Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1165 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1165)
Sort by:
Charles M. Business travelers Canada, December 20, 2012
Great character hotel, perfect location

Atmosphere, main dining room
8.3
I was here for business and decided to stay at the Galle Face as it looked like an interesting heritage hotel; I was not disappointed. The rooms are a bit old - in fact, many parts of the hotel are a bit creaky and have seen better days but this is part of the charm. If you take a walk around the hotel, especially late at night when things are deserted, it feels like one has gone back in time. Indeed, many of the furnishings, signs, even the elevators, seem to be from the turn of the last century. There are nicer hotels in Colombo (just across the street is the Taj) but given the choice, I'd stay at the Galle Face. One tip: Upon check-in, ask to get a room in the newer part of the hotel(I think they call them the regency rooms). It's in the more modern part of the hotel and the rooms are definitely nicer.
Jaya G. Families with young children Australia, December 19, 2012
Great Stay

Historical hotel, good service, great food
8.3
We had a great stay at Galle Face. What a way to start our trip to Sri Lanka with a stay at GF. The atmosphere was great, the location was great, the overall service was excellent. Could not have asked for a better stay. We still talk about GF fondly today.
Travel tip: The Regency Wing is the pick of the rooms for its view and comfort.
Richard G. Couples United Kingdom, December 17, 2012
Unique experience

historical landmark hotel beautifully situated on ocean front
7.7
we stayed one night on arrival in colombo and got upgraded to the amazing thai royal suite. galle face hotel is a historical landmark hotel beautifully situated on ocean front next to lively galle face. it's a great experience but hotel let down by poor maintenance - eg, a trickle of cold water from shower - and by diversification into a wedding parlour. a function with loud music until 11.30pm - 5am for us - and then a ginger baker style drum solo starting at 9am (monday morning) heralding the first of assembly line weddings. also, wifi unreasonably expensive and need to pay for each device separately. overall, recommend for the unique experience but not if you need to catch up on sleep or reliant on hot water.
Marius S. Business travelers Canada, December 17, 2012
beautiful hotel great location

location
6.7
historic hotel well appointed, beautiful view of the ocean. staff needs training and can definitely improve customer assistance. Had NO phone service in the room from check in to check out, after letting staff know numerous times this was not fixed. Needed to order room service, had to use cell phone and call reception and have them transfer to kitchen. very disappointed.
Wilfried L. Families with young children Germany, December 17, 2012
Faded Glamour - be careful....

great location at the sea side - nice if you like historical, heritage hotels
4.3
We arrived late night and were totally shocked about the room. they booked us into a smelly old suite room at the road side with a shabby old Bath room (hasn't seen renovation since 30 years). The Mini Bar was empty (but they ask me at the check out if I have had anything from the MINI Bar. After 20 mins discussion at the reception that we will not take that room, I found out that they are overbook (-8 rooms !!) as it was Colombo Night Race and weddings, ... No chance to change the room; in the end we got a diner for free, but drinks not included. The service seems overall not capable to handle our requests...
David H. Couples United States of America, December 15, 2012
Horrible, smelly rooms in the classic wing

the exterior is the only nice thing about this hotel
3
we were expecting a little faded glory from the galle face, but it turned out to be the worst hotel we stayed at in sri lanka. the exterior is very nice and the lobby and restaurants look nice. but the rooms -- at least the one we had -- in the classic room are absolutely disgusting. if you are handed the key to room, hand it back and run. it was run down and dingy and the stench of stale cigarette was embedded in everything. the wallpaper was coming apart by the seems. the beds felt like a big lump of ancient mattress springs and there were no blankets, just threadbare sheets. that's probably because the huge, noisy a/c with streaks of mildew isn't so powerful. the bathroom was something out of the 1970s. it was all just shockingly awful. the food at the verandah was tasted ok, but i felt sick later. we did try a light meal at the bar. everything was straight out of the microwave. the beef pie consists of dried up bits of "meat" in a sauce covered with a lump of mashed potatoes. the open faced sandwich with cheese was microwaved so much that the bread was hard to bite through. even the cocktails are awful. i would suggest finding a nice hotel elsewhere and just visiting the galle face to have a look around.
Rajendra G. Solo travelers Australia, December 14, 2012
grand old hotel

the bar, location
7.3
Great bar. Room have a "colonial" feel. Bathroom was modern but bathtub was stained with an odd paint colour. Breakfast for vegetarians was pretty poor
Nidhi R. Couples India, December 14, 2012
Less hygiene..Room could have been better.

Good Location
3.7
Overall stay was not very Great. Room hygiene and conditions is not good. Bath tub was pathetic.
Restaurant Tip: Be careful while choosing food.
Tina W. Couples United Kingdom, December 14, 2012
Fantastic location, rooms in need of upgrade

Location, swimming pool and grounds
5.7
Best location on the coast with a good pool and sunbathing area. It's worth it to recover from your long haul flight just lazing in the sun as there is not much to do in Columbo. The rooms are very dated. Look like they were last decorated in 1960 and have been constantly patched up ever since. A bit dusty and tardy really and very noisy as you can hear your neighbours walking around through the wooden floors. We stayed 2 seperate occasions and had the same problem with noise. It;s OK for 1 night stops on arrival/departure and can recommend the restaurants. The fine dinning was particualrly good value with 3 courses, wine & liquers fro arounf £40 per head for excellent quality food.
Hotel Feature Tip: Request a room in the new wing that is being renovated. Apparenty they are smaller but better
Jay S. Couples United States of America, December 13, 2012
Beautiful Classic hotel! Grand rooms, Sea view!

Sea-side location, grand rooms, architecture
9
Lovely place. We stayed in the Modern Wing which was HUGE and lovely. The bathroom itself was larger than many other hotel rooms! The location by the sea is also amazing. It's a great place to chill by the ocean. The buffet is great, you can eat and chill overlooking the sea. The service is good, and it's just wonderful being in such a beautiful historic hotel.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3A05