Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite with balcony Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - South Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Spa
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Library Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Room
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

from 1236 reviews

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1236)
Sort by:
Henry L. Solo travelers United States of America, November 27, 2012
Charming colonial hotel w/ a ton of character

Colonial architecture, breakfast, ocean view, huge room
10
Staying here really makes you feel like you're reliving history. You can choose to stay in either the older colonial section or the upgraded and more modern part of the hotel. The newer section reminded me too much of your typical sterile Hiltons or Marriotts of the world. Figured when am I ever going to have a chance to stay at such a grand and historic place again. So I chose the older section. I got a huge modern bed in a massive room that's bigger than many apartments I know back in San Francisco! Dark hardwood floors, tables and chairs with a great view of the beach. The breakfast buffet is an absolute must. You can feast on traditional Sri Lankan curry along with made-to-order omelettes, pancakes and fresh tropical fruit. Seating is in the open patio area at the vast hotel garden overlooking the Indian Ocean. Nothing beats sipping coffee or Ceylon tea with a warm, morning sea breeze and palm trees surrounding you. In the afternoon, the same patio area becomes a festive place for beers and cocktails. The sunsets here are absolutely gorgeous and should not be missed! Prices are pretty reasonable considering you'll get to live the life of a wealthy British tea plantation owner from the 1800's for a few days. I'd definitely stay here again!
Kalasalingam S. Solo travelers India, November 27, 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile

Nice rooms, quiet location, helpful staff
8
My stay in the hotel was pleasant, the room was clean, the staff was helpfull, a big plus is the big showerroom, the room was not that big but, for sleeping it was very comfortable
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Opposite to Beach. Awesome Location / Center of the City. Accessible to all place.
Allyson F. Solo travelers Australia, November 24, 2012
Lovely Heritage Hotel with charm

Breakfast Buffet
8
Its a beautifull hotel, not cheap though but worth it. I stayed in the Regency Wing which was nice, a view of the ocean and I could hear the waves. The breakfast was fabulous, lots of choice good service and I was lucky enough to see a wedding party being photographed in the garden. The staff could have helped me more with sightseeing information and when I tipped the man who carried my bags to the room he wasnt impressed and let me know,it was 2 am I was tired from a long journey and wasnt use to the Rup.
Travel tip: sit for a long time eating breakfast and watching whats going on
Audrey N. Couples United Kingdom, November 24, 2012
Fantastic hotel steeped in history

the staff are so helpful and warm, the ocean view is lovely
7.7
Really enjoyed the stay, the staff were so helpful and allowed us to shower in the spa in order to freshen up before our late flight. The history of the hotel is fascinating and it is a popular choice for weddings so you frequently see local wedding dances in the reception! Our room was a bit old but perfectly clean and comfortable. The Verrandah bar affords a gorgeous view of the ocean and the cocktails are pretty good too!
Kate J. Couples United Kingdom, November 23, 2012
Classic location and ambiance, rooms need updating

Classic location and ambiance, sunset overlooking sea
6.3
Galle Face Hotel has a fantastic location by the sea and by Galle Face Green. The terrace and garden overlooking the sea are a wonderful place to meet early evening. However, some rooms need an upgrade.
Restaurant Tip: Ministry of Crab
Nicholas C. Groups United Kingdom, November 23, 2012
Historic hotel in unbeatable location

Friendly and helpful staff
7
The Classic Wing is a piece of history, and if some of the bathrooms are a bit tired, the character and atmosphere of the hotel more than make up for it. Airy entrance lobby, often peopled by wedding couples and guests in all their finery. Views out over the ocean, whether for sunset drinks on the chequer-board terrace, or dinner at the Seaspray Restaurant, or breakfast under the arcaded verandah, or a swim in the salt-water pool. An oasis amongst the clamour and traffic of central Colombo, all still in easy reach. A world-class hotel, worth a journey.
Graeme H. Couples Australia, November 23, 2012
opulence from a past era

large spacious rooms filled with the sounds of ocean waves from the open windows
8
We regret not staying longer. This hotel is a class above many other offerings in Colombo. Although we stayed the next night at the Hilton we returned to Galle Face Hotel for dinner and drinks. Our first night over a week holiday ended as our first choice for accomodation overall. While others offered luxury , location and/or great views there was just something about this hotel which greatly impressed the two of us and our travelling companions. I wouldn't change a thing.
Bon-Chu C. Solo travelers Taiwan, November 21, 2012
all right although not the best

by the sea and good view
6.3
Old European style with elegant decoration. Good sized swimming pool but open only from 7 AM to 7 PM. I hoped to but did not have time to enjoy the pool. If it can open from 6 AM to 10 PM, it will be great. Room quite old, but spacious and adequate.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: I used the tricycles when I went out. I am not used to negotiating the price for each trip, but it was a must. I was very happy when one of the drivers used meter for his fare.
Alan R. Couples Australia, November 21, 2012
great old hotel renovation

great old hotel that has been thoughtfully renovated to currnt standards
7.7
We have styed both side of this grand old hotel, and recommend it as an experience of excellent old style accommodation. Oddly, the sense of service in the newer renovation - the Regency side_ is more aloof and less welcoming than it is on the older side, which we preferred . The newer side has a much more attractively finished bathroom and of course higher prices
Travel tip: the verandah and garden facing the ocean is delightful for breakfast, sundown and an evening meal
Laimonas S. Families with young children Lithuania, November 21, 2012
Small room but was comfortable

Breakfast was great!!!
8.7
We had our 8 months old son with us and it was good cos they provided us a baby cot. The room was bit small but was comfortable!!! Breakfast was great! We like this hotel and recommend to others with young babies!!!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite with balconyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - South Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BeachGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LibraryGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C06