Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.7

based on
1291 reviews

974 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (1291)
Sort by:
Anne H. Solo travelers Australia, February 10, 2016
Reflecting a colonial past

The place exudes history.
8.3
Report this review
Durjoy B. Groups Singapore, February 9, 2016
CNY Galle Face Hotel.

Historic. New Renovated. Very good ambience.
8
An excellent stay otherwise marred by downtight insensitive check-in staff. Our advice is not to select this hotel when travelling in a group as room allocation takes for ages. The hotel is overbooked. It was like adding insultto injury when they tried squeezing two families (6 people) in a single suite. Then, instead of the Ocean View rooms booked, the checkin staff were trying to make us agree to a Non-Ocean view room. All the while our 12 passports were shoved away to a corner while other check-ins went on for 30 minutes. The camel straw was that we were unprofessionally told that since it was a group booking, we would have to wait longer than others. We then asked why was it so, why should we be penalized for overbooking on the part of the hotel...they should separate out group bookings and pre-allocate rooms, as groups are highly unlikely to cancel bookings enmasse! If their systems cannot assign rooms efficiently, that should not be a guests' problem. And guess what...within a couple of minutes of asking difficult questions, all rooms were allocated! It only goes to show that the check-in staff were trying to wear us down to make compromises since they had overbooked in the particular room category! Or were trying to keepthe rooms for corporate bookings! In the hospitality space, such shabby experience rankles, especially since hotel rooms were booked in early Nov 2015. Rooms should be upgraded if suitable rooms cannot be found, not told to downgrade! Its only when we raised our voice and said why were we receiving 2nd class treatment, did they produce rabbits out of a hat! SO PLEASE AVOID GROUP BOOKINGS AT THIS HOTEL. It surely did not look good on the hotel or on Agoda's clout!
Report this review
Michael W. Couples United Kingdom, January 22, 2016
Superb old style elegance

1. Beautifully and tastefully restored. Cleverly preserved the elegance of the original design. 2. Location by the sea is unbeatable. 3. Staff were well trained and attentive.
9.7
Loved the breakfast on the terrace looking out over the sea. Would not suit those who want a glitzy hotel with air-conditioned restaurant. They can go elsewhere.
Report this review
Chris B. Couples Australia, January 14, 2016
Really enjoyable stay

Great outdoor area, vintage feel and location
9
Report this review
Markus B. Families with young children Germany, January 11, 2016
bit old and dirty - be aware of rats

big pool, nice view on the ocean, good breakfast area
4.7
beautiful hotel with worst servce ever on the pool bar we wanted to have a nice lively drink with some burgers/ceviche in front of the ocean as the pool bar has a lovely waterside. first, our food took 40 min till it arrived (for a cold starter and panini) and then, we were literally attacked by several rats who were looking for food under our table. the best, I received my starter and my main dish at the same time while my wife had to wait another 10 minutes. So, we shared my starter in order to eat then the burgers that had gone cold afterards.. the commentary from the waiter was, we cannot do anything against the rats and the food that arrived tardy was a mistake of his colleague. no apology, no discount.
Report this review
Naozar D. Couples India, January 8, 2016
History and Location

Tasteful renovation, gorgeous location and comfort
9
Wonderful
Report this review
Victor W. Business travelers Singapore, January 2, 2016
Not bad hotel to stay

The room was nice and service perfect. The hotel outside was crowded and not that great. There are people sleeping on the streets and terrible traffic on the road outside. Took a Ling time to get back
7.7
Overall the stay was great but the expense was not worth the price paid. The advertisement was overrated an price was too high. However the hotel staff was very polite and helpful but not overly enthusiastic about helping us make dinner reservations. I asked for a dinner reservation to be made but when the time came out reservation was in existent
Report this review
Marianne A. Families with young children Norway, December 31, 2015
Beautiful hotel, slow service

Location, historic ambiance and breakfast
8
A lovely property with an historic ambiance. My only complaints are: 1) A foul smell of sewage by the pool. There is a pipe behind the wall at the end of the property spewing sewage – or something similarly disgusting – onto the beach below. The rooms with a splendid verandah with sea views, overlooking the pool – must be affected by the smell too. 2) Service was extremely slow. Upon arrival we were made to wait before we could check in. After 30 minutes, I asked what was holding them up. I was told that our room was not ready. I had to ask how much time they thought it would take to get it sorted, and was told it would take another 45 minutes. Waiting was no problem, but not being informed was. We were starving and could have gone to lunch right away. I was surprised such information was not automatically forwarded to us. The restaurant on the Verandah was also affected by the slow service. Waiters were milling around, but did not pay attention to the guests. I expect more from a hotel like Galle Face. However, all in all we had a great stay. The New Years Eve breakfast and evening buffets were amazing. Fantastic food and presentation. All staff were also kind and helpful, and we were allowed a late check-out and continued use of the pool through the day – as our flight in the wee hours of the morning, and we had to leave at midnight. Marianne
Report this review
Craig S. Couples United Kingdom, December 30, 2015
Colonial history experience

Hotel, Room, food
8.3
I'm a very fussy travellor !!! But not to the extreme about complaining about the slightest thing ! So when I've stayed and then checked out with no negative comments, the hotel has been an enjoyable positive experience. Thank you .
Report this review
Wei C. Couples Taiwan, December 30, 2015
great hotel

location, view, ambience
8.7
very nice atmosphere, colonial style hotel, excellent services, definitely going to return
Report this review
1 - 10 of 974 reviews Next page
Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LibraryGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A07