or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1217 reviews

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1217)
Sort by:
Kevin B. Couples United Kingdom, November 12, 2012
Beautiful colonial hotel with great service

Colonial styling and service,
9
The Galle Face hotel is a ex-British colonial heritage hotel and retains much of the architecture, furniture and service (afternoon tea, plenty of staff on hand, plus a human scarecrow). We found this hotel a great and interesting place to stay. Don't expect to much from the rooms as the furniture/decor is not modern and there is an aroma of an old dwelling but don't be put off as this all adds to the charm of this place. Overall, we loved our stay here but recommend the Cinnamon hotels or similar if you are looking for something more modern and less characteristic of Sri Lanka.
Restaurant Tip: Visit the Spray restaurant for the buffet - beautiful setting beside the sea, fresh seafood cooked to order and live music was provided
Vijayesh R. Couples Malaysia, November 12, 2012
Character hotel but poor maintenance

A lot of character from this old colonial building
5.3
The stay was wonderful. The hotel food was great. However, the room entrance door as flimsy and was loose. The lock had been tampered before and was never fixed. We spent like 2 minutes trying to get into our room. The toilet bowl was leaking. I did not mind the colonial look but they should maintain the facilities.
Hotel Feature Tip: The Sri Lankan food at this hotel is good.
Manvendra U. Couples India, November 12, 2012
Good Location but extremely BAD service

location
4.3
One of the worst heritage hotels I have seen until now with small rooms and extremely bad service standards. People don't greet you with smile, put phones down on you and do not even try to understand what simple courtesy means. Its getting all its visitors due to the old charm / heritage building fuss etc. but this hotel is not worth any penny u spend. Rooms worse than a simple 3 star hotel and service worse than a motel.
Hotel Feature Tip: Next to the sea.
Fiona M. Couples United Kingdom, November 11, 2012
Beautiful old hotel

The balcony rooms
5.7
The room we booked was awful, it smelled of cooking, there was a wedding on in the hotel and the music was so loud in our room that we paid to upgrade to a room further away with sea view and balcony. Our original room was not worth the money.
Hotel Feature Tip: Only worth staying if you have a balcony
Siegbert M. Couples November 11, 2012
Quirky ex-colonial grandeur

Wonderful location and views
8.7
Staff gave us the known warm Sri Lankan welcome and were always helpful and competent. Our room had a great view of the Galle Face Green and was very spacious (the size of two modern hotel rooms), albeit in need of renovation, especially the bathroom. We only took breakfast in the hotel, which consisted of a plentiful buffet and some made-to-order dishes, all very appetising and tasty. This place stands out from the big chain hotels with its quirkyness - recommended!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Visit the National Museum in Colombo before setting of on the 'cultural triangle tour', it'll give you a manageable introduction to the history and culture of the ancient capitals.
Gary C. Groups Ireland, November 10, 2012
A Hotel with Class.

A great looking old fashioned hotel, with a lot of history and character.
7
The outside of the Galle Face Hotel says it all with its impressive entrance, old fashioned features and original deco, it is a place with huge character and a throwback to a by-gone era. The breakfast was wonderful and the facities were very good. It also has a great view of the ocean which you can enjoy at breakfast.
Hotel Feature Tip: The breakfast is a must!
Katherine R. Couples Australia, November 7, 2012
Great Hotel - good first stop in Sri Lanka

Good service- Great location
8.3
We enjoyed every minute of our stay, good room - great view
Restaurant Tip: Food stalls on the green at night - tasty and inexpensive
Alan R. Couples Australia, November 6, 2012
Splendid antique hotel

large airy comfortable suites with great service
8.3
A great way to relax when you first arrive in Sri lanka, the Classic side of the GFH provides excellent food and beverage service, a great location at the ocean edge, and the large old rooms remind us of the age of luxury before our present age of comfort. not that they are at all uncomfortable, but the bathrooms are a bit passe with rather old style fittings in the ressing space, but fine vaslue for money focused on what really matter
Restaurant Tip: Ministry of Crab makes a great evening out after cocktails on the GFh front lawn
Anthony P. Couples United Kingdom, November 5, 2012
Quaint old fashioned hotel

Great fantastic food both breakfasts and dinners
6.7
The hotel boasts friendly staff we did not find so. Our room was not ready at 2.30 in the afternoon of our arrival and we were not offered any drinks or any kind of compensation. The porter showed us to our room and left ......no explanations etc. The food was the only saving grace, breakfast and dinner were magical, food choice was amazing and plenty of it.
Hotel Feature Tip: If you disliked th room then most people have complained and got an upgrade.
Adam R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 5, 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile

close to airport
10
This is a nice hotel. Whenver I have any friend to visit, i will recommanded this hotel. Great location, close to the airport. Staffs are very helpful and all service are accessible. Will definitely come back.
Travel tip: Get personal drivers

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BeachGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3B02