My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Entrance
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1144 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1144)
Sort by:
Tony M. Solo travelers Australia, February 19, 2013
cant believe they charge for wifi?

nice old building
5.7
ive been staying at the GFH periodically for years its still much the same but the price for a standard room is too much,considering the beds are too small even for a single I will be looking for better value in the future ,the charge for WiFi is an insult and beneath the aims of GFH
Paul B. Couples United Kingdom, February 19, 2013
Colonial Charm

A sense of history
8
The Galle Face Hotel gave us an insight into the British colonial era with all its strengths and weaknesses. The hotel is situated by the sea facing west and the wonderful sunsets are a feature of staying there. You can well imagine the British administrators and military staff enjoying their gin and tonics as they sat on the terraces overlooking the sea. A bygone era and a good job too but interesting as a historical record. The current staff are excellent and the service first-class as you would expect from a hotel with a high reputation and a cost to match. We particularly liked the public areas with many objects of interest and a record of the famous people who had stayed there. The rooms are large but the fittings have been left in their original condition ( to be authentic I suppose) but this meant many of them were the worse for wear e.g. The enamel in the bath was worn. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay there and if you want a touch of luxury combined with a sense of history, we can very much recommend you stay here
Hotel Feature Tip: Try to get a room at the front overlooking the sea
Anne-Monique S. Business travelers France, February 17, 2013
Historical sea front landmark hotel

You sit peacefully in a piece of history
7.7
Marvellous location Great pool Wonderful service Great breakfast and attention to detail Fast response to clients' requests
Shopping Tip: Close to city and all points of interest Exclusive for relaxation and should you just want to relax with a loved one by the ocean
Marit E. Groups Norway, February 16, 2013
The oldest Hotel in Colombo, old but stylish...

Best restaurant for1864..I think...and beautiful outdoor garden
9.3
We got upgraded to the suite, Thai, and had a nice night. Old furniture, and not the best bed or chairs, but so nice and full of history. We, my and a college, had dinner in the best Restaurant, think it was called 1864...and this was our best meal in Sri Lanka..we had it all, for but it was soooo good...I still dream of the food. The garden facing the sea was also a juvel, and when it turned out that there was no more room for us the next day, we had not ordered, the helped us to a superb Hotel. Staff was amazing, and I will think of this with a smile on my lips.
Restaurant Tip: The best restaurant is in the Hotel. Not for all, but a moment of taste and happiness. Every bit of the food was like a story, just loved it.....a must do....
Jane F. Families with older children Australia, February 16, 2013
Great location

dinner on the green facing the sea
5.3
nice historic hotel, but rooms weren't ready at 3:30pm when we checked in, and staff took a long time to pull up our booking, not a great start to our stay. hotel is in a lovely setting that didn't quite remove the unhappy first impressions.
Hotel Feature Tip: may need to double check booking before departure to ensure you are getting the room type you requested
Lin W. Couples China, February 14, 2013
Great location

Best location to see the sunset and sea
5.3
We stayed in the new regency wing. I would say the facility is more like 3 to 4 star. We enjoyed the location and view of the hotel but we were very underwhelmed by the poor service. You need pay a fee to use wifi, which is understandable, but they charge wifi for each devices you have which is ridiculous. If a couple have 2 laptop 2 iPads 2iphone then you need to pay 6 times of wifi charge if you want all your devices have access to wifi. When we complained to the hotel manager his response is " this is the bottom line". The attitude is shockingly bad. The service staff vacuum the corridor 2AM in the morning! We had to get up and ask him to stop. How much more terrible of a service can it be? You have to wait forever to get service in the bar area. However the drinks are pretty cheap. So do not expect international standards here.
Leanne P. Groups Australia, February 14, 2013
Wonderful location - old World Charm

Very helpful staff,
7.3
Old hotel looking out over the Green and night food stalls. Very large rooms. One of our group got very ill while staying here and the management and staff were extremely helpful. It was after we had checked out and they had no rooms available to check back into so she could rest. They organsied a private area for her and eventually when she needed a Doctor they organsed this as well. They could not of been more helpful and we were very appreciative of the service.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Make sure you allow time to visit the food stalls and walk on the green. It is a major attraction used by locals and visitors for exercise in the morning and later in the day local familes come to fly kites.
Noriko M. Groups Singapore, February 14, 2013
A historical hotel with character

Location, architecture, history, size
7.7
Every time we go to Colombo, we make it a point to stay at Galle Face Hotel. We love to stay at places with character and a story to tell. The location is a plus point, with breeze from the Indian Ocean entering your window everyday. The room sizes are generous, especially in the old wing.
Restaurant Tip: The breakfast buffet menu hasn't changed in years but there are lots of food joints in the vicinity.
Rathy S. Couples Australia, February 13, 2013
Lovely hotel with great location

views from the verandah and pool
7.7
convenient location and great for relaxing and galle face and dutch hospital restaurant precinct.
Hotel Feature Tip: The vernadah and pool are fabulous write on beach - a great outlook
Ian R. Couples United Kingdom, February 13, 2013
Iconic colonial grande Dame of Columbo,

The original features and size of the rooms
9
We enjoyed one night in the classic wing, but the rooms in the regency wing were better and overlooked the hotel garden. All staff were helpful and checked us in early after a long journey to Colombo. This hotel central and by the sea and has fantastic views and character unrivalled by other Colombo hotels. Kite flying on the galle face green was memorable and fun! Would love to go there again.
Travel tip: Go to second floor on regency wing for tea!!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel Night ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3A02