or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1167 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1167)
Sort by:
Fiona M. Couples United Kingdom, November 11, 2012
Beautiful old hotel

The balcony rooms
5.7
The room we booked was awful, it smelled of cooking, there was a wedding on in the hotel and the music was so loud in our room that we paid to upgrade to a room further away with sea view and balcony. Our original room was not worth the money.
Hotel Feature Tip: Only worth staying if you have a balcony
Siegbert M. Couples November 11, 2012
Quirky ex-colonial grandeur

Wonderful location and views
8.7
Staff gave us the known warm Sri Lankan welcome and were always helpful and competent. Our room had a great view of the Galle Face Green and was very spacious (the size of two modern hotel rooms), albeit in need of renovation, especially the bathroom. We only took breakfast in the hotel, which consisted of a plentiful buffet and some made-to-order dishes, all very appetising and tasty. This place stands out from the big chain hotels with its quirkyness - recommended!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Visit the National Museum in Colombo before setting of on the 'cultural triangle tour', it'll give you a manageable introduction to the history and culture of the ancient capitals.
Gary C. Groups Ireland, November 10, 2012
A Hotel with Class.

A great looking old fashioned hotel, with a lot of history and character.
7
The outside of the Galle Face Hotel says it all with its impressive entrance, old fashioned features and original deco, it is a place with huge character and a throwback to a by-gone era. The breakfast was wonderful and the facities were very good. It also has a great view of the ocean which you can enjoy at breakfast.
Hotel Feature Tip: The breakfast is a must!
Katherine R. Couples Australia, November 7, 2012
Great Hotel - good first stop in Sri Lanka

Good service- Great location
8.3
We enjoyed every minute of our stay, good room - great view
Restaurant Tip: Food stalls on the green at night - tasty and inexpensive
Alan R. Couples Australia, November 6, 2012
Splendid antique hotel

large airy comfortable suites with great service
8.3
A great way to relax when you first arrive in Sri lanka, the Classic side of the GFH provides excellent food and beverage service, a great location at the ocean edge, and the large old rooms remind us of the age of luxury before our present age of comfort. not that they are at all uncomfortable, but the bathrooms are a bit passe with rather old style fittings in the ressing space, but fine vaslue for money focused on what really matter
Restaurant Tip: Ministry of Crab makes a great evening out after cocktails on the GFh front lawn
Anthony P. Couples United Kingdom, November 5, 2012
Quaint old fashioned hotel

Great fantastic food both breakfasts and dinners
6.7
The hotel boasts friendly staff we did not find so. Our room was not ready at 2.30 in the afternoon of our arrival and we were not offered any drinks or any kind of compensation. The porter showed us to our room and left ......no explanations etc. The food was the only saving grace, breakfast and dinner were magical, food choice was amazing and plenty of it.
Hotel Feature Tip: If you disliked th room then most people have complained and got an upgrade.
Adam R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 5, 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile

close to airport
10
This is a nice hotel. Whenver I have any friend to visit, i will recommanded this hotel. Great location, close to the airport. Staffs are very helpful and all service are accessible. Will definitely come back.
Travel tip: Get personal drivers
Saliya K. Families with older children Sri Lanka, November 3, 2012
Grand Historic Hotel

Old beauty, Sea view
8
The old times charm was mesmorising. Greeted by the doreman in an ancient ministrial dress was very impressive. Reception was fast and friendly. Staf was charming all round but felt that there wasn't enough to service this massive old place. Resturats and coffee shop all has sea front. All in all a memorable day, sorry that the stay wwas only one day.
Restaurant Tip: Sea food is excellent and cheap
Randy M. Solo travelers United States of America, November 2, 2012
Grand Hotel

The beautiful architecture.
8.3
The stay was pleasant and the classic rooms were big. The big disappointment is that the spa was being reinovated and since the monsoon came in there wasn't much to do.
Hotel Feature Tip: The spa is currently out of service.
William K. Couples Canada, November 2, 2012
Amazing hotel steeped in history

Hotel (historic) features, service, location
10
Our stay at the Galle Face Hotel was a real treat. From the time we arrived until the time we left, we were treated very well. Our room was in the classic wing and it did not disappoint. It is true that the rooms in this wing are older, but if you are a history buff this is definitely where you want to be. We were given a huge room (the biggest I believe that I have ever stayed in) that had a great view of the coastline and the Galle Face Green. Even though there were high winds and torrential rain for most of our stay, there was plenty to see and do in and around the hotel. You can spend quite a bit of time just touring around the hallways checking out the historic pictures and plaques. We had a fun and enjoyable dinner at the Sea Spray restaurant on our first evening (the high winds and rain added drama to the meal) and finished off our night with a cocktail in the colonial flavored “Veranda” bar. Absolutely no complaints. My wife and I would love to stay here again!
Restaurant Tip: If you feel the need for variety, there is a great German restaurant across from the hotel called The Bavarian. We had a nice meal there. However, the hotel restaurants are excellent and have a great atmosphere.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BeachGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3C06