or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1184 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1184)
Sort by:
Andrew H. Couples United Kingdom, September 6, 2012
Great hotel, but needs some refurbishment;

Location very good;
9.3
Great hotel, with lots of notable visitors over its lifetime (there is a marble list on the reception wall). Room great with a fabulous view ofer the Indian oceon. The one problem was the dinner; expensive and limited choice.
Restaurant Tip: don't have dinner in the restaurant; there is a very good Italian restaurant at Cinnamon Plaza, less than 200 m from the hotel.
Steve S. Couples United Kingdom, September 5, 2012
Fantastic Colonial Hotel

Very grand hotel, oozes class
9
although we only stayed one night, this hotel was great. the staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed a lovely night on in the verandah restaurant overlooking the sea. the only negative was the driver we booked to take us to the airport the next morning; he seemed to try a shortcut when leaving colombo and got lost, and was asking everyone for directions, making us thnk we were going to miss our flight! but overall, the hotel was lovely.
Restaurant Tip: Eat on the verandah, good service and nice food makes for a very pleasant evening
Ismail A. Business travelers Maldives, September 5, 2012
Hotel and location excellent

Old Hotel
5.7
The management is very poor, the 24hour restaurant is not 24 hours as in the information they only provide sandwich and some juice packets. The prices of the transport depends on the driver not the distance or any place.
Hotel Feature Tip: Be careful of your belongings and the mini bar they charge you for things you don't take or use. Using the hotel transportation please check before you leave as the prices depend on the driver.
Thomas M. Couples New Zealand, September 4, 2012
Impressive historical hotel with huge clean rooms

Good location and nice outdoor seating for meals
9
hotel with lots of history sitting next to the galle face lawn which is the meeting point at night for the locals. the hotel is very old but the rooms are clean and have all the amenities you expect in this price range. the restaurants have stunning views over the breaking waves in front of it. service very efficient.
Camille D. Groups France, September 4, 2012
Very disappointed

Nice building
4
We had booked a 3 beds room for one night in the old wing which was supposed to be more charming than the new one. We arrived in the middle of the night from the airport and the room was not ready yet. It took so long. When we showed up at breakfast around 10AM, staff asked us to hurry !!! The room was not that charming or even clean and the bathroom was in poor condition. The spa had no hammam or sauna. Compared to other same range hotels in Sri Lanka it was very very expensive for the quality of the room and service. I hope the new wing is nicer because this hotel is still historical and very central.
Julie B. Solo travelers Australia, September 3, 2012
Did not live up to the photos!

History......
3.7
Very disappointed with this hotel very shabby and tired, needs. a lot of work. Bathroom had mould growing.........
Kim E. Groups Australia, September 3, 2012
Charming old hotel in need of some care

The older wing of the hotel has so much character.
8.7
The suite was great, with views across the Galle Face Green and out to the ocean. One negative point was that the room had two air-conditioners, and neither seemed to cool the room very well.
Stephen H. Couples Australia, September 2, 2012
Huge room with old colonial style and service

We loved the feeling of being in another era this
9.7
this hotel was a great starting place for a sri lankan holiday. the room came with a fantastic buffet breakfast. there was always something to watch or do , weddings to watch , walks at sunset cross the lawns by the sea , swim in the pool etc
Travel tip: The buffet lunch was a work of art and amazingly good value.
Moiz S. Families with young children India, September 2, 2012
Awesome hotel with classic touch and massive rooms

Location is awesome.. Right on the beach despite in a busy location
9.7
I was impressed by the nice service and hospitality.. Hotel has excellent lawn and restaurant which is overlooking the beach.. I will definately stay here again.Only thing negative is that it is a bit pricey compared to other hotels in the vicinity.
Nightlife Tip: This hotel has a night club but make sure not to go in shorts or sports shoes as they will not let u in.. Better dress up in professional smart casual
Gurumurty H. Families with young children India, September 2, 2012
Awesome location but bad service

food, location
6
The hotel is at a fantastic location in colombo... and our room had an amazing view... Food was good too... But, I did not find the staff very helpful (someone came into our room without even knocking)... We did not have a blanket in the room when we were checked in... The furniture was not great (they say it is a heritage hotel but still not worth the price we paid)
Hotel Feature Tip: Dont stay in the top floor --- very hot despite the air cons!!!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BeachGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3A02