or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1210 reviews

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1210)
Sort by:
Garry R. Couples Australia, January 5, 2013
Old world charm

Location, location, location
6.7
Hi We stayed here one night and found it disappointing on arrival to be told the hotel is booked out and we were asked if Agoda had contacted us to inform us they had made an error in overbooking due to a fault in their computer system (I believe this to be common in SL as it happened to us at another hotel in SL yet not experienced in another other hotel during our travels over many years). The hotel offered to relocate us to another hotel. As we booked and paid for this hotel many weeks prior we insisted this is the hotel we wanted to stay at and were not prepared to accept another hotel. After much discussion and not backing down by us the hotel manager found us a room straight away (interesting!). Is this a scam by the hotel to save rooms for people who wish to stay longer than one night? While the room was fantastic and hotel facilities just perfect the attitude from the staff was poor in that they showed little interest in providing any form of assistance. The service in the restaurant was non existent (as mentioned in a popular guidebook) as the staff just blatantly ignored our requests. If we had not been forceful we would still be sitting there now waiting for our order to be taken. Other than poor service the hotel is fantastic and in a great location. Besides the poor reception and lack of staff service, would we stay again - most certainly.
Travel tip: A walk along the green along the waterfront is very relaxing and well worth the stroll.
Lisa A. Couples Australia, January 3, 2013
Great location and service

They upgraded us into a newer suite free of charge
9.3
We stayed in the old and new parts of this historic hotel. The old part needs a serious revamp....but despite that it was still fun to stay in a massive suite. The newer part of the hotel has smaller rooms but it is completely upgraded. The hotel was a joy to stay in because the nightly buffet was just $16 for an all you can eat buffet of seafood and meats etc plus hundreds of desserts.
Paul J. Families with young children United States of America, January 3, 2013
Great Location, but not so great service

Location/Historic Building
5.7
For the expense this hotel does not offer the service that you would expect. Long waits for tables, drinks, and service at the front desk. When asking for simple things like a bottle of water upon arrival we were met with blank stares. Disappointing.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The Galle Face Green right next door is fun. Buy a kite and eat some street food!
Alistair J. Solo travelers Australia, January 3, 2013
Great classic hotel but quite dilapidated

Grand old hotel with lots of character - the poolside area is great
5.3
the hotel has a lot of obvious old world colonial charm but definitely had some challenges - we were unhappy with a room in the new wing and went back to the classic wing which seems to have much bigger rooms but the first one we were shown had beds that weren't assembled properly and we had to request another one. our friends had the royal scandinavian suite which was very grand but they suffered a lot of noise problems due to a function downstairs. the room categories and standards seem very haphazard and inconsistent. the selling point of the hotel is its old world colonial appearance.
Yohan R. Solo travelers Australia, January 2, 2013
beautifully refurbished old hotel, great location

beds, bedsheets and staff.
8.7
spent two days at the galle face hotel and absolutely loved it. staff were very accomodating, friendly and helpful. rooms were a little pricey, but very comfortable. the bed sheets were the softest i'd slept on. the hotel is next to historic galle face, the dutch hospital(retaurants like the ministry of crab and shops), financial district and other hotels. the pool overlooks the seawall,so the waves crash right in front of you.lying on a deck chair watching the sunset with a beer is absolute bliss. apart from the price of the rooms, would not fault this historic hotel.
Restaurant Tip: check out the ministry of crab at the old dutch hospital. the traditional crab curry is devine, accompanied with a glass of chenin blanc.
Tracy M. Couples United States of America, January 1, 2013
true colombo: it doesn't get better

The oceanic suite is a spacious room, with an extremely comfortable bed,and a huge (!) jacuzzi, excellent shower. The room is nicely appointed, but it's the views from the tall windows that will blow you away. The Indian Ocean at its most beautiful, with the pool and famous 'checkerboard' patio below. We welcomed the New Year here, and it's not for those looking for peace and quiet on such a night...!
10
As usual in Sri Lanka, it's the people who make all the difference: From arrival, to dinner service, breakfast and all things in between, we were continually delighted by the smiles one often only reads about when traveling. The Galle Face Hotel has certainly attracted the best, in terms of service staff! While there, we met both the manager and the assistant manager, and perhaps most telling is that staff appeared to seek out their smiles and warmth, as well. The breakfast is not to be missed -- the best egg hoppers on the island!
Nightlife Tip: If you do elect to go on New Year's Eve, know that the music ends (literaly) at 8 a.m. on the 1st! (All part of the scene...)
Rachel S. Couples Australia, January 1, 2013
Run down hotel in a gorgeous old building

The building itself
5
The rooms were outdated and not worth the money. The service was very average and the food tooks ages and arrived cold.
Julie D. Couples Canada, December 30, 2012
Beautiful colonial hotel on the water

Location, the history, the ocean views from the veranda
7.3
there really isn't anywhere else worth staying in colombo if you want to get that old colonial feeling. it is a marvelous old hotel though it has certainly seen its better days behind it. the place is vaguely grimy with the carpets shorn and the service in the restaurants is pretty atrocious, but still worth every penny. i can't imagine staying anywhere else. the regency rooms are meant to be better and the bathrooms were very nice. the room was roomy enough too. when you actually get the food, it is pretty good.
Restaurant Tip: The Cinnamon Hotel just down the street from the Galle Face has some great restaurants including an amazing Sri Lankan place in the back of the hotel. It is like a little Sri Lankan village and is very nice with good traditional Sri Lankan food and traditional music.
Axel R. Couples Spain, December 30, 2012
Traditional colony style hotel; great location

Traditional, great location, nice view
8.3
Traditional colony style hotel in great location, still some rooms might need renovation in the classic wing of the hotel (so the other wings is newer and nicer). Service is very good, the buffet too. All is clean. Beautiful view and flair. Pool area could also be renewed soon (if you would plan to stay mostly at the pool). High amount of weddings take place, so you might have loud music in the classic wings until 11pm some nights. Overall nice experience.
Philip M. Solo travelers Australia, December 30, 2012
An Old Charmer

Charming Yesteryear
5.7
A 5 modern star hotel has its modern comforts, and thats great when I'm traveling for work. But when I holiday, when I can, I look for the old charmers of yesteryear. It may not be immediately apparent that that is so from the Galle Face, but the foyer on each floor, the old cage lift, and the creaky floorboards come together to time transport you to a time past.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BeachGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3B05