or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1184 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1184)
Sort by:
Carolanne S. Solo travelers United Kingdom, September 27, 2012
Lovely grand hotel that' seen better days

Old-fashioned service
7
Perfect location but rooms in the old wing desperately need renovation. If you like old-fashioned service it's the place for you. Food quality very good. Great Room Service breakfast. Just one irritation: I had booked and paid in advance for 7 nights. On my 5th day I had a family bereavement in the UK and advised the hotel I would be leaving one day early. I did not ask for a refund for the 7th night although I was giving them 24 hours notice, but they (The Reception staff on instruction I understand of the Reception Manager) made a point of telling me they would not make a refund. I thought that an unnecessary comment.
Sokharith S. Business travelers Cambodia, September 26, 2012
Lovely hotel and very attentive staff

Very nice location on the beach
8.3
This is the oldest hotel in the city for its age but the hotel is in very good condition. Very nice hotel, room facing the sea, gives very nice ocean view. Location is very convenience. Nice snack and seafood BBQ for diner while enjoying the sunset. Very old hotel with culture rich of Sri Lanka, with very good service.
Tan V. Business travelers Singapore, September 25, 2012
Colonial Style hotel with Great sea-view

Seaview
6.3
Hotel room was just OK, breakfast was not too bad. The staff friendly and the sea-view is fantastic. However the sea is too rough for anyone to swim. Love the colonial facade, location is downtown central, walking distance to shopping area. Overall, good hotel, reasonable rates & good central location with nice seaview.
Beth M. Couples Australia, September 24, 2012
Lovely old building

The building and the sunset
8.7
Perfect location, an amazing old building and friendly staff
Nilesh M. Couples United States of America, September 24, 2012
Beautiful Location

location is pretty
7.7
older property, slightly beat up friendly staff excellent travel desk. i highly recommend to get your vehicle and driver from their travel desk. they were extremely helpful and if possible request a driver by the name guneratne for your travel needs. he is an outstanding human being who went out of his way to help my wife and i during our eleven days in sri lanka.
Travel tip: For your travel needs while in Sri Lanka, contact the travel desk and ask for driver Guneratne who will take care of you like a family member.
Brett T. Business travelers United Kingdom, September 23, 2012
Wonderful view

Views and historic nature of the hotel
8
very nice stay, rooms are quite old even in the regency wing but the views and service make up for it, the food is good even though quite slow at times overall a very enjoyable 2 days
Stephen F. Solo travelers Australia, September 23, 2012
Great character hotel on the ocean

Hotel location
6.7
We visited as part of a group for the cricket world cup and the hotel was a great base for that. There is a lovely bar area close to the ocean which provides great breezes. The hotel has bags of character and staff were friendly and provided great help in organizing transport and agendas. Only let down was the food, which at times was poorly cooked.
Hotel Feature Tip: Choose the renovated wing if you can !
Eric P. Business travelers Canada, September 22, 2012
great service,great location,great staff

like walking thru time
9
love the galle face hotel i feel i am back in the fifty's. Great service. THe old part of the hotel would need a face lift but then again its what makes it,s charm. The staff always great there polite and ready to help for any demands.
Ben F. Solo travelers Australia, September 22, 2012
Room 101 was Awful

Good in the Regency Section - but steer clear of Classic
3.7
I've been to better backpackers than this 4 OR 5 star hotel & certainly for a lot less money. * The red paint on the floor flaked off covering my feet and the bed. * The tv was a 34cm tube tv from the 80's with limited channels (better tvs are common elsewhere in sri lanka) * Room 101 shares walls with a foyer area used by staff & a function room which held the preparations for a wedding at 4.30am onwards Avoid.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: There aren't a huge amount of attractions in Colombo...so don't be worried about location. A tuk-tuk up to the more developed area of town (Dutch Hospital) is about 100 SL Rupees (or A$0.70)
Kerry W. Couples United Kingdom, September 22, 2012
Lovely hotel, full of history

Overlooking the sea, next to the promenade, beautiful pool
8.7
Stayed for 1 night before flying home Good facilities if you are hanging around waiting to go to the airport Breakfast very good Room in old part of hotel is full of character (like something from an Agatha Christie novel) but could probably do with refreshing a little Good sport bar attached to the hotel

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BeachGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3C08