Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.7

based on 1318 reviews

996 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (1318)
Sort by:
Marius S. Business travelers Canada, December 17, 2012
beautiful hotel great location

location
6.7
historic hotel well appointed, beautiful view of the ocean. staff needs training and can definitely improve customer assistance. Had NO phone service in the room from check in to check out, after letting staff know numerous times this was not fixed. Needed to order room service, had to use cell phone and call reception and have them transfer to kitchen. very disappointed.
Report this review
Wilfried L. Families with young children Germany, December 17, 2012
Faded Glamour - be careful....

great location at the sea side - nice if you like historical, heritage hotels
4.3
We arrived late night and were totally shocked about the room. they booked us into a smelly old suite room at the road side with a shabby old Bath room (hasn't seen renovation since 30 years). The Mini Bar was empty (but they ask me at the check out if I have had anything from the MINI Bar. After 20 mins discussion at the reception that we will not take that room, I found out that they are overbook (-8 rooms !!) as it was Colombo Night Race and weddings, ... No chance to change the room; in the end we got a diner for free, but drinks not included. The service seems overall not capable to handle our requests...
Report this review
David H. Couples United States of America, December 15, 2012
Horrible, smelly rooms in the classic wing

the exterior is the only nice thing about this hotel
3
we were expecting a little faded glory from the galle face, but it turned out to be the worst hotel we stayed at in sri lanka. the exterior is very nice and the lobby and restaurants look nice. but the rooms -- at least the one we had -- in the classic room are absolutely disgusting. if you are handed the key to room, hand it back and run. it was run down and dingy and the stench of stale cigarette was embedded in everything. the wallpaper was coming apart by the seems. the beds felt like a big lump of ancient mattress springs and there were no blankets, just threadbare sheets. that's probably because the huge, noisy a/c with streaks of mildew isn't so powerful. the bathroom was something out of the 1970s. it was all just shockingly awful. the food at the verandah was tasted ok, but i felt sick later. we did try a light meal at the bar. everything was straight out of the microwave. the beef pie consists of dried up bits of "meat" in a sauce covered with a lump of mashed potatoes. the open faced sandwich with cheese was microwaved so much that the bread was hard to bite through. even the cocktails are awful. i would suggest finding a nice hotel elsewhere and just visiting the galle face to have a look around.
Report this review
Rajendra G. Solo travelers Australia, December 14, 2012
grand old hotel

the bar, location
7.3
Great bar. Room have a "colonial" feel. Bathroom was modern but bathtub was stained with an odd paint colour. Breakfast for vegetarians was pretty poor
Report this review
Nidhi R. Couples India, December 14, 2012
Less hygiene..Room could have been better.

Good Location
3.7
Overall stay was not very Great. Room hygiene and conditions is not good. Bath tub was pathetic.
Restaurant Tip: Be careful while choosing food.
Report this review
Tina W. Couples United Kingdom, December 14, 2012
Fantastic location, rooms in need of upgrade

Location, swimming pool and grounds
5.7
Best location on the coast with a good pool and sunbathing area. It's worth it to recover from your long haul flight just lazing in the sun as there is not much to do in Columbo. The rooms are very dated. Look like they were last decorated in 1960 and have been constantly patched up ever since. A bit dusty and tardy really and very noisy as you can hear your neighbours walking around through the wooden floors. We stayed 2 seperate occasions and had the same problem with noise. It;s OK for 1 night stops on arrival/departure and can recommend the restaurants. The fine dinning was particualrly good value with 3 courses, wine & liquers fro arounf £40 per head for excellent quality food.
Hotel Feature Tip: Request a room in the new wing that is being renovated. Apparenty they are smaller but better
Report this review
Jay S. Couples United States of America, December 13, 2012
Beautiful Classic hotel! Grand rooms, Sea view!

Sea-side location, grand rooms, architecture
9
Lovely place. We stayed in the Modern Wing which was HUGE and lovely. The bathroom itself was larger than many other hotel rooms! The location by the sea is also amazing. It's a great place to chill by the ocean. The buffet is great, you can eat and chill overlooking the sea. The service is good, and it's just wonderful being in such a beautiful historic hotel.
Report this review
Corinne W. Groups United Kingdom, December 12, 2012
Not worth the rate charged for the room

Entrance, ambience, position
7
Stayed with my 82 year-old mother in a Deluxe Classic Wing room which was large with post war utility furniture. Booked twin but given double. In desperate need of updating, especially the bathroom which was very old fashioned and in need of a good clean. Staff lovely as was the view from the room.
Restaurant Tip: Inn on the Green just around the corner was excellent
Report this review
Jenny M. Couples Australia, December 11, 2012
Exceptional service and old world charm

Grest location, lovely old buildings and amazing service
9.7
a real gem of a hotel. we loved our stay here and felt like we had stepped back in time! the hotel has a lot of history and charm. the service is outstanding. the location is also excellent - walking along the galle face green at sunset is lovely. breakfast was very nice but dinner was a bit average. get a tuk tuk into town very cheaply for a nice meal instead.
Restaurant Tip: have an 'old world charm' cocktail at sunset in the bar overlooking the ocean.
Report this review
Swapna G. Solo travelers United States of America, December 10, 2012
Big Big Hotel with a beautiful Sea View

Location
7
As a solo traveller and after staying in boutique hotels, this was different. In my opinion if you are looking at a beautiful sea view and a big hotel, this is the place to stay. yes it's colonial architecture and beautiful old style rooms that takes you back to an era. BUt for me, it did not work more so because it's so impersonal. Huge hotel, lots of guests coming in and going no personal service but that's me talking. I feel its more for big groups, or a business travel stay and more so if you are having a wedding there!
Report this review
Previous page 391 - 400 of 996 reviews Next page
Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Terrace at The Traveller’s BarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Traveller’s Bar TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The ChequerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Traveller’s BarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Verandah (First Level)Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - View from Pool Bar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Pool with Sea ViewsGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing Main EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Conference Center LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom 3Galle Face Hotel Colombo - The LibraryGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Conservatory Linking Grand Ballroom & Junior BallroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom with New Lighting SystemGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Ballroom with New Lighting SystemGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior BallroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Library Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference FacilitiesGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The 1864Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant’s MuralGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Pool Bar at NightGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Croquet Lawn with South Galle Face Hotel Colombo - ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom 2Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - reading porchGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Library BooksGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Corridor Connecting the North and South WingGalle Face Hotel Colombo - AntiquitiesGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing - Premier RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Overlooking the OceanGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Landmark RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - superior roomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Main Lobby in the North WingGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Palm Lounge Galle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Palm LoungeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Lobby with MuralGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing - Second Floor LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Main Lobby


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B02