Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.7

based on 1318 reviews

996 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (1318)
Sort by:
Rachel M. Couples United States of America, February 8, 2013
a nice way to kick-start a trip to sri lanka

Atmosphere, location
7
after an inevitably long journey to get to sri lanka, spending the first night in colombo is no bad idea. the galle face is in a great location, where you can walk out and watch the sunset on the galle face green amongst the locals. the service is a bit slow but it is still lovely to sit and have a cocktail on the patio. the rooms are atmospheric, truly transporting you back to another time that doesn't feel the least bit cheesy.
Restaurant Tip: Dinner at the gallery cafe!
Report this review
Dunithra S. Couples Sri Lanka, February 7, 2013
Nice and charming hotel

Charming, nice restaurants , view and pool
8.3
Very nice and charming hotel. Nice staff and good location. The view was amazing . Only cons is the quality of the room. It was clean but need maintenance.
Shopping Tip: Crescat just across the street
Report this review
Michael L. Couples Denmark, February 6, 2013
Great location, basic room

Location, sunsets and historical charm
6.3
We were given a quite small and very basic room, but was upgraded a bit because the door couldn't lock. Still, the rooms in the old wing are very basic for the price, but then again you come to Galle Face Hotel for the history and the great views of the sunset. And that the hotel delivers.
Report this review
Bala S. Couples United States of America, February 5, 2013
Classic hotel in Colombo on the beach

Excellent location with beautiful view
6.7
We were upgraded to the Royal Suite one of te largest we have stayed.Staff wer very helpful and the restaurants though limited were good. The reception staff lost our booking and had to be reminded with the printed copy. No problem in changing the wing for future booking.
Restaurant Tip: Avoid breakfast time between 8.30 AM and 9.30 AM. Very difficult to get a table. Breakfast is excellent
Report this review
Ignatius C. Couples United States of America, February 5, 2013
the hotel wifi is unsatisfactory

history
7
You are asked to buy wifi access in time segments. The wifi access is very, very poor and unreliable and takes forever to access.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The hotel doesn't seem to know what foreigners want to see, even after all these decades! The staff seems tense and unhappy and confused.
Report this review
Ann S. Families with older children Sweden, February 4, 2013
History revisited in it´s best sence

Very genuine with a lot of colonial history. We were upgraded to a suite overlooking both the ocean and the Galle Face (central park). Friendly staff and a great pool.
8.3
Report this review
Michael B. Couples United Kingdom, February 3, 2013
classic rooms need updating

breakfast very good value, location, general ambience
6.7
On arrival having booked a classic room we were shown into a room which had wet paint on the floor. After some complaining we were grudgingly given a different room in the modern wing which was fine. The classic room was very poorly furnished and would not have been worth the money but the newer room was much nicer.
Restaurant Tip: Gallery cafe.
Report this review
Surendran C. Couples Malaysia, February 3, 2013
Amazing view

Good location
6.3
A historical hotel to stay in with an amazing view of the sea. Rooms were decent but bathrooms need a lot of work
Report this review
Amanda K. Couples Canada, February 1, 2013
Great place to greet Colombo

Nice pool, good food and great sleep.
9.3
my boyfriend and i stayed for two nights. we landed late and our driver was patient and helpful. we were upgraded to the new wing and although the rooms were smaller than we expected, they were clean and comfortable. you can easily hear your neighbor in the standard rooms. we had hoped for better cable too. regardless, it's a great place to start or finish your time in sri lanka!
Travel tip: Of you are looking for cheaper transportation there are travel places nearby and the train or bus is an easy option. Wireless isn't free.
Report this review
Seh C. Couples Malaysia, February 1, 2013
Old World Charm

Colonial architecture, seafront location
6.7
Location facing Galle Face Green and next to the sea is the best plus point of the hotel. Then factor in its colonial architecture with interior that exudes old world elegance. Do check out its antique hydraulic lifts with metal sliding folding gates. I like its hardwood floored room which is spacious but feel that the smallish tv should be upgraded. The bathroom too is very spacious but the condition of the bath tub is not exactly in tip top condition. At night, having dinner with cocktail out at the terrace by the sea is just heavenly. All in all, a hotel worth a repeat stay the next time i go back to Sri Lanka.
Hotel Feature Tip: Do ask for a room either facing the sea or the promenade. Any room facing the rear only gets a view of the roof and not pleasant at all.
Report this review
Previous page 311 - 320 of 996 reviews Next page
Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Terrace at The Traveller’s BarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Traveller’s Bar TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The ChequerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Traveller’s BarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Verandah (First Level)Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - View from Pool Bar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Pool with Sea ViewsGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing Main EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Conference Center LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom 3Galle Face Hotel Colombo - The LibraryGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Conservatory Linking Grand Ballroom & Junior BallroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom with New Lighting SystemGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Ballroom with New Lighting SystemGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior BallroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Library Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference FacilitiesGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The 1864Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant’s MuralGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Pool Bar at NightGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Croquet Lawn with South Galle Face Hotel Colombo - ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom 2Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - reading porchGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Library BooksGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Corridor Connecting the North and South WingGalle Face Hotel Colombo - AntiquitiesGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing - Premier RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Overlooking the OceanGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Landmark RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - superior roomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Main Lobby in the North WingGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Palm Lounge Galle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Palm LoungeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Lobby with MuralGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing - Second Floor LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Main Lobby


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B08