or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1188 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1188)
Sort by:
David H. Couples United States of America, December 15, 2012
Horrible, smelly rooms in the classic wing

the exterior is the only nice thing about this hotel
3
we were expecting a little faded glory from the galle face, but it turned out to be the worst hotel we stayed at in sri lanka. the exterior is very nice and the lobby and restaurants look nice. but the rooms -- at least the one we had -- in the classic room are absolutely disgusting. if you are handed the key to room, hand it back and run. it was run down and dingy and the stench of stale cigarette was embedded in everything. the wallpaper was coming apart by the seems. the beds felt like a big lump of ancient mattress springs and there were no blankets, just threadbare sheets. that's probably because the huge, noisy a/c with streaks of mildew isn't so powerful. the bathroom was something out of the 1970s. it was all just shockingly awful. the food at the verandah was tasted ok, but i felt sick later. we did try a light meal at the bar. everything was straight out of the microwave. the beef pie consists of dried up bits of "meat" in a sauce covered with a lump of mashed potatoes. the open faced sandwich with cheese was microwaved so much that the bread was hard to bite through. even the cocktails are awful. i would suggest finding a nice hotel elsewhere and just visiting the galle face to have a look around.
Rajendra G. Solo travelers Australia, December 14, 2012
grand old hotel

the bar, location
7.3
Great bar. Room have a "colonial" feel. Bathroom was modern but bathtub was stained with an odd paint colour. Breakfast for vegetarians was pretty poor
Nidhi R. Couples India, December 14, 2012
Less hygiene..Room could have been better.

Good Location
3.7
Overall stay was not very Great. Room hygiene and conditions is not good. Bath tub was pathetic.
Restaurant Tip: Be careful while choosing food.
Tina W. Couples United Kingdom, December 14, 2012
Fantastic location, rooms in need of upgrade

Location, swimming pool and grounds
5.7
Best location on the coast with a good pool and sunbathing area. It's worth it to recover from your long haul flight just lazing in the sun as there is not much to do in Columbo. The rooms are very dated. Look like they were last decorated in 1960 and have been constantly patched up ever since. A bit dusty and tardy really and very noisy as you can hear your neighbours walking around through the wooden floors. We stayed 2 seperate occasions and had the same problem with noise. It;s OK for 1 night stops on arrival/departure and can recommend the restaurants. The fine dinning was particualrly good value with 3 courses, wine & liquers fro arounf £40 per head for excellent quality food.
Hotel Feature Tip: Request a room in the new wing that is being renovated. Apparenty they are smaller but better
Jay S. Couples United States of America, December 13, 2012
Beautiful Classic hotel! Grand rooms, Sea view!

Sea-side location, grand rooms, architecture
9
Lovely place. We stayed in the Modern Wing which was HUGE and lovely. The bathroom itself was larger than many other hotel rooms! The location by the sea is also amazing. It's a great place to chill by the ocean. The buffet is great, you can eat and chill overlooking the sea. The service is good, and it's just wonderful being in such a beautiful historic hotel.
Corinne W. Groups United Kingdom, December 12, 2012
Not worth the rate charged for the room

Entrance, ambience, position
7
Stayed with my 82 year-old mother in a Deluxe Classic Wing room which was large with post war utility furniture. Booked twin but given double. In desperate need of updating, especially the bathroom which was very old fashioned and in need of a good clean. Staff lovely as was the view from the room.
Restaurant Tip: Inn on the Green just around the corner was excellent
Jenny M. Couples Australia, December 11, 2012
Exceptional service and old world charm

Grest location, lovely old buildings and amazing service
9.7
a real gem of a hotel. we loved our stay here and felt like we had stepped back in time! the hotel has a lot of history and charm. the service is outstanding. the location is also excellent - walking along the galle face green at sunset is lovely. breakfast was very nice but dinner was a bit average. get a tuk tuk into town very cheaply for a nice meal instead.
Restaurant Tip: have an 'old world charm' cocktail at sunset in the bar overlooking the ocean.
Swapna G. Solo travelers United States of America, December 10, 2012
Big Big Hotel with a beautiful Sea View

Location
7
As a solo traveller and after staying in boutique hotels, this was different. In my opinion if you are looking at a beautiful sea view and a big hotel, this is the place to stay. yes it's colonial architecture and beautiful old style rooms that takes you back to an era. BUt for me, it did not work more so because it's so impersonal. Huge hotel, lots of guests coming in and going no personal service but that's me talking. I feel its more for big groups, or a business travel stay and more so if you are having a wedding there!
Robert P. Couples Australia, December 9, 2012
charming old world hotel

location, charm
8
If you have to stay in Colombo this is the place to be. Great views right on the ocean. Old world charm though now somewhat faded. Very good restaurants with reasonable prices and good wine list. Very easy access to city and all sights.Good shopping along Galle Av. Right opposite Galle face.
Chris W. Families with young children United Kingdom, December 9, 2012
hotel of great character

Stylish hotel of a past era
8
i loved the hotel, i had stayed here once before as a child 45 years ago. it's been kept in the original spirit of those grand old hotels around british south and south east asia. too many have been spoilt in the pursuit of modernity, such as raffles(what a shame) and the malabar in kochi (cochin), but the galle face is still pretty much original. we stayed in the biggest suite (the gardiner suite) as we were upgraded, it was magnificent, but really could do with some tasteful period redecoration but especially some maintenance. they say that the old wing will be closed for re-decoration within the next three months - i'm sure that the family will take care of this historic hotel in the right way and not mess it up like raffles and others. still got to be the most popular place for wedding photo's and wedding receptions in colombo 3 a day everyday! (yep some discreet sound proofing wouldn't go astray either. use the old style lifts and don forget the doors do not close automatically.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Go to Galle and visit an equally wonderful hotel that is 4 years older than the Galle FAce Hotel - IT IS LOVELY and again kept by one family for many generations - we just ate lunch there IT WAS WONDERFUL - Go see the Closenberg Hotel and not just the magnificent Fort

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BeachGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3A07