Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Library Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Entrance Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Room
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Entrance Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Entrance Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.8

based on
118 reviews

974 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.4
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.6
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
7.8
Groups (118)
Sort by:
Durjoy B. Groups Singapore, February 9, 2016
CNY Galle Face Hotel.

Historic. New Renovated. Very good ambience.
8
An excellent stay otherwise marred by downtight insensitive check-in staff. Our advice is not to select this hotel when travelling in a group as room allocation takes for ages. The hotel is overbooked. It was like adding insultto injury when they tried squeezing two families (6 people) in a single suite. Then, instead of the Ocean View rooms booked, the checkin staff were trying to make us agree to a Non-Ocean view room. All the while our 12 passports were shoved away to a corner while other check-ins went on for 30 minutes. The camel straw was that we were unprofessionally told that since it was a group booking, we would have to wait longer than others. We then asked why was it so, why should we be penalized for overbooking on the part of the hotel...they should separate out group bookings and pre-allocate rooms, as groups are highly unlikely to cancel bookings enmasse! If their systems cannot assign rooms efficiently, that should not be a guests' problem. And guess what...within a couple of minutes of asking difficult questions, all rooms were allocated! It only goes to show that the check-in staff were trying to wear us down to make compromises since they had overbooked in the particular room category! Or were trying to keepthe rooms for corporate bookings! In the hospitality space, such shabby experience rankles, especially since hotel rooms were booked in early Nov 2015. Rooms should be upgraded if suitable rooms cannot be found, not told to downgrade! Its only when we raised our voice and said why were we receiving 2nd class treatment, did they produce rabbits out of a hat! SO PLEASE AVOID GROUP BOOKINGS AT THIS HOTEL. It surely did not look good on the hotel or on Agoda's clout!
Report this review
Beth G. Groups United States of America, September 16, 2015
Classic tranquility!

Location, Historic ambience, Staff courtesy
9.3
We stayed only one night, transitioning from travel in the island to airport departure. The stay was excellent in every way. Food was probably the least impressive - good, clean, well done, but not off the charts excellent. The staff were amazing, always professional and ready to help. The rooms were spotless, with a delightful historic feel - wood floors, antique furnishings, etc. Bathrooms were modernized and very nice. I'd stay here again without question.
Report this review
Saiveer J. Groups India, August 9, 2015
Stunning SeaProperty

Location, service and rooms
9.7
2 nights
Report this review
Marco G. Groups Italy, February 23, 2015
Very Nice hotel but be careful which room is given

Location, features, style
9.3
we enjoyed our 2 stays in this hotel. we have been placed in a quite simple room on our first stay... Not impressed On the second stay we have been upgraded to the suit and... Wow...
Report this review
Marii H. Groups Japan, November 14, 2014
brilliant stay

good food, nice location and friendly staff
9
Very satisfied only thing l notice that the bath room has some problem, whole bath room flooded after having shower. Othewise good :-)
Report this review
Sharon L. Groups Singapore, September 21, 2014
very good

nice environment and good breakfast
9.7
Did not comply to our request for connecting room
Report this review
Choi C. Groups United Kingdom, July 20, 2014
hotel stay in Colombo

background history, hermitage, close to the coast line
5.7
not bad, may not come again should no better F & B provided
Report this review
Heather B. Groups Australia, March 25, 2014
Friendly, comfortable hotel with good facilities.

Terrace is on the ocean. Hotel has a strong sense of history. Staff extremely friendly.
8.7
Very enjoyable stay, despite the original half of the hotel being closed due to restoration.
Report this review
Lynne T. Groups United Kingdom, October 17, 2013
Disappointing

The view of the ocean was the only good thing about this hotel really.
7
Very dissapointing - I had high hopes for this hotel but sadly they were not met. It seems that when you book with Agoda that because you get a good price the hotel try and make up their loss in other ways. They wanted to charge for internet, which whilst I think is just not done in most decent hotels these days I would have paid for, however, what really annoyed me is they wanted to charge per device, so each ipad/iphone etc, which is a complete rip off. The hotel was undergoing some renovation and had stopped serving high tea, no one in the Management team had clearly thought about a suitable alternative and maybe serving it where they served breakfast As a result, on a rainy day when it was too wet to sit at the pool bar the only thing the 1864 restuarant could offer was french fries or cashew nuts...or they told us go back to your room and order room service...not what I would expect from such a grand hotel. The room we had was huge and clean but was one of those rooms that just did not make it, the linens were old and worn and there was just that something missing to make it great. All in all on my tour of Sri Lanka - this was the most expensive hotel I stayed in but by far the worst - Sri Lanka is a wonderful, wonder country though.
Report this review
Kaushal K. Groups India, August 17, 2013
Ecellent

Marvelous location, friendly staff and good food
8.3
Excellent stay with marvelous location, friendly staff and good food
Report this review
1 - 10 of 1291 reviews Next page
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LibraryGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - EntranceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A02