or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Entrance
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1148 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1148)
Sort by:
Laimonas S. Families with young children Lithuania, November 21, 2012
Small room but was comfortable

Breakfast was great!!!
8.7
We had our 8 months old son with us and it was good cos they provided us a baby cot. The room was bit small but was comfortable!!! Breakfast was great! We like this hotel and recommend to others with young babies!!!
Thilani G. Couples Australia, November 20, 2012
Traditional decor; hospitable sevice

Location - being on the edge of the Indian ocean in the heart of Colombo
7
This is my 2nd visit to the Galle Face Hotel this year. Regency Wing was more comfortable than the classic section of the hotel but the size of the rooms was very dissapointing. The furniture was dated but the ensuit facilities were great in keeping with international standards. Food, as usual was fantastic.
Sandra M. Solo travelers Australia, November 17, 2012
Old world charm in an amazing location.

Sunset overlooking the ocean in the heart of Colombo
9
I loved this hotel from its huge wide corridors to the ocean views from my room and the sound of the ocean lapping at the break wall. Food options were bountiful including a high tea to die for. Staff were lovely and it was a busy vibrant place. There was a Sri Lankan wedding on the nights i was staying which added to the atmosphere.
Lambertus Z. Couples New Zealand, November 17, 2012
Nice location but very tatty rooms.

Good location, on the beach
5.3
This hotel was clearly a majestic hotel in its heyday, however sadly the rooms are very tatty and tired and in a serious need of a refurbishment. On the website it looks like a grande dame i The lobby is still in good stead, however as soon as you enter the bedroom it is a completely different story. The bedroom is nothing better than 2 star quality. Very disappointing!
Linda S. Groups United States of America, November 16, 2012
Great service and very nice accommodation

Location
9
We did not like the view from our first room and were changed easily for very little money to a big room overlooking Galle Face
Lydia P. Couples United Kingdom, November 14, 2012
Interesting hotel

Location and Charm
5.7
The hotel is a little dated and some staff struggled with speaking English but the hotel has plenty of charm and in a ideal location. Our room was large but had no view and the windows did not open.
Kevin B. Couples United Kingdom, November 12, 2012
Beautiful colonial hotel with great service

Colonial styling and service,
9
The Galle Face hotel is a ex-British colonial heritage hotel and retains much of the architecture, furniture and service (afternoon tea, plenty of staff on hand, plus a human scarecrow). We found this hotel a great and interesting place to stay. Don't expect to much from the rooms as the furniture/decor is not modern and there is an aroma of an old dwelling but don't be put off as this all adds to the charm of this place. Overall, we loved our stay here but recommend the Cinnamon hotels or similar if you are looking for something more modern and less characteristic of Sri Lanka.
Restaurant Tip: Visit the Spray restaurant for the buffet - beautiful setting beside the sea, fresh seafood cooked to order and live music was provided
Vijayesh R. Couples Malaysia, November 12, 2012
Character hotel but poor maintenance

A lot of character from this old colonial building
5.3
The stay was wonderful. The hotel food was great. However, the room entrance door as flimsy and was loose. The lock had been tampered before and was never fixed. We spent like 2 minutes trying to get into our room. The toilet bowl was leaking. I did not mind the colonial look but they should maintain the facilities.
Hotel Feature Tip: The Sri Lankan food at this hotel is good.
Manvendra U. Couples India, November 12, 2012
Good Location but extremely BAD service

location
4.3
One of the worst heritage hotels I have seen until now with small rooms and extremely bad service standards. People don't greet you with smile, put phones down on you and do not even try to understand what simple courtesy means. Its getting all its visitors due to the old charm / heritage building fuss etc. but this hotel is not worth any penny u spend. Rooms worse than a simple 3 star hotel and service worse than a motel.
Hotel Feature Tip: Next to the sea.
Fiona M. Couples United Kingdom, November 11, 2012
Beautiful old hotel

The balcony rooms
5.7
The room we booked was awful, it smelled of cooking, there was a wedding on in the hotel and the music was so loud in our room that we paid to upgrade to a room further away with sea view and balcony. Our original room was not worth the money.
Hotel Feature Tip: Only worth staying if you have a balcony

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel Night ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3A08