My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Entrance Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel Night View Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa
Hotel Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.5

based on
55 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
6.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
7.5
Families with older children (55)
Sort by:
Simran S. Families with older children Singapore, March 7, 2014
Best hotel ever!

The comfort and clean
9
Wei L. Families with older children Singapore, February 3, 2014
Excellent Stay

Location, ambience, comfort
9.3
Very nice surroundings. Great view of the sea. Very nice alfresco area facing the sea and there is the novelty of a sea water swimming pool. Only downside is that there are many crows around the outdoor restaurant area. One of them swooped down and took part of my sandwich.
Christopher F. Families with older children United States of America, February 1, 2014
Lovely historic hotel. Under rennovation!

Living history. Seaside pool/garden. Central location.
7.3
A lovely hotel with a rich history. Its greatest strength is the garden and pool area that sits right at the edge of the Indian Ocean. Great for sundowners, and also to keep kids entertained for a few afternoons. Also a very nice buffet breakfast. We had two complaints: (1) an entire wing is under renovation -- a project that will probably stretch through 2014; and (2) the staff were not very attentive. Getting anything requires persistence, and we were a little upset when the hotel van dumped us in the middle of nowhere after we showed no interest in visiting what was certainly a gem shop run by his sibling/cousin/brother.
Simon H. Families with older children Australia, January 23, 2014
Absolutely fabulous

The room and view, The pool and the location and service
10
Highly recommended and a quiet oasis in the hustle and bustle of colombo. old world grandeur and just lovely all round.
Alison K. Families with older children Ireland, January 8, 2014
Disappointing

I can't find any
6.3
We were so looking forward to this hotel but were very disappointed. It is under refurbishment and so many of it's areas are out of bounds. This was not evident when we booked and we feel we were badly misinformed. 7 of it's 9 restaurants are closed and we found it difficult to find food that suited us. The rooms were cramped and in need of attention.
Claire M. Families with older children United Kingdom, December 25, 2013
A hefty dose of olde-worlde luxury

Large room. Fabulously well equipped room. Lovely staff.
9
We were only passing through, but if we ever come to Colombo again, we will definitely stay at the Galle Face, as it's a really superior experience.
James C. Families with older children United Kingdom, September 16, 2013
Excellent colonial style but modern hotel

Excellent room, good view, great location
9.3
Probably the best hotel I have stayed in Sri Lanka, central location with friendly and helpful staff. The room was large and comfortble with a view over the terrace and ocean, and it had a old colonial feel but done very well (and not as shiney and over the top as other 5* hotels in Colombo).
Sharifah A. Families with older children Malaysia, September 16, 2013
absolutely lovely

quite central, beautiful colonial hotel, great breakfast
9.7
It was just brilliant. Absolutely no complaints. The staff are helpful, everyone spoke english, location was great as it was just about outside the busy city centre but close enough to walk to all the interesting sights by yourself. The breakfast was amazing, everything was yummy especially the Sri Lankan fish curry, to die for....
Mette R. Families with older children Denmark, August 5, 2013
Scenic and history

Colonial style - feel the history
8.3
Ralph M. Families with older children United States of America, April 4, 2013
Old hotel slow check in .

Locatio the view of. The ocean and the sunset
5
Old hotel needs updated pool was ok food in hotel was cold and not enough choices the rooms were large and the service was ok but not 4 stars

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness CenterGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Classic Wing Front ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel Night ViewGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BathroomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Guest RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Hotel ExteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Swimming PoolGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop/CafeGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AS-AGWEB-3B08