Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.7

based on 1318 reviews

996 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (1318)
Sort by:
Michelle C. Families with young children United Kingdom, April 16, 2016
Fantastic hotel!
6.7
A wonderful end to our fantastic trip. You must stay here! The pool on the sea is magnificent!
Report this review
Elaine L. Solo travelers Malaysia, April 15, 2016
Good service and beautiful hotel.
6
Beautiful location and friendly service. Quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Love the hotel.
Report this review
Madhumita C. Couples India, April 13, 2016
Unbeatable location overlooking miles & miles of w
5.7
Everything in the hotel is superlative. Only minus is the very limited bar- menu which extends to people sitting at the fantastic ocean- side location. Watching the sun go down over the ocean waters and the waves crashing on the rocks below the hotel premises is such a memorable sight. One can just sit & sit here, but alas one gets only alcohol and tasteless 2-3 snacks. Minus this, all's well.
Report this review
Jerwin G. Solo travelers Philippines, April 6, 2016
Elegant and beautiful heritage hotel
6.7
On my last night in Sri Lanka, I chose not to be a backpacker. I couldn't say no to this lovely and elegant heritage hotel in Colombo. I wish I could have stayed longer. The staff were great. Check-in/out was seamless and they have a welcome tea drink. Breakfast was lovely. And the dining/pool area is one of the best areas in the hotel. It's a historic hotel with a couple of celebrity guests in the past like Mark Twain, Yuri Gagarin, Mahatma Gandhi, Roger Moore, Carrie Fisher, John D. Rockefeller, Steven Spielberg and Harrison Ford!
Report this review
Ana M. Couples Portugal, April 6, 2016
Superb and Relaxing Stay!
6.7
We travelled around Asia for 7 months and ended up our trip in this amazing historycal hotel in Colombo. very wide views to the Indian Ocean, very large rooms for reading, chilling, eating, or simply relaxing... The rooms are large, and in room all amenities needed for our stay are provided. The products for hair are superb, the mattress is superb, the big bed is so good ! So it's guaranteed that all nights will be very calm and tranquil :-) All restaurants serve excellent foods, with excellent options on the menus/a la carte. The 1864 is superbly managed and all foods are very tasty taking you to another world of happiness! All staff members re professional and very polite, they will do everything to meet our needs and to see us happy! Everyday you will be received with a big smile by every member of this fabulous hotel, so you will never regret to have chosen this magic place... Just come, step inside on this fabulous History Hotel, relax and...let it goes!!! Certainly you will be driven to a very safe port....in Colombo!!!
Report this review
Maria F. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 31, 2016
Old World Charm in great location.
6.3
I liked everything about it. The pool is great right by the sea, the staff were helpful. The bed very comfortable and many dining options in the hotel and area. At 5:45pm daily the bagpiper bring down the flag just a little extra.
Report this review
Sjoerd V. Couples Netherlands, March 19, 2016
Superb facilitities, great staff and top location!

Staff, facilities and the location
9.7
We stayed only for 1 night (to bad!) in the Galle Face. The ever friendly en helpfull staff was amazing, they arranged everything. Even the next day (our flight was at 10pm and the ckeckout 12am) we could use all the facilities in the hotel. They knew who immediatly we were. The location and the colonial building itself (totally renovated) were amazing. You feel the old vibes with modern facilities! The breakfast is absolutely stunning! We don't get the 7.7 rate, this is a big 10 for us!
Report this review
Amy K. Couples United States of America, March 14, 2016
A fabulous classic hotel
5.7
I have stayed at the Galle Face Hotel several times, and I love going back. Historic, beautiful, and comfortable (both the rooms and the grand common areas). Best place for sundowners in the city, and an absolutely lovely pool facing the sea. Staff are overall very helpful and nice. The breakfast is great --- both the food and the view (but expensive). Personally, I prefer the rooms in the South/Landmark Wing. Definitely spring for something with a sea view if you can. I would not recommend using the excursion ("expedition") services at the hotel. I consulted with them and found them to unfortunately not be very helpful unless you want to arrange a (very expensive) car and driver via the hotel. The Spa is also not up to scratch, but I understand that they will be closing and completely re-doing the spa this year (which FYI could mean some construction in the South/Landmark Wing).
Report this review
Jayaram B. Solo travelers India, March 7, 2016
Good stay
6
Wjwn.I wanted change departure date they took aome rime and then said contact agoda directly. I thought rhey could have iniriated request
Report this review
Bjoern H. Solo travelers China, February 13, 2016
No bathtubs, seaview not seaview
4
Chaotic and unorganized, first night a hotel jazz festival outside my wind, a whole day until 2330, absolutely impossible to sleep. I booked an upgrade room, but when the day came they did not have it anymore, so staff promised and lied about many things. Just smiles but no action. Worst hotel experience in a very long time.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 996 reviews Next page
Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Terrace at The Traveller’s BarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Traveller’s Bar TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The ChequerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Traveller’s BarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Verandah (First Level)Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - View from Pool Bar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Pool with Sea ViewsGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing Main EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Conference Center LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom 3Galle Face Hotel Colombo - The LibraryGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Conservatory Linking Grand Ballroom & Junior BallroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom with New Lighting SystemGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Ballroom with New Lighting SystemGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior BallroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Library Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference FacilitiesGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The 1864Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant’s MuralGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Pool Bar at NightGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Croquet Lawn with South Galle Face Hotel Colombo - ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom 2Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - reading porchGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Library BooksGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Corridor Connecting the North and South WingGalle Face Hotel Colombo - AntiquitiesGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing - Premier RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Overlooking the OceanGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Landmark RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - superior roomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Main Lobby in the North WingGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Palm Lounge Galle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Palm LoungeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Lobby with MuralGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing - Second Floor LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Main Lobby


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B03