or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1189 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1189)
Sort by:
Gavin L. Couples United States of America, March 4, 2013
Classic and Charming, but with a couple minuses

Classic feeling, clean rooms
7.7
What can I say about the Galle Face? Service is hit and miss for sure. Sometimes you have to track down a waiter to take your drink order. Other times you have a very professional and compassionate representative, like the staff member at the front desk in the classic wing, who, after I told him about a medical emergency I was having, extended my check out time 3 hours. That meant a lot to my partner and I. Didnt sample any of the food at the hotel, but the buffets looked nice. As for the room: it was huge with a classic feel, without being musty. Our suite however, was a little too close to the road. Noise can be a problem there. I am told to avoid the raod noise it is better to book a room in the new wing of the hotel. Overall I was satisfied with my stay, simply because of the no hassle extension I received.
Deepthi T. Solo travelers Canada, March 4, 2013
Colonial style hotel

Great Location, Friendl Staff
10
Was given a big room with a great view overlooking the Galle Face Green. Loved the classic wing of the hotel because it personified colonial charm. It lacked some of the modern comforts but I was not expecting perfection but a place that provided decent amount of comfort. Never had any fears about security throughout my stay even though I travelled alone. Will love to stay at the Galle Face again.
Tars H. Families with older children United States of America, March 3, 2013
Good overall

Great location big hotel.
6.7
Restaurant service was poor, several customers were complaining on lack of good service and restaurant manager was rude. He hung out at pool bar vice trying to solve problems in kitchen. Rooms were quaint, booked a sea view but they didnt have it available in new rooms. New rooms were not "new". Nice historical hotel. Prefer the Cinnamon Grand and Cinnamon Lakeside.
Chris M. Couples Australia, March 3, 2013
Public areas great! Rooms disappointing!

Location, atmosphere and pool
5.7
The real enjoyment if staying here is the location and the atmosphere of the old style building. Our room in the old wing was large but very dated. The a/c was either flat out or off! The bathroom had been painted so many times the floor waste was blocked! As the cost was reasonable the experience was passable. We did particularly enjoy the breakfasts and our time by the pool. YMMV
Catherine B. Couples United States of America, March 3, 2013
disappointing

history, architecture, location
4.3
This is a beautiful old hotel with a lot of history. However, except for the desk staff who were good enough, the hotel has terrible dining staff. We ordered lunch at the outside restaurant near the pool, it was not over busy, but it took so long(over an hour) that we had to cancel. Not only that but the people at the next table were angry for the same reason. The wait staff and manager did not seem to care a hoot.
David R. Couples Australia, March 3, 2013
Lovely heritage hotel

Its position right on the waterfront, its age and charm
8
Heather N. Couples United Kingdom, March 2, 2013
Absolute bliss

stunning location, historic character and good pool
8.3
Lovely and relaxing, good quality spa and great sea water pool. Also great service and great views
Sriram K. Solo travelers India, March 2, 2013
Nice hotel at a great location

Close to the sea, Great dining area, Close to the arterial road leading to shops and restaurants
8
Aushwin G. Business travelers Nepal, March 1, 2013
poor front office staff

location pool building
4.3
Rebekka M. Couples Iceland, March 1, 2013
Colonial style hotel and a nicesea side location

Great location but not all rooms are good
7
The Galle Face Hotel has good and bad rooms. In the old Wing the rooms have sometimes old bathrooms and the lobby and corridors have no aircondition.the rooms have aircondition. In the new wing the rooms are small but new but the dobble beds are small.Aircondition everywhere. Great breakfast witha a sea view. The swimmingpool with seawater was great. The garden is wonderful with palmtrees and it is nice to sit there.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BeachGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3C08