Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.7
Based on 1348 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1348 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

Fiona C.
United Kingdom
October 23, 2015
Lost some of its magic. Still excellent location!
Location is excellent, sea view and galle face view good especiallyat weekends when locals gather and fly kites etc. Swimming pool really nice.
A good place to acclimatise, shopping mall nearby with some good offers and a good money exchange rate. Staff generally helpful and aiming to please. The renovations are a mixed blessing, alot of the charm has gone and it is less individual, many similar room set ups elsewhere around the world, it used to be unique. Progress I suppose...Still v fond of the place, have stayed several times for 3/4 days. Love the sea view and galle face green

Abdul R.
Pakistan
October 16, 2015
Murder of expectations
Cleanliness, Location and Reception area
highly disatisfied

Linn L.
Sweden
October 05, 2015
Overprized, not super clean but good location
location, pillows and views
Like so many other places on Sri Lanka, Galle Face Hotel is overprized for what you get... The hotel business is slowly catching up.. Stayed two nights in two different rooms. Second night I payed for an upgrade to "superior ocean view", but then I lost the tub I had in the first room that was cheaper.. Weird. If I had to choose I would take the first room again.

Jenifer D.
United Kingdom
September 30, 2015
Lovely historic building but ongoing pool work
The building, the breakfast, the location
Brief (we arrived late afternoon, left early the next morning to fly home) but good. The work going on around the pool is a bit disruptive but once that's finished I'm sure it will all be as amazing as the rest of the building.

Nimal A.
Australia
September 29, 2015
Stay at Galle Face Hotel
Close to Galle Face green

Anu O.
United Kingdom
September 24, 2015
Weekend at Galle Face
The view, the food and the decor
Fantastic stay. Very helpful staff. Amazing breakfast buffet on the terrace overlooking the ocean. Thoroughly recommend

Stanley Y.
Canada
September 21, 2015
Antique hotel with nice breakfast and superb view
Breakfast is nice. Very old style building. Superb ocean view.
The building is a very old English type of construction. The room is also old with noisy wood floor. It could have been furnished in a more stylish way. The outside was a reflection of the old English life style. We asked for high tea but the hotel said only available for more than five guests with advance booking. However it was a pleasant stay and we enjoyed.

Beth G.
United States
September 17, 2015
Classic tranquility!
Location, Historic ambience, Staff courtesy
We stayed only one night, transitioning from travel in the island to airport departure. The stay was excellent in every way. Food was probably the least impressive - good, clean, well done, but not off the charts excellent. The staff were amazing, always professional and ready to help. The rooms were spotless, with a delightful historic feel - wood floors, antique furnishings, etc. Bathrooms were modernized and very nice. I'd stay here again without question.

Marian S.
United Kingdom
August 23, 2015
beautiful hotel
staff, food, great internet access
enjoyable stay, very profesisonal friendly staff, food was great and dinning area delightful

Saiveer J.
India
August 10, 2015
Stunning SeaProperty
Location, service and rooms
2 nights