or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

based on
1229 reviews

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1229)
Sort by:
Vivienne B. Couples United Kingdom, March 19, 2013
Quirky, dated but pleasant atmosphere.

Good pool, large airy rooms and good staff.
5
Staying here was like going back in time to 1920. The wiring was very suspect and the bathrooms were last updated in the 1960s.however after the initial shock our stay was very pleasant in a relaxed atmosphere with the bonus of viewing numerous beautiful weddings.
Creswell C. Business travelers France, March 18, 2013
Perfect location to do business

location, ocean view, superb hotel
6.7
Nguyen T. Business travelers Vietnam, March 14, 2013
just ok

historical
3.7
I arrived to the hotel about 2.30 AM early morning, the reception took 30 mins to find my booking. It is so long, I am so tired.
Katharina B. Couples Germany, March 13, 2013
Fantastic heritage property oozing with atmosphere

colonial charme, fantastic location, superb food
9.3
The property, location and meals under the arcades with that perfect view onto the sea could not have been better. Only downside for us: internet/wifi was not free, and the deals inadequate which appeared somewhat petty. Otherwise we loved our memorable stay there.
Matthew C. Couples United Kingdom, March 13, 2013
Probably best just to go for a drink

location, atmosphere, breakfast
6.3
Galle Face Hotel is a beautiful old colonial style hotel in an amazing location. It's a great place to wander around, take in the history, and sit and have a drink while watching the sun go down. However, you are basically paying for the history and the location - the rooms and service, while perfectly adequate, do not really justify the hefty price tag. I'm glad we stayed there once, but would probably stay elewhere next time and just go to GFH for a sundowner.
Jacob W. Couples United States of America, March 12, 2013
Great stay, very friendly staff.

Colonial era style, ocean waves crashing in all the time, and the guy shoeing away crows haha.
7.7
Very good stay all-in-all. I think that it is a little over-priced compared to cheaper guesthouses along the beach, but it is definitely worth at least one night's stay.
Derek W. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 7, 2013
poor man's Raffles

good location with plenty of atmosphere
7
regretably Sri Lanka is trying to increase tourist trade MUCH TOO QUICKLY. End result - staffing abilities/service has suffered
Toh L. Solo travelers Malaysia, March 6, 2013
Peaceful Beach

Relax under sunshine
8
Better not to hire taxi from outside as the hotel provided the useful information and secure destination with reasonable charge.
Gavin L. Couples United States of America, March 4, 2013
Classic and Charming, but with a couple minuses

Classic feeling, clean rooms
7.7
What can I say about the Galle Face? Service is hit and miss for sure. Sometimes you have to track down a waiter to take your drink order. Other times you have a very professional and compassionate representative, like the staff member at the front desk in the classic wing, who, after I told him about a medical emergency I was having, extended my check out time 3 hours. That meant a lot to my partner and I. Didnt sample any of the food at the hotel, but the buffets looked nice. As for the room: it was huge with a classic feel, without being musty. Our suite however, was a little too close to the road. Noise can be a problem there. I am told to avoid the raod noise it is better to book a room in the new wing of the hotel. Overall I was satisfied with my stay, simply because of the no hassle extension I received.
Deepthi T. Solo travelers Canada, March 4, 2013
Colonial style hotel

Great Location, Friendl Staff
10
Was given a big room with a great view overlooking the Galle Face Green. Loved the classic wing of the hotel because it personified colonial charm. It lacked some of the modern comforts but I was not expecting perfection but a place that provided decent amount of comfort. Never had any fears about security throughout my stay even though I travelled alone. Will love to stay at the Galle Face again.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!


AS-AGWEB-3A04