Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Library Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Entrance Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Room
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Entrance Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Entrance Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.7

based on
1289 reviews

972 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (1289)
Sort by:
Andrew B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, December 4, 2012
beautiful but badly managed

beautiful pool and verandah restaurant
6.7
the galleface is a superb building but management are only interested in making money....charges for rooms, wifi etc are too high, and there are literally 3 weddings a day every day with 100's of guests which really spoil the peace and quiet of the hotel
Hotel Feature Tip: stay somewhere else quieter and cheaper and just buy a dailly pool ticket or use the restaurants
Report this review
Derek F. Solo travelers United Kingdom, December 4, 2012
Comfortable stay in luxury historic hotel

location, dining on the verandah, pool with a view
7
Stayed in the old wing facing Galle Face Green. On the first day, there was a loud concert and the music made the old windows shake. Don't stay on this side if you see a stage outside the main entrance.However, the room and the bathroom were large and had a comfortable stay in this historic hotel. There seemed to be a constant procession of Sri Lankan wedding parties which adds colour and a local touch to the lobby. Highly recommended.
Report this review
Bill G. Couples Australia, December 3, 2012
Regency Wing and restaurant are wonderful

Location and atmosphere
7.7
initially booked a suite in old wing - looked like it had not been swept since 1864 and street noise was excessive - but arranged transfer to regency suite. very grand indeed! fine dining restaurant and seafood buffet by the seafront were excellent.
Report this review
Andrew B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, December 3, 2012
Amazing old colonial architecture and charm

the architecture, the pool, the food
6.7
I have been staying at The Galleface for 25 years. It has always retained a certain magic because of its location and history. But the rooms in the classic wing are now seiously overpriced. Service is friendly but incompetent. And the Sri Lankan weddings with their rowdy disco parties which occurred EVERY afternoon and night i stayed in the hotel ballroom, seriously infringe on guests peace, quiet and privacy. Still i may stay again. The hotel itself is beautiful. Book a night if you love colonial architecture and history, and see if that, and the good food outweighs the inconveniences
Shopping Tip: You have to visit BAREFOOT, its a home interiors shop, the biggest brach is at Bamblipittiya, a 15 minute walk up the galleroad. It has amazing softfurnishing and a fantastic garden cafe and art gallery. one of the nicest places on the island
Report this review
Karen J. Business travelers United Kingdom, December 3, 2012
Lovely hotel of another era

Regency rooms
4.3
Regency rooms are quite nice but never stay in old part.. I stayed along time ago and it was pretty run down but had certain charm . It was very inexpensive so one did not worry too much. But now it is far too expensive , more run down . And really unacceptable. Service is appalling, food to good,, staff unhelpful. Would never stay again.
Report this review
Lorraine T. Solo travelers Australia, December 1, 2012
Wonderful setting, very historical

The outdoors areas, verandah, garden and pool excellent
7.7
A grand old hotel, rooms in Classic section very jaded and a bit musty, but overall the service is wonderful, the food great, and the outside areas fantastic. Staff were exceptional.
Hotel Feature Tip: Many weddings are held here, this you a chance to see all the preparations, the brides and grooms and their attendants, and also in some cases the Kandyan Dancers performing a welcome in the foyer.
Report this review
Azusa O. Groups Japan, November 30, 2012
Lovely traditional hotel

nice location
9.3
Our room was upgraded to suite, which was huge! Food was excellent, relaxing in and by the pool was really nice.
Nightlife Tip: Although hotel restaurants are very good, there are food stalls along Galle Face.
Report this review
Henry L. Solo travelers United States of America, November 27, 2012
Charming colonial hotel w/ a ton of character

Colonial architecture, breakfast, ocean view, huge room
10
Staying here really makes you feel like you're reliving history. You can choose to stay in either the older colonial section or the upgraded and more modern part of the hotel. The newer section reminded me too much of your typical sterile Hiltons or Marriotts of the world. Figured when am I ever going to have a chance to stay at such a grand and historic place again. So I chose the older section. I got a huge modern bed in a massive room that's bigger than many apartments I know back in San Francisco! Dark hardwood floors, tables and chairs with a great view of the beach. The breakfast buffet is an absolute must. You can feast on traditional Sri Lankan curry along with made-to-order omelettes, pancakes and fresh tropical fruit. Seating is in the open patio area at the vast hotel garden overlooking the Indian Ocean. Nothing beats sipping coffee or Ceylon tea with a warm, morning sea breeze and palm trees surrounding you. In the afternoon, the same patio area becomes a festive place for beers and cocktails. The sunsets here are absolutely gorgeous and should not be missed! Prices are pretty reasonable considering you'll get to live the life of a wealthy British tea plantation owner from the 1800's for a few days. I'd definitely stay here again!
Report this review
Kalasalingam S. Solo travelers India, November 27, 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile

Nice rooms, quiet location, helpful staff
8
My stay in the hotel was pleasant, the room was clean, the staff was helpfull, a big plus is the big showerroom, the room was not that big but, for sleeping it was very comfortable
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Opposite to Beach. Awesome Location / Center of the City. Accessible to all place.
Report this review
Allyson F. Solo travelers Australia, November 24, 2012
Lovely Heritage Hotel with charm

Breakfast Buffet
8
Its a beautifull hotel, not cheap though but worth it. I stayed in the Regency Wing which was nice, a view of the ocean and I could hear the waves. The breakfast was fabulous, lots of choice good service and I was lucky enough to see a wedding party being photographed in the garden. The staff could have helped me more with sightseeing information and when I tipped the man who carried my bags to the room he wasnt impressed and let me know,it was 2 am I was tired from a long journey and wasnt use to the Rup.
Travel tip: sit for a long time eating breakfast and watching whats going on
Report this review
Previous page 391 - 400 of 972 reviews Next page
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LibraryGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B07