Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - South Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Library
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

from 1250 reviews

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1250)
Sort by:
Joanne N. Couples Australia, December 22, 2012
Great colonial hotel

Lovely pool, good location
6.3
Beautiful old colonial mansion. The old part of the hotel is due for a make over but still has its charm
Travel tip: The fine dining restaurant in the regency wing served lovely food
Report this review
Ayukawa T. Families with young children Japan, December 21, 2012
Nice hotel with great historical value

historicaly important hotel, nice coastwise garden
6.7
We can feel and enjoy old colonial atmosphere. garden and pool locate nice place to see beautiful sun set in the Indian. The quality of service at reception and restaurant are barely passing grade level.
Report this review
Timothy M. Families with older children Australia, December 21, 2012
Grand old building

Great ambience and well-situated
7.3
We enjoyed our stay. The staff were generally accommodating, but very busy over Christmas, so service suffered somewhat (e.g. Getting coffee at breakfast).
Restaurant Tip: The Sea Spray Restaurant does a very good seafood buffet.
Report this review
John P. Families with young children Ireland, December 21, 2012
A lot of history

Location, Breakfast on the patio,
7
Report this review
Gudrun L. Families with young children United Kingdom, December 20, 2012
Hotel that is trading on its past glory.

The back garden, pool and sea aspect make it worth the stay and the cocktails are wondrously good.
5.3
The Galle face hotel is in a lovely spot with a beach front unparalleled in Colombo. The veranda and restaurant are lovely with good and attentive waiters serving decent food. The breakfast is good and varied, the bar food served all day is nice, I had the best mohito I´ve tasted and the Singapor Sling was also great. It´s lovely to sit out at any time of the day and watch and listen to the waves splashing, the city seems far and away. Our room was a deluxe classic, large and spacious but there is a feeling of decline. There are some nice pieces of colonial style furniture but also a smattering of 70s chairs and sofas that have seen better days, the bathroom desperately needs redecorating, the tiles have obviously seen better days so they have been painted over, floor, and walls. Cleanliness was also an issue both in the bathroom as in the room. The whole hotel looks as if it could do with a really good clean. The carpets on the stairs were matted with dirt and the walls down the stairs are painted in a 70s style uneven lava effect which is hard to keep clean at the best of times but has thick crevasses of dirt. We arrived at the height of the wedding season and were delighted to see a Sri Lankan wedding but they do 2 a day so on the third day it was feeling a little bit like ground hog day. My children loved the old fashioned lifts which were great fun. It´s a hotel that could be wonderful but isn't quite. It feels a bit lazy in it´s standards, believing that it´s enough to have been great in the past.
Restaurant Tip: Great cocktails
Report this review
Rosanna W. Couples United Kingdom, December 20, 2012
Grand hotel, great views and what we hoped for

Spacious, authentic, clean room. Swimming pool with loungers overlooking the sea also
7
We enjoyed the classic wing as it had character, and a spacious room with a view of the sea and Galle Face Green. The swimming pool was enjoyable and my partner enjoyed the male sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. The female equivalents unfortunately did not work. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, but the bar food in the evening was of a poor standard with poor service too. It was ironic that after staying in many cheap guesthouses with free wifi, the grandest most expensive place we stayed charged a lot for use of wifi.
Travel tip: For wifi - go across the road to the German bar for a drink/food and use their wifi whilst there.
Report this review
Haldis T. Couples Norway, December 20, 2012
Nice, Colonial Style hotel

Good surroundings, the Green, close to the sea
7.7
I liked the athmosphere of the hotel.Nice staff, helpful. The room could have been nicer, but all in all, this is a good hotel that Iwould recommend to others.
Shopping Tip: The Dutch Hospital
Report this review
Charles M. Business travelers Canada, December 20, 2012
Great character hotel, perfect location

Atmosphere, main dining room
8.3
I was here for business and decided to stay at the Galle Face as it looked like an interesting heritage hotel; I was not disappointed. The rooms are a bit old - in fact, many parts of the hotel are a bit creaky and have seen better days but this is part of the charm. If you take a walk around the hotel, especially late at night when things are deserted, it feels like one has gone back in time. Indeed, many of the furnishings, signs, even the elevators, seem to be from the turn of the last century. There are nicer hotels in Colombo (just across the street is the Taj) but given the choice, I'd stay at the Galle Face. One tip: Upon check-in, ask to get a room in the newer part of the hotel(I think they call them the regency rooms). It's in the more modern part of the hotel and the rooms are definitely nicer.
Report this review
Jaya G. Families with young children Australia, December 19, 2012
Great Stay

Historical hotel, good service, great food
8.3
We had a great stay at Galle Face. What a way to start our trip to Sri Lanka with a stay at GF. The atmosphere was great, the location was great, the overall service was excellent. Could not have asked for a better stay. We still talk about GF fondly today.
Travel tip: The Regency Wing is the pick of the rooms for its view and comfort.
Report this review
Richard G. Couples United Kingdom, December 17, 2012
Unique experience

historical landmark hotel beautifully situated on ocean front
7.7
we stayed one night on arrival in colombo and got upgraded to the amazing thai royal suite. galle face hotel is a historical landmark hotel beautifully situated on ocean front next to lively galle face. it's a great experience but hotel let down by poor maintenance - eg, a trickle of cold water from shower - and by diversification into a wedding parlour. a function with loud music until 11.30pm - 5am for us - and then a ginger baker style drum solo starting at 9am (monday morning) heralding the first of assembly line weddings. also, wifi unreasonably expensive and need to pay for each device separately. overall, recommend for the unique experience but not if you need to catch up on sleep or reliant on hot water.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - South Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BeachGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LibraryGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C03