or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Galle Fort Hotel

28 Church Street, Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Lobby Area Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Exterior View Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Lobby Area Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Chandeliers Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Garden Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Open Restaurant at Night Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Restaurant Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Sunset by the Beach Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Pub/Lounge Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Dining Hall Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Interior Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Living Hall Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Coffee shop Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Restaurant Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Restaurant Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Restaurant
Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Swimming Pool Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Swimming Pool Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Exterior Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Interior Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Lobby Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Surroundings Galle Fort Hotel Galle - View Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Pool Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Guest Room Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Swimming Pool
Area: Galle Fort Number of Rooms: 12

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Superb

9.4

based on
22 reviews

Value for Money
8.7
Location
9.6
Staff Performance
9.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.7
Room Comfort/Standard
9.5
Food/Dining
9.1
All reviews (22)
Sort by:
Philip S. Solo travelers Australia, March 21, 2012
Superb boutique hotel

rooms, food, location
10
Wonderful small hotel. Very efficient, customer systems. Beautiful food
Linda C. Couples Australia, February 21, 2012
Great hotel with only 12 rooms. Staff friendly.

Hotel located within the fort walls so very convenient.
8
We loved the garden room. You could fall out of your bed straight into the pool, which is small but nice. We loved being able to sightsee, shop, etc. all on the doorstep and then to retreat into this oasis of tranquility. Rooms need hooks and proper towel rails for bathrobes and wet towels. The mosquito nets over the 4-poster beds is very cocoon-like & comforting and the pink frangipani petals artistically placed on the white sheets nightly is a nice touch.
Hotel Feature Tip: We loved starting the day with a walk around the Fort walls of Galle, back for a swim and then breakfast. The hotel also has a nice verandah bar. We ate our main meals out as we enjoy different culinary experiences.
Jennifer A. Couples United States of America, February 3, 2012
Lovely hotel within the fort!

Lovely hotel, good restaurant
8
Lovely hotel within the fort. Nicely decorated with a small pool to escape the afternoon heat, and the best food we found in Galle.
Michael M. Couples United Kingdom, November 8, 2011
beautiful heritage hotel with personal service

location; building; small size; delicious food
9.3
we had a wonderful 4-day stay in this boutique hotel. our room on the courtyard with pool was spacious with nice bathroom facilities. flower petals were placed on the sheets in the evening. there was a huge thunderstorm during our stay, but the staff dealt with all the rain in a very professional way. we felt like a family with the other guests in the main sitting area. there is a set menu for dinner but every night we were surprised by the quality of the food and the beautiful presentation. every detail is closely worked out. the staff and management went out of their way to make us feel happy and we hope to come back soon!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Galle Fort is full of history. Restoration is under way. The streets are being paved and there are several interesting museums. Walk around the ramparts!
Yorick I. Couples United Kingdom, October 30, 2011
Great hotel, good service and clean rooms

Cleanliness, varied dinner menu, nice bar
9
great rooms and staff always ready to do what they can to help. there is no gym but i was provided with hand weights for my personal use which showed willingness to help where possible. the whole hotel was impeccably clean and the service great.
Restaurant Tip: Pedlar's Inn around the corner (don't serve alcohol) do great iced coffees and desserts and also nice for lunch and they do not add the 14.25% govt tax on the bills that seems standard elsewhere
Ivy T. Couples Malaysia, October 28, 2011
Wonderful Hotel

Hotel facility and great service
9.7
We spent two nights in Galle Fort Hotel. It's a wonderful hotel with modern amenities incorporated into the Dutch Colonial villa. The hotel staff are very friendly and competent. Oh yes, we had dinner on our first night. The food was excellent! Our room was a bit expensive because we had the suites. However, I think it's worth it. The hotel location is good and you could walk around the town area safely. I will definitely recommend my friends to stay in Galle Fort Hotel. Oh yes, I hope I could come back again.
Mark L. Couples Australia, October 28, 2011
Boutique Hotel with fabulous staff

Large rooms and beatiful surroundings
10
After a gruelling 9 hour drive from the Hill Stations through heavy thundrstorms it was a relief to arrive at the Galle Fort Hotel. Ewan and his staff could not have been more welcoming, immediatley offering a much needed Vodka & Tonic and informing us that they would be happy to upgrade our room to a loft suite as we were staying 3 nights. Enquiring as to whether we were too late too secure a table at the very popular restaurant serving delicious South east Asian cuisine we were informed that a table was always available for in-house guests. The rooms are large and beatifully desigend and furnished and the surrounding comfortable and serene.
Diana F. Couples United Kingdom, September 19, 2011
Great boutique hotel

Relaxing hotel
9.7
i recently visited the hotel as part of my trip to sri lanka an thought that it was a wonderful hotel! staff are fantastic, beautiful surroundings and fantastic staff. would definitely recommend a stay here!
David C. Couples United Kingdom, September 19, 2011
Charming boutique hotel with lots of character

Service, food, location
9.3
We really enjoyed the Galle Fort Hotel because of it's location in Galle - near the Lighthouse and other attractive places to visit. The staff are well trained and the manager Euan was very helpful. The food was surprisingly good and we chose to eat there regularly in favour of other options. The rooms are beautifully appointed and decorated, the atmosphere relaxed and quiet. Strongly recommend.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Nicos Beach Club and Wijaya Beach - 10 min tuktuk ride away.
Sharon P. Couples Australia, July 25, 2011
Charming lovingly restored Dutch buildings

Hospitality
10
this is a really intimately managed small business. owners absolutely hands on with really loyal staff which tells the astute traveller you are in a very special place. we loved every minute of our stay. excellent food, very thoughtful menu, very reasonably priced for the quality. great bar & excellent drinks. brilliant service. beautiful pool. great ambience as other guests were clearly as happy as us.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: the galle fort is right outside your front door & what a gem it is! now a unesco sight so it thankfully will now be properly conserved. all the roads are currently being replaced with pavers which is a vast improvement on the old potholed bitumen, bravo to the dutch government who have funded this ambitious project.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Galle Fort Hotel Galle - Surroundings - Galle FortGalle Fort Hotel Galle - Lobby AreaGalle Fort Hotel Galle - Exterior ViewGalle Fort Hotel Galle - Lobby AreaGalle Fort Hotel Galle - ChandeliersGalle Fort Hotel Galle - GardenGalle Fort Hotel Galle - Open Restaurant at NightGalle Fort Hotel Galle - RestaurantGalle Fort Hotel Galle - Sunset by the BeachGalle Fort Hotel Galle - Pub/LoungeGalle Fort Hotel Galle - Dining HallGalle Fort Hotel Galle - InteriorGalle Fort Hotel Galle - Living HallGalle Fort Hotel Galle - Coffee shopGalle Fort Hotel Galle - RestaurantGalle Fort Hotel Galle - RestaurantGalle Fort Hotel Galle - RestaurantGalle Fort Hotel Galle - Swimming PoolGalle Fort Hotel Galle - Swimming PoolGalle Fort Hotel Galle - ExteriorGalle Fort Hotel Galle - InteriorGalle Fort Hotel Galle - LobbyGalle Fort Hotel Galle - SurroundingsGalle Fort Hotel Galle - ViewGalle Fort Hotel Galle - PoolGalle Fort Hotel Galle - Guest RoomGalle Fort Hotel Galle - Swimming Pool


AS-AGWEB-3A06