Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.7
Based on 1347 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1347 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

Tracy M.
United States
January 05, 2013
true colombo: it doesn't get better
The oceanic suite is a spacious room, with an extremely comfortable bed,and a huge (!) jacuzzi, excellent shower. The room is nicely appointed, but it's the views from the tall windows that will blow you away. The Indian Ocean at its most beautiful, with the pool and famous 'checkerboard' patio below. We welcomed the New Year here, and it's not for those looking for peace and quiet on such a night...!
As usual in Sri Lanka, it's the people who make all the difference: From arrival, to dinner service, breakfast and all things in between, we were continually delighted by the smiles one often only reads about when traveling. The Galle Face Hotel has certainly attracted the best, in terms of service staff! While there, we met both the manager and the assistant manager, and perhaps most telling is that staff appeared to seek out their smiles and warmth, as well. The breakfast is not to be missed -- the best egg hoppers on the island!

Jay S.
United States
January 04, 2013
Beautiful Classic hotel! Grand rooms, Sea view!
Sea-side location, grand rooms, architecture
Lovely place. We stayed in the Modern Wing which was HUGE and lovely. The bathroom itself was larger than many other hotel rooms! The location by the sea is also amazing. It's a great place to chill by the ocean. The buffet is great, you can eat and chill overlooking the sea. The service is good, and it's just wonderful being in such a beautiful historic hotel.

Lorraine L.
United Kingdom
January 04, 2013
Wonderful old colonial hotel
Pool overlooking the sea.
great old style hotel running like a grandfather clock. many functions so great for weddings sri lankan style and traditional costume spotting.

Rolf D.
Sweden
January 04, 2013
Classical and central hotel
Classical and style
A classical and stylich hotel in the central part of Colombo, right on the sea side close to Galle Road and to Galle Face. The stay gives a taste of collonial times.

Tina W.
United Kingdom
January 03, 2013
Fantastic location, rooms in need of upgrade
Location, swimming pool and grounds
Best location on the coast with a good pool and sunbathing area. It's worth it to recover from your long haul flight just lazing in the sun as there is not much to do in Columbo. The rooms are very dated. Look like they were last decorated in 1960 and have been constantly patched up ever since. A bit dusty and tardy really and very noisy as you can hear your neighbours walking around through the wooden floors. We stayed 2 seperate occasions and had the same problem with noise. It;s OK for 1 night stops on arrival/departure and can recommend the restaurants. The fine dinning was particualrly good value with 3 courses, wine & liquers fro arounf £40 per head for excellent quality food.

Tina W.
United Kingdom
January 03, 2013
Good Location but tardy rooms
Location
Location is the best in Columbo as were the rooms back in 1890! Request a room in the renovated block they sound much nicer than the noisy dusty ones we had on both stays. Neverthless it has old colonial charm and well worth a visit. Restaurants are great.

goto T.
Japan
January 02, 2013
Very good hotel
staff service
Staff may support this, the service was good. It is a hotel worth to stay.

Huw I.
United Kingdom
January 02, 2013
Colonnial grandieur, patchy sevice
A Sri Lankan institution with a real sense of presence.
When you arrive at the GFH you really feel as your at the centre of Columbo's priviledged society. There seems to be a constant stream of weddings making its way through the foyer and a mele of staff running around. The Regency wing has been beautifully and expensively renovated in a way that harks back to the Colonnial original. The catering facilities in the hotel are less impressive however. The only place not doing a buffet and not fine dining i.e. suitable for a family with young children was the bar. The menu was very limited and the service awful - by some margin the worst we experienced in SL. The waiters were surly, would walk off mid order, and it was nothing to wait 25 mins for a bottled beer. Shame, as the owners have clearly invested heavily in the infrastructure of the hotel.

Joo A.
Malaysia
January 02, 2013
Great location but service was lacking.
Nice ocean views, great location in city
Some confusion about the type of room we were eligible for, there should have been more detailed information provided for clarity and to avoid misunderstanding. The initial reception person who met us was arrogant and unhelpful. After asking us to wait while he got the room ready, we returned to be told by another person that the room had been given up to someone else! The first guy was there but he kept quiet and ignored us. Luckily a Jamal helped us out of this unpleasant situation.

Jenny M.
Australia
January 02, 2013
Exceptional service and old world charm
Grest location, lovely old buildings and amazing service
a real gem of a hotel. we loved our stay here and felt like we had stepped back in time! the hotel has a lot of history and charm. the service is outstanding. the location is also excellent - walking along the galle face green at sunset is lovely. breakfast was very nice but dinner was a bit average. get a tuk tuk into town very cheaply for a nice meal instead.