Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1167 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1167)
Sort by:
Felicity C. Solo travelers Australia, January 11, 2014
comfortable haven

fabulous outdoor bar and pool; room with bath and shower; lovely colonial style hotel
8.7
Staff are attentive, plenty of seating in the lovely garden bar, rooms are spacious and comfortable away from the hustle and bustle of Colombo, hotel is next to Galle Face Green and all the activities taking place and tuk tuks and taxis are readily available. I would definitely stay again, especially when the old wing has been rebuilt.
Alison K. Families with older children Ireland, January 8, 2014
Disappointing

I can't find any
6.3
We were so looking forward to this hotel but were very disappointed. It is under refurbishment and so many of it's areas are out of bounds. This was not evident when we booked and we feel we were badly misinformed. 7 of it's 9 restaurants are closed and we found it difficult to find food that suited us. The rooms were cramped and in need of attention.
Christoffel S. Couples United Kingdom, January 2, 2014
Absolutely lovely. Knackered around the edges.

Architecture, view, room size.
9.3
Laurent D. Couples Switzerland, December 28, 2013
Good stay

Good location, large room with a nice view
6.7
We had a pleasant day, however our room was dirty. At the reception, they were not friendly however the rest of the staff are fine.
Samir G. Couples India, December 26, 2013
Old world charm but needs renovation

Location, breakfast and old world charm.
6.7
We stayed just one night- the regular rooms were small and in need of renovation. Large renovation project within the hotel made it noisy and a sight for sore eyes in parts.
Claire M. Families with older children United Kingdom, December 25, 2013
A hefty dose of olde-worlde luxury

Large room. Fabulously well equipped room. Lovely staff.
9
We were only passing through, but if we ever come to Colombo again, we will definitely stay at the Galle Face, as it's a really superior experience.
Brooke M. Families with young children United Kingdom, December 15, 2013
A charming introduction to Sri Lanka.

The history, the hard wood floors and stairs, the lovely old pictures.
8
The Galle Face Hotel didn't disappoint. The staff were very welcoming and we were in our room very soon after arrival. The pool and patio are a nice place to relax. The kids enjoyed the small strecth of beach as well. They are doing renovations on much of the hotel, but we did not find this disrupting. We were a little disappointed that you did not have the option to eat breakfast outside.
Lewis J. Couples United Kingdom, December 14, 2013
Unmerited pretensions of grandeur

Location
6
The purpose of our one night stay was to enjoy Colombo's most famous and historic hotel. When we arrived we asked if we could have a cup of tea and sandwich or cake in the restaurant area as it was too hot and humid to sit outside. We were told that although they could do the tea they couldn't serve sandwiches and we should go to the poolside bar for snacks; which we did and endured the heat and humidity - while noticing that the food and beverage were delivered from the main hotel building: presumably the same kitchen that serves the restaurant. At dinner time we checked the restaurant menu and thought that it was too restricted to Western food as well as being very expensive compared with other 5 stars hotels that we'd stayed in; so we ate at the poolside again. Breakfast the next day was quite limited in comparison with other hotels so we were again disappointed. My wife had stayed at the hotel 10 years ago had fond memories of afternoon tea, sadly no longer available. The hotel appears to be trading on its past reputation as a grand destination in itself whereas in reality it is currently an expensive business hotel offering very little choice. Very disappointing. Let's hope that when the renovations are completed the former glory will return. Until then don't go there for "the experience" as there isn't one.
Andrew B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, December 13, 2013
colonial era charm with modern service

the pool, the room, the breakfast
8
This is probably my 20th stay at the galleface. It is my favourite hotel in the world! But it is becoming quite expensive, I fear I won't be able to stay there much longer
Paul M. Solo travelers United Kingdom, December 13, 2013
Beautiful old hotel

Location. history, staff
8.3
The Galle Face Hotel is a beautiful old colonial hotel in Colombo. I really enjoyed my stay there. The building is lovely and the staff are also very good. Recommended.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BeachGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3C03