Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.7

based on 1328 reviews

1002 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.1
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.3
Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (1328)
Sort by:
Lin W. Couples China, February 14, 2013
Great location

Best location to see the sunset and sea
5.3
We stayed in the new regency wing. I would say the facility is more like 3 to 4 star. We enjoyed the location and view of the hotel but we were very underwhelmed by the poor service. You need pay a fee to use wifi, which is understandable, but they charge wifi for each devices you have which is ridiculous. If a couple have 2 laptop 2 iPads 2iphone then you need to pay 6 times of wifi charge if you want all your devices have access to wifi. When we complained to the hotel manager his response is " this is the bottom line". The attitude is shockingly bad. The service staff vacuum the corridor 2AM in the morning! We had to get up and ask him to stop. How much more terrible of a service can it be? You have to wait forever to get service in the bar area. However the drinks are pretty cheap. So do not expect international standards here.
Noriko M. Groups Singapore, February 14, 2013
A historical hotel with character

Location, architecture, history, size
7.7
Every time we go to Colombo, we make it a point to stay at Galle Face Hotel. We love to stay at places with character and a story to tell. The location is a plus point, with breeze from the Indian Ocean entering your window everyday. The room sizes are generous, especially in the old wing.
Restaurant Tip: The breakfast buffet menu hasn't changed in years but there are lots of food joints in the vicinity.
Rathy S. Couples Australia, February 13, 2013
Lovely hotel with great location

views from the verandah and pool
7.7
convenient location and great for relaxing and galle face and dutch hospital restaurant precinct.
Hotel Feature Tip: The vernadah and pool are fabulous write on beach - a great outlook
Ian R. Couples United Kingdom, February 13, 2013
Iconic colonial grande Dame of Columbo,

The original features and size of the rooms
9
We enjoyed one night in the classic wing, but the rooms in the regency wing were better and overlooked the hotel garden. All staff were helpful and checked us in early after a long journey to Colombo. This hotel central and by the sea and has fantastic views and character unrivalled by other Colombo hotels. Kite flying on the galle face green was memorable and fun! Would love to go there again.
Travel tip: Go to second floor on regency wing for tea!!
Natalie B. Families with young children Australia, February 13, 2013
Massive Room but very tired decor

Location
6.7
We booked a triple room which was enormous and easily fitted the four of us. We were quite disappointed by the decor which was very dated. However the location was great and drinks on the lawn and the seaside pool where great. I have heard the newer wing is better I would not recommend this hotel to friends.
Restaurant Tip: The old Dutch Hospital is a lovely location with very lots of lovely cafes and a great crab restaurant.
Xiao H. Families with young children China, February 12, 2013
very nice view

Very Good Colonial Hotel
9.7
This hotel is a real institution, so many famous people have stayed here in the past. The location is outstanding, right on the sea front. The large seawater swimming pool is wonderful and the bar and restaurant areas very atmospheric.
Lynn G. Couples Singapore, February 12, 2013
Traditional colonial experience, without luxury

Location, colonial experience, big room.
7
The Galle Face is a historic place to stay once to get a feel of the old colonial expereince. But don't expect luxury. The Classic wing was definitely worn and fixtures and furniture show their age. But for our first time in Sri Lanka, it was worth the experience Our room (319 in the Classic Wing) was huge (you have space to do cartwheels, seriously), but bathroom fixures were old. Furniture was probably older than we were, but were decently maintained (ie. you notice the wear, but are not broken or in need of repair). Several food options, but gym and pool are small. You're on the oceanfront, but there is no beach. Great central location for exploring Colombo. Overall would recommend for convenience and a unique experience once; but not if you're looking for modern luxury and amenities.
Hotel Feature Tip: Lobsters served in the hotel, both in room service and in the restaurants are priced very affordably, and fresh. This is the place to indulge if you like lobster.
Christopher T. Couples Australia, February 12, 2013
Colonial Charm

Stunning setting, efficient service, step back in time
9
we stayed for two nights, arriving vet late at night following a flight from singapore. check in was swift and we were quickly in our room. rooms were classic, nothing fancy but certainly adequate with good air con and a classic feel. the best feature of the galle face is the beautiful colonial setting. set right on the water, the sunsets are stunning while the buildings are grand and make you feel like you are stepping back in time. the pool is a lovely place to relax for an hour or two while the restaurant on the terrace does a great breakfast buffet. overall the galle face comes highly recommended.
Hotel Feature Tip: The rooms in the new wing are nicer.
Neil C. Couples United Kingdom, February 11, 2013
great hotel

great regency wing room
8.7
We had a fanstastic room in the regency wing with sea views. The hotel itself is a little tired in parts, however. The food and service are excellent. If you plan to relax by the pool beware that the pool is very small for a hotel of this size and there are limited sun loungers.
Pascaline L. Couples France, February 11, 2013
Charming hotel

A step back in history
7.7
Great atmosphere. Our room was completely outdated but still ok for 2 nights. The heritage wing is apparently much better. Loved the garden, breakfast area and pool.
Previous page 301 - 310 of 1002 reviews Next page
Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Terrace at The Traveller’s BarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Traveller’s Bar TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The ChequerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Traveller’s BarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Verandah (First Level)Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - View from Pool Bar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Pool with Sea ViewsGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing Main EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Conference Center LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - The LibraryGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Conservatory Linking Grand Ballroom & Junior BallroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom with New Lighting SystemGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Ballroom with New Lighting SystemGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior BallroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Library Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference FacilitiesGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The 1864Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant’s MuralGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Pool Bar at NightGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Croquet Lawn with South Galle Face Hotel Colombo - ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - reading porchGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Library BooksGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Corridor Connecting the North and South WingGalle Face Hotel Colombo - AntiquitiesGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing - Premier RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Overlooking the OceanGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Landmark RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - superior roomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Main Lobby in the North WingGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Palm Lounge Galle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Palm LoungeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Lobby with MuralGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing - Second Floor LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Main Lobby


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B04