Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite with balcony Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - South Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Spa
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Library Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Room
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

from 1236 reviews

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1236)
Sort by:
Susan K. Couples United Kingdom, March 14, 2014
Good considering extensive renovations

Location, atmosphere and staff
7.3
It was , as far as possible "business as usual" considering over two thirds of the hotel was under extensive reconstruction. Discovered on check out day that our room, although classified as "superior" was about the smallest on the floor and was frankly a bit cramped although bathroom was spacious. Staff were highly trained, very attentive without being condescending and full of smiles. Breakfast was definitely a cut above other hotels of this calibre in Sri Lanka- and not just because sparkling wine was included (although not that obvious!. But at the moment if you want to stay here you must accept that there is daytime noise (but they don't start too early!).
Richard B. Couples New Zealand, March 12, 2014
great stay

the building/pool/location
9.3
Wonderful stay at Galle Face Hotel.colonial style hotel lots of history here,under total renovation at the moment so only one wing open,but it was just fine.The pool is very good 30m long I think,not good for kids.Rooms were large enough and fitted out well.nice pool bar with snacks.Good breakfast buffet.The staff in the main dining area not really on to it,to many supervisors and not enough staff.Next door to the hotel but also owned by it is The In On The Green an english style pub with good tap beer/snacks/sports tv and happy hour
Simran S. Families with older children Singapore, March 7, 2014
Best hotel ever!

The comfort and clean
9
Per M. Solo travelers Norway, February 24, 2014
Pleasant. The hotel has a unique location

Location, old world charm, friendly staff
9
The hotel runs with limited capacity due to major renovation. That means that the spectacular outdoor areas are temporarily limited. Staff was very attentive. Food in restaurant does not match the level of hotel and prices.
Terry C. Couples Australia, February 4, 2014
Wonderful

Staff ,food, and the hotel itself
9.7
Wei L. Families with older children Singapore, February 3, 2014
Excellent Stay

Location, ambience, comfort
9.3
Very nice surroundings. Great view of the sea. Very nice alfresco area facing the sea and there is the novelty of a sea water swimming pool. Only downside is that there are many crows around the outdoor restaurant area. One of them swooped down and took part of my sandwich.
Christopher F. Families with older children United States of America, February 1, 2014
Lovely historic hotel. Under rennovation!

Living history. Seaside pool/garden. Central location.
7.3
A lovely hotel with a rich history. Its greatest strength is the garden and pool area that sits right at the edge of the Indian Ocean. Great for sundowners, and also to keep kids entertained for a few afternoons. Also a very nice buffet breakfast. We had two complaints: (1) an entire wing is under renovation -- a project that will probably stretch through 2014; and (2) the staff were not very attentive. Getting anything requires persistence, and we were a little upset when the hotel van dumped us in the middle of nowhere after we showed no interest in visiting what was certainly a gem shop run by his sibling/cousin/brother.
Anne M. Couples United States of America, January 29, 2014
fabulous breakfast, lovely grand hotel

breakfast, nice attentive staff
9.7
overall a really great hotel, even though half of it is closed for renovations, we did not have any noise or issues from construction. our room was nice with a beautiful bathroom. the best thing was the breakfast, which was a lavish buffet. colombo has little of interest to most tourists, and we would have been better off just skipping it. although we did not like the rest of sri lanka either, which we found to be overpriced and not great value. i wish we had skipped the entire country. we cut our trip short and went back to thailand.
Andrew W. Couples United Kingdom, January 26, 2014
A touch of luxury

location, swimming pool and breakfast
8.7
The hotel is situated in the best possible position next to the sea, no other hotel has this position. There is a lovely breeze at all times so it takes away all the dust and grime from the city. The hotel will be fantastic when the building work has finished but although you could hear the workman it did not spoil the 2 nights we were there. The bar next to the pool serves excellent food not expensive. The restaurant in the evening served a good selection of food but we still prefered to sit outside and eat by the pool with the great views and breeze.
Montip G. Solo travelers Thailand, January 26, 2014
hotel with ocen view and antique wood furniture

Spacious room, antique wood furniture and a well-equipped whirlpool bathtub.
7.7
My stay was very smooth and the hotel provide suitable accomodations. The local transportation was convenient at the hotel counter. The wholte room and facilities was spacious. I like the old-style wooden bed and the furniture. Tea choices offered were excellent taste of Ceylon tea!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite with balconyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - South Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BeachGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LibraryGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A08