Back to hotel info

Very good 8.0
Based on 53 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 53 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 7.4

Ya G. from China
Couples
Stayed one night in June 2014
Friendly staff and great surroundings!
attentive staff, great view, great breakfast,
the hotel is located up in the hill. we arrived at night and the hotel stadd upgraded our room and provided us with a heater coz Eliya is very cold at night. the staff are very nice and attentive. they also provide with great breakfast and you can see the lake through the very big window at the hotel.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Chun T. from Hong Kong
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in May 2014
Comfortable room, great breakfast.
Centrally located, friendly staff, great food
The hotel did not provide swimming pool as it says, but offer a place for swimming pool and stuff but had to transit to somewhere 3km from the hotel. The staff was attentive and friendly. In-room dining was served quickly after the order and the breakfast was great.
Reviewed June 02, 2014

Kate J. from United Kingdom
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Let down by the staff and clenliness
Location, character, potential
A potentially wonderful hotel was let down by poor customer service and grotty standards of clenliness. Mosquitoes.
Reviewed December 02, 2013

Giles B. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in September 2013
Excellent all round, great value for money, good f
Atmosphere, value and service
Perfect for my needs, comfortable and all I could have wanted. Friendly and efficient, centrally located.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Laven R. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2013
a very good place to stay
nice layout, close to restaurants and within galle fort which has alot of history and character.
we had a great time, perfect place to head out from and explore the exciting galle fort area.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

JOHN R. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2012
DISAPPOINTING
Fabulous old style building with lovely ambience
Total lack of service. no management supervision. finally requested refund
Reviewed April 07, 2013

Daniel O. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in March 2013
Friendly staff in great location
Great staff, second hotel access, great location in the fort
I had a really great stay. The staff were very nice and very accomodating (i lost my thongs a day earlier and they gave me a pair that fitted from the room to keep). In the fort it is very hot during the peak hours of the day, so you need a place that has either air con or a pool, and this place has great air con with comfy bed for a day nap, but also, only a quick tuk tuk ride and you can use the lighthouse hotel facilities including private beach, pools and a good gym. You wont find anything like that inside the fort.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Liew C. from Singapore
Groups
Stayed one night in February 2013
Quaint old place but we were RAVAGED by mosquitoes
Charming colonial style
The rooms are pricey considering our room had no window and a bathroom with very basic amenities. Mosquitoes galore despite the manager assuring me they ha had the room treated before our arrival. It's also not well maintained- towel hook in bathroom falling off and door catches and bolts not aligned. However the staff were warm helpful and just friendly enough. We were invited I have breakfast at the sister hotel jetwing lighthouse which had a fab seaview and a marvelous spread.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Martin P. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2013
One of the Great Locations in Sri Lanka
Location, Service and a wonderful room
We had a great time here. The location of this hotel puts the traveller right in the middle of one of the great living historical sites.
Reviewed February 07, 2013

Cindy C. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in November 2012
Not really a hotel, but a villa with room rental
Location
location was great in the Galle Fort. The hotel did not provide for a late check in, and my room was taken by other customers when I arrived at 5am in the morning, and there was no one by the security to attend to us. Luckily, after 15mins of waiting, the housekeeper came along and changed the rooms around and cleaned up the room for us. not much amenities though, and the breakfast provided was very basic.
Reviewed November 18, 2012