or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Entrance
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1148 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1148)
Sort by:
Corinne K. Couples United Kingdom, January 23, 2013
Most awful hotel I even lived in all my travels.

Restaurant facing the sea
4
This is worse than a 2 star hotel in Europe with a five star price of a European hotels. Water leaked into our Bathroom from the cealing upstairs. The Bathroom and Bedroom has not been renovated since the 1950. The hotel is just there. Everything is falling apart in the furniture. AC very noisy. Not worth. Fortunately stayed only one night. Hotel reception was awful. Several of my friends telephoned and staff said we were not registered in the hotel. Missed a very important call staying in that hotel. The only thing that was good was the food and the restaurant on the sea I read bad reviews but I had already booked. Agree with every word on the bad reviews.
Hotel Feature Tip: The food on the terrace facing the beach is good. Dinner is very good and lovely with tables on the beach. Do not stay in the hotel. Only go for dinner.
Ariel L. Business travelers Singapore, January 21, 2013
Lovely Sea Front hotel

Sea Front, Sea View, near Crescat Shopping Mall
7
Lovely hotel with good food selection Conveniently located to Sea front and Crescat Shopping Mall
Sheryl D. Couples Australia, January 20, 2013
Good location, big rooms

Excellent view, great pool, large room in the classic wing
8
Nice to go for an evening walk along the Galle Face green and feel a part of the culture and tradition of the locals. Lovely meals, had some of the best curries here.
Manique A. Solo travelers Sri Lanka, January 20, 2013
Pleasant hotel

Nearer to the beach
7
The classic and unique building of the hotel is a very nice place to stay
Hotel Feature Tip: Very near to the beach
Ralph C. Couples United Kingdom, January 20, 2013
A great escape from the city

The courtyard garden restaurant.
7.3
We were promised a hotel with a faded colonial grandeur. In some ways we were disappointed. Our room had a view of the sea and Galle Face Green which was good, and was the biggest hotel room we've ever stayed in. But, it was very basic, and badly laid out so it really felt too big. The staff were fine, and the room was clean and neat, just didn't seem to have much charm. However, the courtyard is superb. Colombo is not the most welcoming city, and it's great to escape it all to gaze out at the Indian Ocean with a cocktail. Breakfast was good too.
Martin P. Couples Australia, January 14, 2013
A grand piece of colonial history

Location, service and food
10
A wonderful piece of Sri Lankan colonial history beautifully preserved to give the modern traveller a glimpse into history.
Ambalavaner K. Couples United States of America, January 14, 2013
Great location but the rooms are not clean at all

The beach and the restaurant was very good.
5.3
One whole night we could not sleep at all. the room above us making lot of noise which went until the morning. When we questioned about it the next day they told us they were getting ready for a wedding. The hotel should allocate the rooms appropriately. The rooms floor and the bathroom floors were dirty but the linen was changed nicely. The staff was nice.
Michitaka M. Couples Japan, January 14, 2013
Location Good but very noisy for trafic all night

Location is good facing the Indian sea
4.3
Location is good but the room facing the road is quite noisy for traffice for all night, therefore we could not sleep well. Also hotel staff is not serious to take our request to change the room. If you insist to stay this old hotel, we recommend you to stay in ocean view room.
Chelliah J. Solo travelers Australia, January 14, 2013
lovely hotel but building and furniture old

good location,good service and good food
7.3
the hotel is located by the sea with opportunity for morning or afternoon walks with numerous locals.the hotel also has a very good salt water pool suitable for adults and children. the buffet breakfast had a good collection of sri lankan and western food. The buffet was however a bit crowded during the morning and it is adviseable to go a bit early for breakfast.The laundary and room service were very promt. On the downside the furnishings and the room was a bit old on the old wing. However this gives the traveller what srilanka was during the olden days. The reception staff were very busy that they could not be contacted easily perhaps because of the insufficient number. I would say that my experience in the hotel was a pleasant one.
Hotel Feature Tip: Try to get into the new wing or if in the old wing ask for a room with sea view
Nirosha M. Couples Australia, January 13, 2013
A different experience to the first time...

The oceanic spa suite in the Regency wing is well worth the upgrade!
7
When we first stayed at the Galle Face Hotel, we were in the Classic wing where the rooms although nice were very dated. This time we upgraded our room from the Standard Classic to an Oceanic Spa Suite in the Regency Wing which was absolutely amazing! The suite was enormous with plenty of room to lounge around and entertain guests should you so wish. The luxurious four poster bed can fit at least five people in it and ensures a good night's sleep. Perhaps the best part of the room, is the in-built spa in the generously-sized bathroom, which will quite comfortably accommodate two people! Perfect for pouring yourself into and recovering from a night of drinks and dancing at Amueseum.
Nightlife Tip: The Galle Face Hotel's nightclub, Amueseum is the place to be in Colombo. It has a great atmosphere and resident DJ Party spins a great mix of house and RnB that will keep you dancing till the early hours of the morning.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel Night ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3B04