or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Entrance
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1160 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1160)
Sort by:
Rebekka M. Couples Iceland, March 1, 2013
Colonial style hotel and a nicesea side location

Great location but not all rooms are good
7
The Galle Face Hotel has good and bad rooms. In the old Wing the rooms have sometimes old bathrooms and the lobby and corridors have no aircondition.the rooms have aircondition. In the new wing the rooms are small but new but the dobble beds are small.Aircondition everywhere. Great breakfast witha a sea view. The swimmingpool with seawater was great. The garden is wonderful with palmtrees and it is nice to sit there.
Mike M. Couples United Kingdom, February 28, 2013
Charming hotel in great location

Location
6.7
A beautiful old building giving a taste of bygone days. One wing has been updated with the rest to follow shortly. Just as well, as our room has not been updated since the 1960s. In the meantime, clean and comfortable though. Sundowners on the terrace are a must (but they are for bus loads of tourists from other hotels though).
Samuel L. Solo travelers Australia, February 26, 2013
lovely hotel

the pool
7.3
the Galle Face Hotel, the old part anyway relies a bit too heavily on the past glories. the rooms are a bit drab and the tv was from the early 90's with no reception. the pool was defiantly the highlight and saviour for me located opposite the beach was fanatastic
Suzanne B. Couples Australia, February 26, 2013
Fabulous Room in a great location

Location is brilliant, lovely old building, great breakfasts, close to everything, good service
8.7
We were at Galle Face Hotel for 5 days, 4 in the old wing in a very large room as we were travelling with our daughter. She left to go home and we had upgraded our room for one night into a beach view room with a balcony. That room was spectacular! Huge, comfortable, well appointed, the balcony had its own hot tub, outdoor shower and sun lounges. It was fabulous! The staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. Galle Face Hotel is in a great location on the sea front, next to Galle Face Green where a lot of the local action takes place and close to everything you would want to do.
Helga S. Couples Canada, February 21, 2013
Beautiful oceanside grand tropical hotel

Oceanside pool, open air dining, grand stately charm
9.7
We enjoyed the oceanside location just outside the noise and bustle of the city, but close enough to everything we wanted. A great place to relax and just take in the surroundings. The hotel itself reeks of an historical past, with high-ceilinged rooms, old wooden floors, modernized bathrooms, and great ocean views. The staff are courteous and efficient, and seem to take pride in their hotel and assisting their guests. This hotel is a great place to go to after a bustling tour of the rest of Sri Lanka, to unwind and get ready for the next leg of any trip.
Hotel Feature Tip: Very good food, quiet oceanside dining, tropical elegance surroundings.
James M. Couples United Kingdom, February 21, 2013
Lovely hotel but overpriced room

Situation on the beach. Old colonial atmosphere.
7
Lovely location but cool reception. Spacious room but overpriced as it had no view whatsoever. Travel desk very unhelpful. Only interested in hiring expensive cars out to tourists. Good service in bars and restaurants.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Hire a tuk tuk from outside the front of the hotel. Don't be afraid. The drivers are friendly and agree a price before setting out.
Tony M. Solo travelers Australia, February 19, 2013
cant believe they charge for wifi?

nice old building
5.7
ive been staying at the GFH periodically for years its still much the same but the price for a standard room is too much,considering the beds are too small even for a single I will be looking for better value in the future ,the charge for WiFi is an insult and beneath the aims of GFH
Paul B. Couples United Kingdom, February 19, 2013
Colonial Charm

A sense of history
8
The Galle Face Hotel gave us an insight into the British colonial era with all its strengths and weaknesses. The hotel is situated by the sea facing west and the wonderful sunsets are a feature of staying there. You can well imagine the British administrators and military staff enjoying their gin and tonics as they sat on the terraces overlooking the sea. A bygone era and a good job too but interesting as a historical record. The current staff are excellent and the service first-class as you would expect from a hotel with a high reputation and a cost to match. We particularly liked the public areas with many objects of interest and a record of the famous people who had stayed there. The rooms are large but the fittings have been left in their original condition ( to be authentic I suppose) but this meant many of them were the worse for wear e.g. The enamel in the bath was worn. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay there and if you want a touch of luxury combined with a sense of history, we can very much recommend you stay here
Hotel Feature Tip: Try to get a room at the front overlooking the sea
Anne-Monique S. Business travelers France, February 17, 2013
Historical sea front landmark hotel

You sit peacefully in a piece of history
7.7
Marvellous location Great pool Wonderful service Great breakfast and attention to detail Fast response to clients' requests
Shopping Tip: Close to city and all points of interest Exclusive for relaxation and should you just want to relax with a loved one by the ocean
Marit E. Groups Norway, February 16, 2013
The oldest Hotel in Colombo, old but stylish...

Best restaurant for1864..I think...and beautiful outdoor garden
9.3
We got upgraded to the suite, Thai, and had a nice night. Old furniture, and not the best bed or chairs, but so nice and full of history. We, my and a college, had dinner in the best Restaurant, think it was called 1864...and this was our best meal in Sri Lanka..we had it all, for but it was soooo good...I still dream of the food. The garden facing the sea was also a juvel, and when it turned out that there was no more room for us the next day, we had not ordered, the helped us to a superb Hotel. Staff was amazing, and I will think of this with a smile on my lips.
Restaurant Tip: The best restaurant is in the Hotel. Not for all, but a moment of taste and happiness. Every bit of the food was like a story, just loved it.....a must do....

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel Night ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3C02