Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.5

based on 76 reviews

996 reviews in English

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.2
Food/Dining
7.5
Families with young children (76)
Sort by:
Michelle C. Families with young children United Kingdom, April 16, 2016
Fantastic hotel!
6.7
A wonderful end to our fantastic trip. You must stay here! The pool on the sea is magnificent!
Report this review
Henry L. Families with young children United Kingdom, February 9, 2016
Stunning colonial hotel right on the beach
6
We only stayed for one night but really enjoyed our time at the Galle Face: fantastic atmosphere, lovely rooms. We are likely to return.
Report this review
Markus B. Families with young children Germany, January 11, 2016
bit old and dirty - be aware of rats

big pool, nice view on the ocean, good breakfast area
4.7
beautiful hotel with worst servce ever on the pool bar we wanted to have a nice lively drink with some burgers/ceviche in front of the ocean as the pool bar has a lovely waterside. first, our food took 40 min till it arrived (for a cold starter and panini) and then, we were literally attacked by several rats who were looking for food under our table. the best, I received my starter and my main dish at the same time while my wife had to wait another 10 minutes. So, we shared my starter in order to eat then the burgers that had gone cold afterards.. the commentary from the waiter was, we cannot do anything against the rats and the food that arrived tardy was a mistake of his colleague. no apology, no discount.
Report this review
Marianne A. Families with young children Norway, December 31, 2015
Beautiful hotel, slow service

Location, historic ambiance and breakfast
8
A lovely property with an historic ambiance. My only complaints are: 1) A foul smell of sewage by the pool. There is a pipe behind the wall at the end of the property spewing sewage – or something similarly disgusting – onto the beach below. The rooms with a splendid verandah with sea views, overlooking the pool – must be affected by the smell too. 2) Service was extremely slow. Upon arrival we were made to wait before we could check in. After 30 minutes, I asked what was holding them up. I was told that our room was not ready. I had to ask how much time they thought it would take to get it sorted, and was told it would take another 45 minutes. Waiting was no problem, but not being informed was. We were starving and could have gone to lunch right away. I was surprised such information was not automatically forwarded to us. The restaurant on the Verandah was also affected by the slow service. Waiters were milling around, but did not pay attention to the guests. I expect more from a hotel like Galle Face. However, all in all we had a great stay. The New Years Eve breakfast and evening buffets were amazing. Fantastic food and presentation. All staff were also kind and helpful, and we were allowed a late check-out and continued use of the pool through the day – as our flight in the wee hours of the morning, and we had to leave at midnight. Marianne
Report this review
Pia B. Families with young children Denmark, December 12, 2015
Wedding in colombo

Reception , rooms , dinning , pool , bar
10
Wunderfull hotel with a fantastic view
Report this review
Christine M. Families with young children India, December 2, 2015
Timeless Grandeur
6.7
The Galle Face Hotel, Sri Lanka’s iconic landmark, is situated in the heart of Colombo, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green. One of the oldest Hotels east of the Suez, the Galle Face Hotel embraces its rich history and legendary traditions, utilizing them to create engaging, immense experiences that resonate with old and new generations of travelers alike. No visit to Sri Lanka is complete without staying at this majestic hotel, built in 1864 and recently restored back to its former glory. Value for money - A must if visiting Sri Lanka.
Report this review
Jenifer D. Families with young children United Kingdom, September 2, 2015
Lovely historic building but ongoing pool work

The building, the breakfast, the location
9.3
Brief (we arrived late afternoon, left early the next morning to fly home) but good. The work going on around the pool is a bit disruptive but once that's finished I'm sure it will all be as amazing as the rest of the building.
Report this review
James W. Families with young children United Kingdom, April 16, 2015
Wonderful

staff, ambience, location
9.7
A wonderful change from the usual characterless corporate hotels that dominate these days. I just dont understand the less positive reviews on here about 'creaky floors' and old lifts. This place is like stepping back in time. Service, rooms, location, ambience - all are just perfect. We have also stayed in a very highly rated chain hotel in Colombo, and the Galle Face wins hands down. We will definitely return. It feels like a real luxury to be here, and it is no more expensive that the plastic chain hotels. Highly recommended.
Report this review
Oliver F. Families with young children United Kingdom, August 11, 2014
Classic hotel

The breakfast was fantastic, overlooking the Indian Ocean. The hotel was happy to upgrade us to a bigger room.
8
Apart from extensive renovations taking place in the main building, the hotel itself was great. Staff very helpful. Breakfast amazing, though room service food less so. Location probably great, but not much to do around the hotel - perhaps until a new mall is opened down the road next year.
Report this review
Kimberley B. Families with young children India, June 23, 2014
Great comfortable

Very warm friendly staff...
7
Good comfortable beautifull historic hotel...guess even better after the renovation is over..
Report this review
1 - 10 of 1318 reviews Next page
Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Terrace at The Traveller’s BarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Traveller’s Bar TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The ChequerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Traveller’s BarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Verandah (First Level)Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - View from Pool Bar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Pool with Sea ViewsGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing Main EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Conference Center LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom 3Galle Face Hotel Colombo - The LibraryGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Conservatory Linking Grand Ballroom & Junior BallroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom with New Lighting SystemGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Ballroom with New Lighting SystemGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior BallroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Library Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference FacilitiesGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The 1864Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant’s MuralGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Pool Bar at NightGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Croquet Lawn with South Galle Face Hotel Colombo - ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Grand Ballroom 2Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting & Conference CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - reading porchGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Library BooksGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Corridor Connecting the North and South WingGalle Face Hotel Colombo - AntiquitiesGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing - Premier RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Overlooking the OceanGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Landmark RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - superior roomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Main Lobby in the North WingGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Palm Lounge Galle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Palm LoungeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Lobby with MuralGalle Face Hotel Colombo - North Wing - Second Floor LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - The Main Lobby


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A05