Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - South Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Library
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

from 1249 reviews

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1249)
Sort by:
Alan R. Couples Australia, November 6, 2012
Splendid antique hotel

large airy comfortable suites with great service
8.3
A great way to relax when you first arrive in Sri lanka, the Classic side of the GFH provides excellent food and beverage service, a great location at the ocean edge, and the large old rooms remind us of the age of luxury before our present age of comfort. not that they are at all uncomfortable, but the bathrooms are a bit passe with rather old style fittings in the ressing space, but fine vaslue for money focused on what really matter
Restaurant Tip: Ministry of Crab makes a great evening out after cocktails on the GFh front lawn
Report this review
Anthony P. Couples United Kingdom, November 5, 2012
Quaint old fashioned hotel

Great fantastic food both breakfasts and dinners
6.7
The hotel boasts friendly staff we did not find so. Our room was not ready at 2.30 in the afternoon of our arrival and we were not offered any drinks or any kind of compensation. The porter showed us to our room and left ......no explanations etc. The food was the only saving grace, breakfast and dinner were magical, food choice was amazing and plenty of it.
Hotel Feature Tip: If you disliked th room then most people have complained and got an upgrade.
Report this review
Adam R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 5, 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile

close to airport
10
This is a nice hotel. Whenver I have any friend to visit, i will recommanded this hotel. Great location, close to the airport. Staffs are very helpful and all service are accessible. Will definitely come back.
Travel tip: Get personal drivers
Report this review
Saliya K. Families with older children Sri Lanka, November 3, 2012
Grand Historic Hotel

Old beauty, Sea view
8
The old times charm was mesmorising. Greeted by the doreman in an ancient ministrial dress was very impressive. Reception was fast and friendly. Staf was charming all round but felt that there wasn't enough to service this massive old place. Resturats and coffee shop all has sea front. All in all a memorable day, sorry that the stay wwas only one day.
Restaurant Tip: Sea food is excellent and cheap
Report this review
Randy M. Solo travelers United States of America, November 2, 2012
Grand Hotel

The beautiful architecture.
8.3
The stay was pleasant and the classic rooms were big. The big disappointment is that the spa was being reinovated and since the monsoon came in there wasn't much to do.
Hotel Feature Tip: The spa is currently out of service.
Report this review
William K. Couples Canada, November 2, 2012
Amazing hotel steeped in history

Hotel (historic) features, service, location
10
Our stay at the Galle Face Hotel was a real treat. From the time we arrived until the time we left, we were treated very well. Our room was in the classic wing and it did not disappoint. It is true that the rooms in this wing are older, but if you are a history buff this is definitely where you want to be. We were given a huge room (the biggest I believe that I have ever stayed in) that had a great view of the coastline and the Galle Face Green. Even though there were high winds and torrential rain for most of our stay, there was plenty to see and do in and around the hotel. You can spend quite a bit of time just touring around the hallways checking out the historic pictures and plaques. We had a fun and enjoyable dinner at the Sea Spray restaurant on our first evening (the high winds and rain added drama to the meal) and finished off our night with a cocktail in the colonial flavored “Veranda” bar. Absolutely no complaints. My wife and I would love to stay here again!
Restaurant Tip: If you feel the need for variety, there is a great German restaurant across from the hotel called The Bavarian. We had a nice meal there. However, the hotel restaurants are excellent and have a great atmosphere.
Report this review
Daniel S. Couples United Kingdom, November 2, 2012
A great hotel experience, as always

Beautiful old hotel, excellent service, comfort.
8.7
we have stayed at the galle face before and, as we found ourselves in colombo again, there was no other choice. the hotel itself if beautiful, the setting superb and the service first class. we spent the first night of our stay in the classic wing: unrenovated and not as nice as the regency wing (i would recommend the regency - the extra outlay is worth it). unfortunately, that was the night that cyclone nilam hit colombo. the floor above us was being renovated and, at about 10pm, there was an almighty crash from above and water started trickling down our wall. we called downstairs, but the man who came to check just told us that it was because of the weather and not to worry. we thought that the roof of the floor above (the top floor) might have blown off, but we were told this was not the case. it was the case, however, and at 2am we were woken by water pouring through the ceiling. this time, we were rapidly moved to the room in the regency wing that we had booked for the following night. this aside, we had another wonderful stay: high tea was delicious, as always and we had two good nights at the in (sic) on the green pub. also, the hotel is currently undergoing renovations, so many of the facilities are unavailable: my wife had been looking forward to spa treatments, but the spa was shut. as were all the shops.
Shopping Tip: Make sure you visit House of Fashions, especially for extremely cheap branded menswear (Boss shirts for 1200 rupees, for example). A tuctuc there should cost about 200 rupees.
Report this review
Kristy M. Solo travelers United States of America, November 1, 2012
Location, location, location

location
8.3
The first time I stayed here I was in the Classic wing and this time I tried the Regency wing, which is the one to stay in. I booked a superior room but got upgraded to a suite. The room was very comfortable and had a jacuzzi tub and shower. The staff were friendly and the restaurants had good. Because it storming I couldn't enjoy the outside areas, which are really the reason for staying at this hotel.
Report this review
Adeeb K. Solo travelers United Kingdom, October 29, 2012
Great location, rooms and service not so

Location
5.3
Stayed at the "Classic" wing.Not as clean as it should have been. Housekeeping not professional enough.
Hotel Feature Tip: Avoid "classic" wing unless you have to.
Report this review
Avinder S. Couples Malaysia, October 28, 2012
Lovely and Rustic in its splendour

everybody is friendly; prices are reasonable; food is good
7.7
Have been to Cplombo 4 times since 2010 and have always stayed at the Galle face. its a great place to chill out and past the time if you just want to have a quite holiday recuperative holiday
Nightlife Tip: Dutch Hospital
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - South Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BeachGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LibraryGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C07