Sign in and get better rates!
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Entrance
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1156 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1156)
Sort by:
Claire M. Families with older children United Kingdom, December 25, 2013
A hefty dose of olde-worlde luxury

Large room. Fabulously well equipped room. Lovely staff.
9
We were only passing through, but if we ever come to Colombo again, we will definitely stay at the Galle Face, as it's a really superior experience.
Brooke M. Families with young children United Kingdom, December 15, 2013
A charming introduction to Sri Lanka.

The history, the hard wood floors and stairs, the lovely old pictures.
8
The Galle Face Hotel didn't disappoint. The staff were very welcoming and we were in our room very soon after arrival. The pool and patio are a nice place to relax. The kids enjoyed the small strecth of beach as well. They are doing renovations on much of the hotel, but we did not find this disrupting. We were a little disappointed that you did not have the option to eat breakfast outside.
Lewis J. Couples United Kingdom, December 14, 2013
Unmerited pretensions of grandeur

Location
6
The purpose of our one night stay was to enjoy Colombo's most famous and historic hotel. When we arrived we asked if we could have a cup of tea and sandwich or cake in the restaurant area as it was too hot and humid to sit outside. We were told that although they could do the tea they couldn't serve sandwiches and we should go to the poolside bar for snacks; which we did and endured the heat and humidity - while noticing that the food and beverage were delivered from the main hotel building: presumably the same kitchen that serves the restaurant. At dinner time we checked the restaurant menu and thought that it was too restricted to Western food as well as being very expensive compared with other 5 stars hotels that we'd stayed in; so we ate at the poolside again. Breakfast the next day was quite limited in comparison with other hotels so we were again disappointed. My wife had stayed at the hotel 10 years ago had fond memories of afternoon tea, sadly no longer available. The hotel appears to be trading on its past reputation as a grand destination in itself whereas in reality it is currently an expensive business hotel offering very little choice. Very disappointing. Let's hope that when the renovations are completed the former glory will return. Until then don't go there for "the experience" as there isn't one.
Andrew B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, December 13, 2013
colonial era charm with modern service

the pool, the room, the breakfast
8
This is probably my 20th stay at the galleface. It is my favourite hotel in the world! But it is becoming quite expensive, I fear I won't be able to stay there much longer
Paul M. Solo travelers United Kingdom, December 13, 2013
Beautiful old hotel

Location. history, staff
8.3
The Galle Face Hotel is a beautiful old colonial hotel in Colombo. I really enjoyed my stay there. The building is lovely and the staff are also very good. Recommended.
Michael S. Couples United Kingdom, October 21, 2013
Very good hotel in a good location

Location, high standard and good food.
7.3
Colonial style hotel, unfortunately during our stay was under renovation so only half the hotel was in a usable condition. Good location for shops and local sightseeing with easy access to local transport. Staff were good although at times it seemed there were too many of them, which did lead to lack of attention to guests as they tended to stand around talking to each other.
Sidath W. Business travelers Australia, October 20, 2013
Excellent stay

Location, staff, food
8
Lynne T. Groups United Kingdom, October 17, 2013
Disappointing

The view of the ocean was the only good thing about this hotel really.
7
Very dissapointing - I had high hopes for this hotel but sadly they were not met. It seems that when you book with Agoda that because you get a good price the hotel try and make up their loss in other ways. They wanted to charge for internet, which whilst I think is just not done in most decent hotels these days I would have paid for, however, what really annoyed me is they wanted to charge per device, so each ipad/iphone etc, which is a complete rip off. The hotel was undergoing some renovation and had stopped serving high tea, no one in the Management team had clearly thought about a suitable alternative and maybe serving it where they served breakfast As a result, on a rainy day when it was too wet to sit at the pool bar the only thing the 1864 restuarant could offer was french fries or cashew nuts...or they told us go back to your room and order room service...not what I would expect from such a grand hotel. The room we had was huge and clean but was one of those rooms that just did not make it, the linens were old and worn and there was just that something missing to make it great. All in all on my tour of Sri Lanka - this was the most expensive hotel I stayed in but by far the worst - Sri Lanka is a wonderful, wonder country though.
Andrew S. Solo travelers Australia, October 7, 2013
it was fine,more than alf the hotel was closed .

the meals were very good
7.7
half the hotel was closed which was very dissapointing.
Chris B. Couples United Kingdom, September 28, 2013
Grand old world charm

Location, style, luxury
9
These were our last couple of nights in Sri Lanka so we booked somewhere a little special. And special it certainly is. Forget the fact there was renovation going on in part of the hotel, this was a very lovely place to stay, great well furnished rooms, great bathroom, wonderful communal areas. You'll recognise the quality of the place in an instant and I've no doubt most people will find it a memorable and great place to stay. A few gripes were that breakfast was extra, as was the internet. And we went out with some friends of friends and were surprised the bar had closed before 12.00... But no doubt that we enjoyed our couple of days there.....

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel Night ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3C04