Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite with balcony Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - South Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Spa
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Library Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Room
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

from 254 reviews

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
7.7
Solo travelers (254)
Sort by:
Yuncheul K. Solo travelers South Korea, June 30, 2015
good location!

good location. formal and good service. old-fashioned but clean room.
9
Report this review
Rosalind C. Solo travelers United Kingdom, June 14, 2015
A colonial Type

Father stayed here in the 1950's. The old Tradition has gone with the genteel decay. Staff very professional IN the hotel NOT the outside bar. Location has always been superb...on the maiden.
7.3
Why oh why was I not told hotel being renovated so half of it closed. Sho king surprise. Pool in building site. Crows and vermin at outside bar eating off my table. Trust renovation completed in Sinhalese style and not thai.
Report this review
Jonathan G. Solo travelers United States of America, April 4, 2015
Colonial hotel not yet spoiled by renovations

History, architecture, location
8.7
Report this review
Caitlin C. Solo travelers Canada, March 29, 2015
A perfect end to the trip

Staff, Service, Pool
9.7
After two weeks in Sri Lanka, the Galle Face Hotel was a perfect end to the trip. It was our big splurge at the end and it paid off well. The staff were wonderful and always on their toes to help! I really loved their museum room with the profiles on the previous notable guests who had stayed there, very interesting! Would definitely return!
Report this review
Richard M. Solo travelers Australia, February 11, 2015
Treated like royalty

The warm welcome back: the relaxed ambience; attention to detail.
8.3
I arrived late, but the hotel was made aware of this. After a quick shower I went to the dining room. I was not greeted, seated or attended to in any way. Disappointing. Eventually found a table, only to be hurried by the waiter to make a decision from the menu. The table next to me were in earnest conference with the head guy. Transpired they were not happy with service etc. and as first time visitors to an old established Sri Lankan icon, they were very disappointed. The standard of service needs to be raised immediately. The menu is limited, expensive could do with an overhaul. I always stay at the Galle Face when visiting Colombo from my home in the south of the island. The massive renovations going on in the old part of the hotel iare no excuse for slipped standards in the newer wing!
Report this review
John C. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 8, 2015
too modern an upgrade

history, location and service
8.7
The face due to the construction work in progress. Went there 20 years ago. Then an olde lady of grace and a little lost dignity. She is now wearing modern clothes and although all looks great, I feel the history has been neglected. I would suggest staying here but wait to the construction works are completed.
Report this review
Linda E. Solo travelers Australia, January 4, 2015
Don't go during renovations

Staff attention and service, quality decor
6.3
I've stayed at this hotel several times 3 yrs ago and it was superb however, currently More than half of the hotel is under renovations and only pool area with limited shade and fine dining available. I had a Bathroom sewage problem with plumber, and a clock alarming issue so a room move required where hotel addressed well with an upgrade. However, I won't be back until renovations complete.
Report this review
Ole J. Solo travelers Norway, November 19, 2014
legendary and modern

service, location, the food
9.7
as always i feel at home, the staff is exellent and helpfull. Next time Galle Face Hotel will be my first choise
Report this review
Wu H. Solo travelers China, November 13, 2014
Galle Face Hotel

location/beach/breakfast
9.3
generally very good
Report this review
John M. Solo travelers Australia, October 21, 2014
Galle Face confusion

Location, a sense of history and well manitained rooms
8
Wonderful historic place but a little pricey and some significant confusion as to whethere I was entitled to breakfast or not. These sort of things should not happen in a hotel such as the Gall Face. Though I will probably stay there when next in Colombo.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite with balconyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - South Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BeachGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LibraryGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C01