Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.7

based on 1328 reviews

1002 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.1
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.3
Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (1328)
Sort by:
Jemima M. Families with older children United Kingdom, August 2, 2015
Charming historical hotel

Delicious food, friendly professional staff, perfect location.
9
Guy L. Couples United Kingdom, July 17, 2015
Old and new

Location, hotel building, food
8.7
Beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting, with a history and a context second to none. The breakfast was the best in Sri Lanka and the setting exquisite, with very good service. The room had character, honouring the old whilst allowing the new - inevitably this means compromises and in this case, because the weather was windy and humid and the windows didn't quite shut, moist air driven in to the room by high winds made the air-conditioning labour - cool but damp. A very minor point however.
Arthur G. Couples United Kingdom, July 9, 2015
Short Stay

The Staff, The Location, The character of the hotel
8.3
We chose this hotel due to its position and long history. We understood that the hotel was being renovated when we booked and we were not seriously inconvenienced by the works. Mr Anthony Paton (GM) was particularly visible around the hotel ensuring that all was running smoothly We would have no hesitation in returning later in the year when the works will have been completed.
Fiona H. Couples United Kingdom, July 6, 2015
First class

Comfort of the room, location, great food
9.3
We arrived at 9am and were given a room straight away. We chose this hotel as a little bit of luxury for one night exactly half way through our tour of Sri Lanka and we weren't disappointed. Knew in advance about the building work at the pool area so it didn't spoil our trip in any way. Very very comfortable room with all the facilities you would need. Our room view was poor but that didn't concern us any. Food was excellent although a bit pricey perhaps. Good wine choices. Fabulous staff, pleasant, polite, attentive but discreet. Overall we had a great stay and would love to return some day.
Yuncheul K. Solo travelers South Korea, June 30, 2015
good location!

good location. formal and good service. old-fashioned but clean room.
9
Rosalind C. Solo travelers United Kingdom, June 14, 2015
A colonial Type

Father stayed here in the 1950's. The old Tradition has gone with the genteel decay. Staff very professional IN the hotel NOT the outside bar. Location has always been superb...on the maiden.
7.3
Why oh why was I not told hotel being renovated so half of it closed. Sho king surprise. Pool in building site. Crows and vermin at outside bar eating off my table. Trust renovation completed in Sinhalese style and not thai.
Law C. Couples Hong Kong, June 1, 2015
Historical hotel in nice location.

Staff very nice and attentive
8.7
Very good n hotel value for money.
Danielle M. Couples Australia, May 20, 2015
Beautiful hotel but currently being renovated

The location, food and history
7
We had a great stay, the food and service were exceptional. However, the hotel is undergoing some pretty big renovations which means areas like the pool and outdoor bar are a construction zone and not the nicest places to relax.
James W. Families with young children United Kingdom, April 16, 2015
Wonderful

staff, ambience, location
9.7
A wonderful change from the usual characterless corporate hotels that dominate these days. I just dont understand the less positive reviews on here about 'creaky floors' and old lifts. This place is like stepping back in time. Service, rooms, location, ambience - all are just perfect. We have also stayed in a very highly rated chain hotel in Colombo, and the Galle Face wins hands down. We will definitely return. It feels like a real luxury to be here, and it is no more expensive that the plastic chain hotels. Highly recommended.
Richard C. Couples United States of America, April 13, 2015
One of my favorite hotels. A slice of history.

Ambiance, pool, rooms
9.3
Truely an amazing and regal hotel. Old and colonial but the upkeep is excellent. The Hotel breaths a sence of pride and history. The salt water pool overlooking the Indian oceanbis special. I really love this hotel. The last time I stayed here was 17 years ago. I will always stay there if I come to Sri Lanka.
Previous page 61 - 70 of 1002 reviews Next page
Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Terrace at The Traveller’s BarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Traveller’s Bar TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The ChequerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Traveller’s BarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Verandah (First Level)Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - View from Pool Bar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Pool with Sea ViewsGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing Main EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Conference Center LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - The LibraryGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Conservatory Linking Grand Ballroom & Junior BallroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom with New Lighting SystemGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Ballroom with New Lighting SystemGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior BallroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Library Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference FacilitiesGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The 1864Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant’s MuralGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Pool Bar at NightGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Croquet Lawn with South Galle Face Hotel Colombo - ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - reading porchGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Library BooksGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Corridor Connecting the North and South WingGalle Face Hotel Colombo - AntiquitiesGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing - Premier RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Overlooking the OceanGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Landmark RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - superior roomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Main Lobby in the North WingGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Palm Lounge Galle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Palm LoungeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Lobby with MuralGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing - Second Floor LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Main Lobby


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B01