Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.7
Based on 1348 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1348 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

Ole K. from Norway
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in November 2014
legendary and modern
service, location, the food
as always i feel at home, the staff is exellent and helpfull. Next time Galle Face Hotel will be my first choise
Reviewed November 20, 2014

Marii H. from Japan
Groups
Stayed one night in November 2014
brilliant stay
good food, nice location and friendly staff
Very satisfied only thing l notice that the bath room has some problem, whole bath room flooded after having shower. Othewise good :-)
Reviewed November 18, 2014

WU H. from China
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Galle Face Hotel
location/beach/breakfast
generally very good
Reviewed November 17, 2014

Nishan R. from Sri Lanka
Couples
Stayed one night in August 2014
Great hotel
Staff, meals, room
Overall great hotel
Reviewed November 05, 2014

Alan R. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Avoid for now at least
Location, the sea-front bar, nothing else righnow
When you book through Agoda right now there's a vague sort of warning suggesting not all is perfect, without specifying anything. You can easily find out that serious restoration work is going on (until Q2 2015, we were told by one staff member) but we decided to give it a chance. Bad decision. The majestic old entrance hall and half of the hotel is now closed and the new entrance is badly signposted on a main road. Our driver missed it and had to go round the block again. Our room was stark, but not trendily so. It looked as though some mismatched furniture had been tossed in there, including a park bench of a sofa up against a wall. The tv was watchable neither from this "sofa" nor the bed, given the room arrangement. We were next to a service room that the staff went in and out of at all hours, talking loudly. And there was mould on the wall and ceiling. This was removed after my wife brought it to the manager's attention. But even at the Galle Face, I expected more for 175 dollars a night. This was a great disappointment. Maybe we'll try again when it's fully restored. Maybe.
Reviewed October 15, 2014

Xiaojuan J. from China
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Great
The building is so elegant with wonderful see view. The hotel is a part of Colombo history.
Reviewed October 13, 2014

Xiaojuan J. from China
Families with older children
Stayed one night in October 2014
Great hotel
The location of this hotel is on the Galle face green, the building is elegant with a long histor. The room is big and comfortable, the pool is just besides the sea, it feels like swimming in the sea.
Reviewed October 13, 2014

Sharon L. from Singapore
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
very good
nice environment and good breakfast
Did not comply to our request for connecting room
Reviewed October 11, 2014

RODERICK B. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
colonial paradise
location, comfort friendly
My stay at the hotel was comfortable. I chose this hotel mainly for its location. However please note extensive works on the old section is been carried out. My only complaint was using the spa treatment. , which a total uncomfortable experience. Although I did complain to the manager, they were very apologetic and tried there best to deal with the issue. Most of the staff were very helpful and friendly.
Reviewed October 08, 2014

jiao B. from China
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2014
hope get bigger room next time
food nice .view nice.history nice.
ittle small room .little expensive.
Reviewed October 06, 2014