or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

based on
249 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
7.7
Solo travelers (249)
Sort by:
Richard M. Solo travelers Australia, February 11, 2015
Treated like royalty

The warm welcome back: the relaxed ambience; attention to detail.
8.3
I arrived late, but the hotel was made aware of this. After a quick shower I went to the dining room. I was not greeted, seated or attended to in any way. Disappointing. Eventually found a table, only to be hurried by the waiter to make a decision from the menu. The table next to me were in earnest conference with the head guy. Transpired they were not happy with service etc. and as first time visitors to an old established Sri Lankan icon, they were very disappointed. The standard of service needs to be raised immediately. The menu is limited, expensive could do with an overhaul. I always stay at the Galle Face when visiting Colombo from my home in the south of the island. The massive renovations going on in the old part of the hotel iare no excuse for slipped standards in the newer wing!
John C. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 8, 2015
too modern an upgrade

history, location and service
8.7
The face due to the construction work in progress. Went there 20 years ago. Then an olde lady of grace and a little lost dignity. She is now wearing modern clothes and although all looks great, I feel the history has been neglected. I would suggest staying here but wait to the construction works are completed.
Linda E. Solo travelers Australia, January 4, 2015
Don't go during renovations

Staff attention and service, quality decor
6.3
I've stayed at this hotel several times 3 yrs ago and it was superb however, currently More than half of the hotel is under renovations and only pool area with limited shade and fine dining available. I had a Bathroom sewage problem with plumber, and a clock alarming issue so a room move required where hotel addressed well with an upgrade. However, I won't be back until renovations complete.
Ole J. Solo travelers Norway, November 19, 2014
legendary and modern

service, location, the food
9.7
as always i feel at home, the staff is exellent and helpfull. Next time Galle Face Hotel will be my first choise
Wu H. Solo travelers China, November 13, 2014
Galle Face Hotel

location/beach/breakfast
9.3
generally very good
John M. Solo travelers Australia, October 21, 2014
Galle Face confusion

Location, a sense of history and well manitained rooms
8
Wonderful historic place but a little pricey and some significant confusion as to whethere I was entitled to breakfast or not. These sort of things should not happen in a hotel such as the Gall Face. Though I will probably stay there when next in Colombo.
Roderick B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, October 6, 2014
colonial paradise

location, comfort friendly
8
My stay at the hotel was comfortable. I chose this hotel mainly for its location. However please note extensive works on the old section is been carried out. My only complaint was using the spa treatment. , which a total uncomfortable experience. Although I did complain to the manager, they were very apologetic and tried there best to deal with the issue. Most of the staff were very helpful and friendly.
Marc G. Solo travelers Sweden, September 18, 2014
GFH - stay

Location, Service, History
8.7
Perfectly located within a stone throw to all areas on Colombo. Very friendly and attentive staff. Looking forward to return on my next visit. Note that the hotel is undergoing an exciting refurbishment.
Caroline B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, September 10, 2014
Wonderful stay at the Galle Face!

Location, rooms, outdoor area
9.7
Although half the hotel is still under renovation this did not detract from my stay. In fact, I hardly noticed there was work going on. The rooms were lovely, the food and drinks were good and the location and outdoor area was excellent. I will stay again.
Richard J. Solo travelers United Kingdom, July 20, 2014
Central location steeped in history.

Location History View
6
Good, and only slightly affected by extensive renovations.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BeachGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3A05