or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1192 reviews

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1192)
Sort by:
Swapna G. Solo travelers United States of America, December 10, 2012
Big Big Hotel with a beautiful Sea View

Location
7
As a solo traveller and after staying in boutique hotels, this was different. In my opinion if you are looking at a beautiful sea view and a big hotel, this is the place to stay. yes it's colonial architecture and beautiful old style rooms that takes you back to an era. BUt for me, it did not work more so because it's so impersonal. Huge hotel, lots of guests coming in and going no personal service but that's me talking. I feel its more for big groups, or a business travel stay and more so if you are having a wedding there!
Robert P. Couples Australia, December 9, 2012
charming old world hotel

location, charm
8
If you have to stay in Colombo this is the place to be. Great views right on the ocean. Old world charm though now somewhat faded. Very good restaurants with reasonable prices and good wine list. Very easy access to city and all sights.Good shopping along Galle Av. Right opposite Galle face.
Chris W. Families with young children United Kingdom, December 9, 2012
hotel of great character

Stylish hotel of a past era
8
i loved the hotel, i had stayed here once before as a child 45 years ago. it's been kept in the original spirit of those grand old hotels around british south and south east asia. too many have been spoilt in the pursuit of modernity, such as raffles(what a shame) and the malabar in kochi (cochin), but the galle face is still pretty much original. we stayed in the biggest suite (the gardiner suite) as we were upgraded, it was magnificent, but really could do with some tasteful period redecoration but especially some maintenance. they say that the old wing will be closed for re-decoration within the next three months - i'm sure that the family will take care of this historic hotel in the right way and not mess it up like raffles and others. still got to be the most popular place for wedding photo's and wedding receptions in colombo 3 a day everyday! (yep some discreet sound proofing wouldn't go astray either. use the old style lifts and don forget the doors do not close automatically.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Go to Galle and visit an equally wonderful hotel that is 4 years older than the Galle FAce Hotel - IT IS LOVELY and again kept by one family for many generations - we just ate lunch there IT WAS WONDERFUL - Go see the Closenberg Hotel and not just the magnificent Fort
Gerald W. Solo travelers United States of America, December 9, 2012
A Classic

Reminiscent of travel 100 years ago
9.7
Excellent service and surroundings. I last stayed here in 1982 on a grande tour of Sri Lanka. I am happy that they have maintained this hotel since it cannot be replaced. It must have been wonderful traveling the world back in the day, going from one great hotel to another.
Raj K. Families with young children Singapore, December 9, 2012
Breathtaking ViewBeautiful

View, Breakfast, People
8.3
Great Stay. Fantastic View. Old English Feel.
Abdul P. Couples United Kingdom, December 8, 2012
great location heritage hotel

great location, history, good service and food, unlike other colombo hotels you are right close to the sea
8
This was our start of SL holiday and we really enjoyed our stay here. Some people might not enjoy the weddings that go on here. We stayed in the classic wing with an old fashioned feel to the room. Generally comfortable but air conditioning noisy. If you dont like old fashioned then stay in more expensive modern wing. Hotel carries on old traditions so for the christmas lights turn on day we had a lantern vigil followed by marvellous drinks and buffet on the house!
Brooke J. Business travelers Australia, December 8, 2012
No idea about Superior Room, I was in Suite

The upgrade at no extra cost
8.3
The hotel had actually lost or not received my booking and as fate would have it, no rooms at the level I booked were available ... instead I was put into a suite at no extra cost in the new wing. It was fabulous. If I was assured that this would happen again, I would have no hesitation booking again to stay at the Galle Face Hotel. Some collegues did stay in the Superior Room of the Regency Wing and these rooms were not bad. I would have been happy to stay in one of these if that was what I had been allocated. The hotel itself is lovely, the staff are friendly and accomodating and the restaurant (1864) was amazing. It had some of the best food I have had in Sri Lanka (or Australia for that matter).
Karen B. Couples United States of America, December 8, 2012
A classic indeed!

An unfailing commitment to smiles
8.3
We truly enjoyed our stay at the Galle Face. The location, views, staff, and amenities were spot on. Our room was enormous and filled with light. That said, the classic wing is old, and somewhat lacking in updating and maintainence. But the charm outweighed those details and we will stay at Galle Face on our next visit.
Restaurant Tip: The hotel restaurants are largely geared towards buffet (not my favorite), but nonetheless, very well done. The a la carte 1864 however, was excellent.
Felicity M. Solo travelers United Kingdom, December 6, 2012
Crumbling Colonial Relic

Fab location, grand historic tradition
5.3
Old Wing = rooms above function rooms, non stop weddings from 07.00am until 01.00am delightful visuals with Kandyan dancers, drummers etc - but VERY noisy. The room was clean, well equipped but old fashioned decor, windows, doors, walls in poor state of repair. Expensive Wif Fi access and no data line in these rooms.. Travel Desk was a joke - couldnt communicate in English and after paying for an airport transfer to the desk rep, 2 drivers standing by and assisting in communication told me theat no cars were available - after much to ing and fro ing the drivers maanged to convince the travel desk that one of them could do the trip -definately something fishy going on there.
Hotel Feature Tip: The sea facing and famous long "Verandah" is a wonderful place to meet friends or just to sit and sip while absorbing the sights and sounds - spectacular sunsets can be seen while relaxing on the sea front lawn.
Colin H. Couples New Zealand, December 5, 2012
Old world charm

Amazing setting, beautiful building and views
7.7
Lovely hotel with many positives, but try and book the Regency wing as this has been renovated. Other rooms are more basic

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BeachGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3B03