Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Spa Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Balcony Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Ocean Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Oceanic Suite Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Bathroom Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Regency Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Center Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

based on
1232 reviews

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1232)
Sort by:
Danielle M. Couples Australia, May 20, 2015
Beautiful hotel but currently being renovated

The location, food and history
7
We had a great stay, the food and service were exceptional. However, the hotel is undergoing some pretty big renovations which means areas like the pool and outdoor bar are a construction zone and not the nicest places to relax.
James W. Families with young children United Kingdom, April 16, 2015
Wonderful

staff, ambience, location
9.7
A wonderful change from the usual characterless corporate hotels that dominate these days. I just dont understand the less positive reviews on here about 'creaky floors' and old lifts. This place is like stepping back in time. Service, rooms, location, ambience - all are just perfect. We have also stayed in a very highly rated chain hotel in Colombo, and the Galle Face wins hands down. We will definitely return. It feels like a real luxury to be here, and it is no more expensive that the plastic chain hotels. Highly recommended.
Richard C. Couples United States of America, April 13, 2015
One of my favorite hotels. A slice of history.

Ambiance, pool, rooms
9.3
Truely an amazing and regal hotel. Old and colonial but the upkeep is excellent. The Hotel breaths a sence of pride and history. The salt water pool overlooking the Indian oceanbis special. I really love this hotel. The last time I stayed here was 17 years ago. I will always stay there if I come to Sri Lanka.
Adam H. Couples United Kingdom, April 13, 2015
Great stay

Beautiful hotel with great views and good staff
10
Couldn't have asked for anything more
Julie H. Families with older children United Kingdom, April 12, 2015
A peaceful,characterful hotel in a lovely location

The architecture, Swimming pool, location,
8.7
Lovely relaxing stay. Very nice spa. Biggest pool we've ever had outdoors and deep too. Food a bit limited and expensive. Mostly excellent service just a bit slow around the pool dining area. Wonderful rooms with beautiful colonial style wood and marble but still very comfortable and luxurious.
Garry B. Couples Australia, April 7, 2015
Classic hotel from the British Raj

Character, staff and facilities.
9.7
This is a very special hotel and when the refurbishment of the other wings is complete it could rate amongst the best places to stay to relive times long gone without missing out on today's important comforts. Really enjoyed Galle Face and will be back soon!
Jonathan G. Solo travelers United States of America, April 4, 2015
Colonial hotel not yet spoiled by renovations

History, architecture, location
8.7
Caitlin C. Solo travelers Canada, March 29, 2015
A perfect end to the trip

Staff, Service, Pool
9.7
After two weeks in Sri Lanka, the Galle Face Hotel was a perfect end to the trip. It was our big splurge at the end and it paid off well. The staff were wonderful and always on their toes to help! I really loved their museum room with the profiles on the previous notable guests who had stayed there, very interesting! Would definitely return!
Isabelle S. Couples Belgium, March 24, 2015
1/3 only available for works Agoda didn't mention!

Location Pool view
8.3
We were quite surprised on arrival to discover that only 1/3 of the hotel was available because of works n progress. I understand that the oldest and more classic hotel of Colombo needs a complete make over here and then. But it was not what we paid for. Those informations were in the Gale Face website but not on the Agoda one! Nor did we receive an email to announce it. We felt desapointed and not very happy about our Agoda booking. A bit of a con!! We complained about it at the reception desk and they offered us a room with sea view and not thet noisy one behind the lift shaft that Agoda reserved for us. That to say, the staff, the pool, the buffet breakfast were excellent. We were pleased by the hotel. Not with Agoda. Another little disappointment was that we mention in an email that it was my husband birthday but they didn't made it special...
Sarah D. Couples Australia, March 16, 2015
Terrible, overrated
4.3
Very old rooms, creaky, felt very ripped off paying what we did to stay here.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

AM-AGWEB-4F06