My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Entrance Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel Night View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1137 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1137)
Sort by:
Amjaad J. Groups Sri Lanka, June 11, 2014
Amazing historical hotel and best hospitable staff

History Staff Atmosphere.
9.7
Simply amazing atmosphere. Staff is friendly and attentive.
Simon B. Business travelers United Kingdom, June 7, 2014
Great place but dont stay here until renovated

charm, welcome and history
6
i love the gfh dearly but do not stay here until renovated. constant construction noise even at 10.30pm, the lawn has mostly disappeared and some restaurants shut.
Katherine R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, June 4, 2014
adequate please see my comments.

the staff, in room dining ,comfortable beds.
7
I have been staying at the Galle Face Hotel off and on since 1999, it is and has been my favourite hotel in all the world but I have to say this time was a great disappointment. In your advertisement you show the front part of the hotel overlooking the Galle Face Green and I presumed that would be where I was booked in, but in fact I was given a room in the Regency part, an adequate room but nothing special. The old part is under renovation and has been for some time but this is not made clear in you advertisement. The building work, road works etc that is ongoing in the Galle Road makes for difficult walking to Crescat the main shopping area near the GFH and of course the renovations of the Galle Face itself are not condusive to a restful stay. I really think you must make it clear that the old part is and will be for sometime not open for business. Having said all this the staff were kind, thoughtful and polite as always. The price looks good until all the taxes are added I KR
Geoffrey B. Groups Thailand, May 27, 2014
Most of hotel building site

Location staff but few facilities
5
Expected to stay at five star hotel no advance warning of building work shame on you Agoda
Irfanul H. Families with older children Bangladesh, May 25, 2014
It was worth to stay in this hotel. Excellent.

Rooms, Food and Aristocracy
10
It was really very nice. Location, sea view from the room, very comfortable room facilities and very good room service, very good breakfast, very friendly and cooperative staffs, sea side bar, swimming pool beside sea and the last but not least, the aristocracy of the hotel, everything made my stay enjoyable.
Charles R. Couples United States of America, May 16, 2014
Friendly staff.

The staff, the food and the location.
6.7
Our stay was pleasant. The hotel is 150 years old and one side is currently being renovated. All staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is very tasty and there is a wide variety of foods. The rooms in the Regency wing are very out dated too. The view from the superior room was not good at all! All I could see were an old building next to a parking lot. Also had a very old TV that did not work in my room. Was surprised they still used this type of TV. Faucet was leaking water all over the bathroom floor. Requested a new room for the second nights stay. Will stay at the Taj the next time because the room was not worth.
Kelvin F. Solo travelers Singapore, May 13, 2014
Convenient location, big and clean rooms

Location near Galle Face, colonial style rooms, and centrally located
6.7
Nikesh J. Business travelers India, May 7, 2014
Nice and confortable stay

Lovey beach facing room, good breakfast and helpful staffs
9
Its an old hotel, started somewhere in later part of 19th century. The room in which i stayed, was renovated. Its was a pleasant stay. The sea facing room was lovely and the view from the room was superb. The breakfast spread was good and staffs were very helpful. It is in the middle of Colombo ( Colombo 3) and hence easy to navigate through the city with the easy availability of 3 wheelers. From airport, during peak hours, it may take around 1 hour 15 minutes, if you use the new express high-way.
Kanako I. Solo travelers Japan, May 4, 2014
Comfortable stay with the sound of ocean. Classy!

Classic, Hospitality, Facing Ocean. I liked their bathroom being clean, enough room for me to unwind. I enjoyed their breakfast and car service.
7.3
I stayed at Galle Face Hotel for one night before my flight but since I arrived earlier the first day I could unwind and relaxed at the hotel and explore the city. You cannot ignore what time does to the hotel especially the rooms but I did appreciate their clean bath room and quiete floor. The breakfast was fantastic, not only because of the food they serve, but the hospitality they serve the food with. The hotel is under renovation now. I hope to return when it is finished.
Gaurav J. Business travelers India, April 26, 2014
private beach

private beach
5.3
Room was ok. Beach was good. No other facilities.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel Night ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3A03