My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Entrance Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel Night View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa
Hotel Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

7.6

based on
1104 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1104)
Sort by:
Diane M. Groups Australia, October 28, 2012
Great location and service with a smile

location
8.7
service was good but room had to be changed twice. had requested two beds and twice was booked into room with one bed
Nicolette D. Families with older children United Kingdom, October 28, 2012
Unique experience

Central, quaint, historic, good variety of food
7.3
We staying in the Regency Wing and the children stayed in the original wing, this was very old and in need of renovation. So I encourage you to stay at the Regency wing. The food variety was good and it was very quaint. There were lots of wedding taking place at the hotel, an overage of 3 or 4 per day. It was interesting to stay there due to the historic nature of the hotel.
Hotel Feature Tip: Book in the Regency Wing
Elion G. Couples Sri Lanka, October 28, 2012
"Colonial Charm with Wide ranging Buffets"

The mixture of the old and new wing is an extra treat
8.3
Yes,in all we were really very pleased with the cosy comfort and variety the Hotel had to offer, spending the day is really relaxing and I wouldnt hesitate in doing so again, but I would love to see improvements to the surroundings of the Salt Water Pool and its equipments like the Sun beds-its cushions-side cupboards. The View of the Green and Side Sea from my Room was a main reason I went for this room,but on arrival the reception insists you have to really request one in order to get one, I was ultimately given one (116) which I felt could have been a near disaster to my stay if I did not get it, I was happy with the View,Just as I planned, but not really with the Room Interior Fittings which are a bit run down or needs a good Polishing together with the same situation in the Bathroom, I had a Room in which smoking is allowed and the ash tray on offer, stillI prefer to at least open the window if I do, all Windows really need a god Polishing too and attention should be paid to the Locks and Hinges which dont close so easily, when I do open them, I see the state of the Hotel fasade is again neglected and needs a good painting, the spacious Room itself could easily be brought into life with a bit more Fittings or a Bed carpet or two, same with the old but good in room A/C Unit which could do with a New Cladding or Pep up Painting to its Exterior. I was happy with the Saunas, but at least the Whirpool should not be Stricty divided Male Female, I mean if you are a couple, and dont see your partner for the next Hour and have to enjoy its comfort all alone! its a bit silly and I wouldnt want it again. We appreciated all other facilities the Hotel had to offer together with the friendly service & a Mixture of the many Weddinng Ceremonies Romantical ambience, the next time I would want to stay here I would want the same facilities I booked for this time, but only with the above changes,otherwise I would very fairly say,the Hotel is sold at minimum 30% excess its value.
Hotel Feature Tip: You can really relax,go sightseeing and shopping in the busy streets of Pettah, Jog or Walk along the Green in the Mornings and enjoy its Srilankan atmosphere at Night and undoubtedly many things to do around, even if you come alone
Dylan H. Groups Australia, October 27, 2012
Great location and old world charm

Great buffet breakfast
8.7
The galle face hotel is classic hotel in the heart of colombo. It has old world charma and an amazing view over the ocean where you can enjoy a cocktail and watch the sunset. Recommend the buffet brakfast.
Hotel Feature Tip: Stay in the newer wing. it's much better
Alagappan S. Families with young children Singapore, October 27, 2012
Good Location but Hotel rooms very disappointed

Nothing good
4.3
Very disappointed. service was very slow.Only thing was hotel in good location. and food was good.
Sophie C. Families with young children France, October 27, 2012
Old colonial busy hotel, front sea, worth a visit

You may enjoy a dinner
7.3
ideally located in colombo city and front sea, this huge hotel has the charm of the old times. the classic part will be renovated in 2013. the rooms are old style, as the furniture, need to be refreshed. as part of colombo history and charms, the hotel is frequently busy and booked for wedding celebrations. it is worth a visit or a dinner front sea, not overnight.
Dylan H. Groups Australia, October 27, 2012
Amazing old world charm in the middle of colombo

The colonial building and the breakfast
8.7
The Galle face hotel is an amazing colonial building in the middle of Colcombo with amazing views over the Sea. The breakfast was great with a good mix of local and western food and it was the perfect place to base yourself for exploring around Colombo.
Terai M. Families with older children Japan, October 26, 2012
Hotel Security is BAD

Traditional Wedding every nights
6
We have received the call at 23:30 middle of the night directly to our room. We have found that hotel staff told our room number to the caller. I would think these information is confidential and should not be disclosed to anyone especially without our consent. We were not happy at all. The best part is when i ask, they told me that they will not do such, when it is actually happening! Spacious room and free shuttle to several places were good. Bath Tab was not really clean. Wi-Fi connection was really bad and slow. yet it is additional charge. The Hotel is having an events (Mostly Weddings) days and nights. it is nice to see the tradition but the noise was traveling to our room.
Jenise R. Couples United States of America, October 26, 2012
Fabulous grounds and restaurants, great locatation

Classic but a little need of updating in the older rooms. Great views from dining, lovely pool, excellent service.
9
if you're in colombo, it's a must for it's location and historical significance. food is a good value in many lovely venues within the hotel. the pool is lovely and views are fantastic everywhere. if you want to get a feel for sri lankan weddings, this is the place as there are as many as 3-4 a day. the most disappointing was the internet service, expensive and it didn't work 90% of the time.
Hotel Feature Tip: Be careful of many scams around the hotel especially those involving the 3 wheelers.
Kristy M. Solo travelers United States of America, October 25, 2012
Great Location - Classic Rooms need improvement

Location
6.7
I stayed at the Galle Face for one night on each end of my trip. The first time I stayed in a Classic room. It was ok, but the bathrooms are in real need of updating! The location is great but for the price of the classic room you can stay in a better hotel. The renovated rooms are great and much better for the money. Also I think for the price internet should be included, it is a bit expensive and coverage was spotty at best.
Hotel Feature Tip: Great view of the sunset.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel Night ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3A03