, good restaurant , reasonably priced
5
Very poor because of rebuilding work had at least 50% of hotel and facilities closed. Should have been warned at time of booking by Agoda!
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - South Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BeachGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LibraryGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B08