Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1166 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1166)
Sort by:
Mark L. Couples Australia, October 3, 2012
Omg what a magnificent old building

Location and room size
10
Great room size and facilities staff helpful service great value for money but book early!! This room class worth every cent
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Take easy walk along galle face green for a snack pettah is close and so s cricket ground or cin gardens for swanky shopping
Stephen S. Couples United Kingdom, October 3, 2012
Much better than the reviews! Great!

Lovely room, view, heritage and service
9.7
With some trepidation booked this hotel given some of the reviews of poor service. Couldn't have been more wrong. The service was excellent. The room better than expectations: genuinely historic, large, but nicely redone. Breakfast excellent and outside. Best part is the location and views. We will be back. Only downside was Agoda adding a USD 50 surcharge after booking, with no explanation. Watch out for this.
Arun A. Business travelers India, October 2, 2012
horrible experience

opposite taj samudra and close to cinnamon grand
3.3
This was one of the most disgusting experience of staying in so called 5 star hotel. The air conditioned in the rooms were outdated and we had to switch on the fan alongwith the a/c. We could see cockroaches in the restaurant/Bar area. There were ants on the walls. The elevator was outdated and at times not working. Overall the stay was disgusting and since this was peak season due to Cricket matches and other hotels were full, we had no option but to continue our stay. Please dont recommend this disgusting hotel to any other travellers.
Siva S. Couples Australia, October 1, 2012
Great Hotel with deep in culture. Amazing service

100+ years of tradition still preserved at it's best
10
From the time we arrived and until we left, we could not have asked for any better service. From the receptionist to the duty manager to the restaurants, everyone was amazing and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.
Murtaza Z. Groups Pakistan, October 1, 2012
Good Hotel with good friendly service

Grand layout - Good Location - Good Service - tunning View
8
I went there with friends for a sporting competition. The staff were all friendly and helpful and they had competent people at their travel desk. So felt well taken care of. However, their poolside food and service was really bad, the only sour point, otherwise its a good hotel.
Kathryn C. Groups Canada, September 29, 2012
Lovely hotel and warm staff on the new side

Nice location and salt water pool
7.3
Our room was on the old side, it smelled like food (strongly, like indian) and we had to ask them to bring some towels. The veranada and pool were awesome though and the location seemed pretty convenient.
Emily C. Couples Australia, September 29, 2012
Beautiful hotel - although has seen better days

Historically it is very interesting to see - very classic hotel straight out of a 60's movie
5.7
we were happy overall with this hotel although it wasnt as great as other hotels we have stayed at in sri lanka. we were told 5 times to wait '5 more minutes' and ended up taking around 1 hour to get our hotel room (while sweltering in the heat of the lobby) - although we were upgraded to a better room so that was nice. the staff seem bored + the deco is a little tired. quality of food at breakfast was very poor but sitting outside drinking coctails at night was absolutely stunning + i think you must visit this place if you are in colombo.
Chris M. Couples New Zealand, September 29, 2012
Old World Charmer

Great character, fantastic seaside location.
9.3
We spent our last two days in Sri Lanka at the Galle Face hotel and loved it. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was so kind and added to an overall enjoyable experience.
Shopping Tip: Great designer brand shopping to be had at House of Fashion at unbelievably low prices.
Fabian S. Couples United States of America, September 29, 2012
Nice iconic hotel

location, ambiance
6.7
I stayed in the classic wing, it's the older wing. THe rooms are aged and not up to standard. The bathroom is old. The hotel is beautiful, the new wing seems much better but I did not see the rooms. I would recommend staying in the newer wing. The staff is friendly but you need to be patient in Sri Lanka as people work and live at a much slower pace
Restaurant Tip: have a cocktail in the hotel oceanfront bar. The seafood restaurant was very good as well.
Carolanne S. Solo travelers United Kingdom, September 27, 2012
Lovely grand hotel that' seen better days

Old-fashioned service
7
Perfect location but rooms in the old wing desperately need renovation. If you like old-fashioned service it's the place for you. Food quality very good. Great Room Service breakfast. Just one irritation: I had booked and paid in advance for 7 nights. On my 5th day I had a family bereavement in the UK and advised the hotel I would be leaving one day early. I did not ask for a refund for the 7th night although I was giving them 24 hours notice, but they (The Reception staff on instruction I understand of the Reception Manager) made a point of telling me they would not make a refund. I thought that an unnecessary comment.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BeachGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3C02