or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Entrance
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1148 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1148)
Sort by:
Nguyen T. Business travelers Vietnam, March 14, 2013
just ok

historical
3.7
I arrived to the hotel about 2.30 AM early morning, the reception took 30 mins to find my booking. It is so long, I am so tired.
Katharina B. Couples Germany, March 13, 2013
Fantastic heritage property oozing with atmosphere

colonial charme, fantastic location, superb food
9.3
The property, location and meals under the arcades with that perfect view onto the sea could not have been better. Only downside for us: internet/wifi was not free, and the deals inadequate which appeared somewhat petty. Otherwise we loved our memorable stay there.
Matthew C. Couples United Kingdom, March 13, 2013
Probably best just to go for a drink

location, atmosphere, breakfast
6.3
Galle Face Hotel is a beautiful old colonial style hotel in an amazing location. It's a great place to wander around, take in the history, and sit and have a drink while watching the sun go down. However, you are basically paying for the history and the location - the rooms and service, while perfectly adequate, do not really justify the hefty price tag. I'm glad we stayed there once, but would probably stay elewhere next time and just go to GFH for a sundowner.
Jacob W. Couples United States of America, March 12, 2013
Great stay, very friendly staff.

Colonial era style, ocean waves crashing in all the time, and the guy shoeing away crows haha.
7.7
Very good stay all-in-all. I think that it is a little over-priced compared to cheaper guesthouses along the beach, but it is definitely worth at least one night's stay.
Derek W. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 7, 2013
poor man's Raffles

good location with plenty of atmosphere
7
regretably Sri Lanka is trying to increase tourist trade MUCH TOO QUICKLY. End result - staffing abilities/service has suffered
Toh L. Solo travelers Malaysia, March 6, 2013
Peaceful Beach

Relax under sunshine
8
Better not to hire taxi from outside as the hotel provided the useful information and secure destination with reasonable charge.
Gavin L. Couples United States of America, March 4, 2013
Classic and Charming, but with a couple minuses

Classic feeling, clean rooms
7.7
What can I say about the Galle Face? Service is hit and miss for sure. Sometimes you have to track down a waiter to take your drink order. Other times you have a very professional and compassionate representative, like the staff member at the front desk in the classic wing, who, after I told him about a medical emergency I was having, extended my check out time 3 hours. That meant a lot to my partner and I. Didnt sample any of the food at the hotel, but the buffets looked nice. As for the room: it was huge with a classic feel, without being musty. Our suite however, was a little too close to the road. Noise can be a problem there. I am told to avoid the raod noise it is better to book a room in the new wing of the hotel. Overall I was satisfied with my stay, simply because of the no hassle extension I received.
Deepthi T. Solo travelers Canada, March 4, 2013
Colonial style hotel

Great Location, Friendl Staff
10
Was given a big room with a great view overlooking the Galle Face Green. Loved the classic wing of the hotel because it personified colonial charm. It lacked some of the modern comforts but I was not expecting perfection but a place that provided decent amount of comfort. Never had any fears about security throughout my stay even though I travelled alone. Will love to stay at the Galle Face again.
Tars H. Families with older children United States of America, March 3, 2013
Good overall

Great location big hotel.
6.7
Restaurant service was poor, several customers were complaining on lack of good service and restaurant manager was rude. He hung out at pool bar vice trying to solve problems in kitchen. Rooms were quaint, booked a sea view but they didnt have it available in new rooms. New rooms were not "new". Nice historical hotel. Prefer the Cinnamon Grand and Cinnamon Lakeside.
Chris M. Couples Australia, March 3, 2013
Public areas great! Rooms disappointing!

Location, atmosphere and pool
5.7
The real enjoyment if staying here is the location and the atmosphere of the old style building. Our room in the old wing was large but very dated. The a/c was either flat out or off! The bathroom had been painted so many times the floor waste was blocked! As the cost was reasonable the experience was passable. We did particularly enjoy the breakfasts and our time by the pool. YMMV

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel Night ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3C04