Sign in and get better rates!
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Entrance
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1155 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1155)
Sort by:
Bala S. Couples United States of America, February 5, 2013
Classic hotel in Colombo on the beach

Excellent location with beautiful view
6.7
We were upgraded to the Royal Suite one of te largest we have stayed.Staff wer very helpful and the restaurants though limited were good. The reception staff lost our booking and had to be reminded with the printed copy. No problem in changing the wing for future booking.
Restaurant Tip: Avoid breakfast time between 8.30 AM and 9.30 AM. Very difficult to get a table. Breakfast is excellent
Ignatius C. Couples United States of America, February 5, 2013
the hotel wifi is unsatisfactory

history
7
You are asked to buy wifi access in time segments. The wifi access is very, very poor and unreliable and takes forever to access.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The hotel doesn't seem to know what foreigners want to see, even after all these decades! The staff seems tense and unhappy and confused.
Ann S. Families with older children Sweden, February 4, 2013
History revisited in it´s best sence

Very genuine with a lot of colonial history. We were upgraded to a suite overlooking both the ocean and the Galle Face (central park). Friendly staff and a great pool.
8.3
Michael B. Couples United Kingdom, February 3, 2013
classic rooms need updating

breakfast very good value, location, general ambience
6.7
On arrival having booked a classic room we were shown into a room which had wet paint on the floor. After some complaining we were grudgingly given a different room in the modern wing which was fine. The classic room was very poorly furnished and would not have been worth the money but the newer room was much nicer.
Restaurant Tip: Gallery cafe.
Surendran C. Couples Malaysia, February 3, 2013
Amazing view

Good location
6.3
A historical hotel to stay in with an amazing view of the sea. Rooms were decent but bathrooms need a lot of work
Amanda K. Couples Canada, February 1, 2013
Great place to greet Colombo

Nice pool, good food and great sleep.
9.3
my boyfriend and i stayed for two nights. we landed late and our driver was patient and helpful. we were upgraded to the new wing and although the rooms were smaller than we expected, they were clean and comfortable. you can easily hear your neighbor in the standard rooms. we had hoped for better cable too. regardless, it's a great place to start or finish your time in sri lanka!
Travel tip: Of you are looking for cheaper transportation there are travel places nearby and the train or bus is an easy option. Wireless isn't free.
Seh C. Couples Malaysia, February 1, 2013
Old World Charm

Colonial architecture, seafront location
6.7
Location facing Galle Face Green and next to the sea is the best plus point of the hotel. Then factor in its colonial architecture with interior that exudes old world elegance. Do check out its antique hydraulic lifts with metal sliding folding gates. I like its hardwood floored room which is spacious but feel that the smallish tv should be upgraded. The bathroom too is very spacious but the condition of the bath tub is not exactly in tip top condition. At night, having dinner with cocktail out at the terrace by the sea is just heavenly. All in all, a hotel worth a repeat stay the next time i go back to Sri Lanka.
Hotel Feature Tip: Do ask for a room either facing the sea or the promenade. Any room facing the rear only gets a view of the roof and not pleasant at all.
Laurence M. Couples New Zealand, January 31, 2013
The Old Grande Dame

Location and sense of history; also large rooms in Classic Wing
7.7
The faded elegance of history runs through the whole of the classic wing of the hotel. We had a huge and wonderful room with windows on 2 sides overlooking the Indian Ocean and Galle Face park. Large fan and two noisy air con machines. It does not have the polish that you would expect from a modern international chain (go to the Regency Wing if that is what you prefer). As you would expect from a building that is nearly 150 years old, the windows are a bit loose in places, the bathroom decor could be upgraded, an a number of other features do not work as well as you would expect from a modern hotel. But the bed was comfortable, the room was light and airy and spacious and we loved it for the style and character that is lacking in so many international hotels today. Came back to the hotel again after touring the country
Lars B. Families with young children Denmark, January 31, 2013
It was a expirence, like going bakc in time.

Sunset, location and the history of the palace
5.7
Was great to expirence a old colonial hotel in the middle of colombo.
Wayne C. Solo travelers New Zealand, January 30, 2013
location, history
10
hotel was great, exceeded expectations...will go again.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel Night ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3A01