Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite with balcony Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - South Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Spa
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Library Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Room
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

from 1236 reviews

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1236)
Sort by:
Jacob W. Couples United States of America, March 12, 2013
Great stay, very friendly staff.

Colonial era style, ocean waves crashing in all the time, and the guy shoeing away crows haha.
7.7
Very good stay all-in-all. I think that it is a little over-priced compared to cheaper guesthouses along the beach, but it is definitely worth at least one night's stay.
Derek W. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 7, 2013
poor man's Raffles

good location with plenty of atmosphere
7
regretably Sri Lanka is trying to increase tourist trade MUCH TOO QUICKLY. End result - staffing abilities/service has suffered
Toh L. Solo travelers Malaysia, March 6, 2013
Peaceful Beach

Relax under sunshine
8
Better not to hire taxi from outside as the hotel provided the useful information and secure destination with reasonable charge.
Gavin L. Couples United States of America, March 4, 2013
Classic and Charming, but with a couple minuses

Classic feeling, clean rooms
7.7
What can I say about the Galle Face? Service is hit and miss for sure. Sometimes you have to track down a waiter to take your drink order. Other times you have a very professional and compassionate representative, like the staff member at the front desk in the classic wing, who, after I told him about a medical emergency I was having, extended my check out time 3 hours. That meant a lot to my partner and I. Didnt sample any of the food at the hotel, but the buffets looked nice. As for the room: it was huge with a classic feel, without being musty. Our suite however, was a little too close to the road. Noise can be a problem there. I am told to avoid the raod noise it is better to book a room in the new wing of the hotel. Overall I was satisfied with my stay, simply because of the no hassle extension I received.
Deepthi T. Solo travelers Canada, March 4, 2013
Colonial style hotel

Great Location, Friendl Staff
10
Was given a big room with a great view overlooking the Galle Face Green. Loved the classic wing of the hotel because it personified colonial charm. It lacked some of the modern comforts but I was not expecting perfection but a place that provided decent amount of comfort. Never had any fears about security throughout my stay even though I travelled alone. Will love to stay at the Galle Face again.
Tars H. Families with older children United States of America, March 3, 2013
Good overall

Great location big hotel.
6.7
Restaurant service was poor, several customers were complaining on lack of good service and restaurant manager was rude. He hung out at pool bar vice trying to solve problems in kitchen. Rooms were quaint, booked a sea view but they didnt have it available in new rooms. New rooms were not "new". Nice historical hotel. Prefer the Cinnamon Grand and Cinnamon Lakeside.
Chris M. Couples Australia, March 3, 2013
Public areas great! Rooms disappointing!

Location, atmosphere and pool
5.7
The real enjoyment if staying here is the location and the atmosphere of the old style building. Our room in the old wing was large but very dated. The a/c was either flat out or off! The bathroom had been painted so many times the floor waste was blocked! As the cost was reasonable the experience was passable. We did particularly enjoy the breakfasts and our time by the pool. YMMV
Catherine B. Couples United States of America, March 3, 2013
disappointing

history, architecture, location
4.3
This is a beautiful old hotel with a lot of history. However, except for the desk staff who were good enough, the hotel has terrible dining staff. We ordered lunch at the outside restaurant near the pool, it was not over busy, but it took so long(over an hour) that we had to cancel. Not only that but the people at the next table were angry for the same reason. The wait staff and manager did not seem to care a hoot.
David R. Couples Australia, March 3, 2013
Lovely heritage hotel

Its position right on the waterfront, its age and charm
8
Heather N. Couples United Kingdom, March 2, 2013
Absolute bliss

stunning location, historic character and good pool
8.3
Lovely and relaxing, good quality spa and great sea water pool. Also great service and great views

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite with balconyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - South Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BeachGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LibraryGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B05