Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Face Hotel

2, Galle road, Colombo Galle face Green, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite with balcony Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - South Wing Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine Cellar Galle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting Area Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Checkerboard Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Lobby Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Spa
Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal Spa Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/Terrace Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Library Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Interior Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting Room Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Room
Area: Colombo Galle face Green Number of Rooms: 81
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

from 1243 reviews

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1243)
Sort by:
Arthur G. Couples United Kingdom, July 9, 2015
Short Stay

The Staff, The Location, The character of the hotel
8.3
We chose this hotel due to its position and long history. We understood that the hotel was being renovated when we booked and we were not seriously inconvenienced by the works. Mr Anthony Paton (GM) was particularly visible around the hotel ensuring that all was running smoothly We would have no hesitation in returning later in the year when the works will have been completed.
Report this review
Fiona H. Couples United Kingdom, July 6, 2015
First class

Comfort of the room, location, great food
9.3
We arrived at 9am and were given a room straight away. We chose this hotel as a little bit of luxury for one night exactly half way through our tour of Sri Lanka and we weren't disappointed. Knew in advance about the building work at the pool area so it didn't spoil our trip in any way. Very very comfortable room with all the facilities you would need. Our room view was poor but that didn't concern us any. Food was excellent although a bit pricey perhaps. Good wine choices. Fabulous staff, pleasant, polite, attentive but discreet. Overall we had a great stay and would love to return some day.
Report this review
Yuncheul K. Solo travelers South Korea, June 30, 2015
good location!

good location. formal and good service. old-fashioned but clean room.
9
Report this review
Rosalind C. Solo travelers United Kingdom, June 14, 2015
A colonial Type

Father stayed here in the 1950's. The old Tradition has gone with the genteel decay. Staff very professional IN the hotel NOT the outside bar. Location has always been superb...on the maiden.
7.3
Why oh why was I not told hotel being renovated so half of it closed. Sho king surprise. Pool in building site. Crows and vermin at outside bar eating off my table. Trust renovation completed in Sinhalese style and not thai.
Report this review
Law C. Couples Hong Kong, June 1, 2015
Historical hotel in nice location.

Staff very nice and attentive
8.7
Very good n hotel value for money.
Report this review
Danielle M. Couples Australia, May 20, 2015
Beautiful hotel but currently being renovated

The location, food and history
7
We had a great stay, the food and service were exceptional. However, the hotel is undergoing some pretty big renovations which means areas like the pool and outdoor bar are a construction zone and not the nicest places to relax.
Report this review
James W. Families with young children United Kingdom, April 16, 2015
Wonderful

staff, ambience, location
9.7
A wonderful change from the usual characterless corporate hotels that dominate these days. I just dont understand the less positive reviews on here about 'creaky floors' and old lifts. This place is like stepping back in time. Service, rooms, location, ambience - all are just perfect. We have also stayed in a very highly rated chain hotel in Colombo, and the Galle Face wins hands down. We will definitely return. It feels like a real luxury to be here, and it is no more expensive that the plastic chain hotels. Highly recommended.
Report this review
Richard C. Couples United States of America, April 13, 2015
One of my favorite hotels. A slice of history.

Ambiance, pool, rooms
9.3
Truely an amazing and regal hotel. Old and colonial but the upkeep is excellent. The Hotel breaths a sence of pride and history. The salt water pool overlooking the Indian oceanbis special. I really love this hotel. The last time I stayed here was 17 years ago. I will always stay there if I come to Sri Lanka.
Report this review
Adam H. Couples United Kingdom, April 13, 2015
Great stay

Beautiful hotel with great views and good staff
10
Couldn't have asked for anything more
Report this review
Julie H. Families with older children United Kingdom, April 12, 2015
A peaceful,characterful hotel in a lovely location

The architecture, Swimming pool, location,
8.7
Lovely relaxing stay. Very nice spa. Biggest pool we've ever had outdoors and deep too. Food a bit limited and expensive. Mostly excellent service just a bit slow around the pool dining area. Wonderful rooms with beautiful colonial style wood and marble but still very comfortable and luxurious.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Face Hotel ColomboGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite with balconyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior Suite Galle Face Hotel Colombo - Junior SuiteGalle Face Hotel Colombo - South Wing LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Wine CellarGalle Face Hotel Colombo - 1864 RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Beach Sitting AreaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGalle Face Hotel Colombo - CheckerboardGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LobbyGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Jal SpaGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Balcony/TerraceGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Superior RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - BeachGalle Face Hotel Colombo - LibraryGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - InteriorGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGalle Face Hotel Colombo - Fitness Room

Customer Reviews - Galle Face Hotel, Colombo

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B01